×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Duchess
  • Alternative view 1 of The Duchess
  • Alternative view 2 of The Duchess
  • Alternative view 3 of The Duchess
  • Alternative view 4 of The Duchess
  • Alternative view 5 of The Duchess
<Previous >Next
     

The Duchess

3.9 59
by Amanda Foreman
 

See All Formats & Editions

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK

Now a major motion picture starring Keira Knightley and Ralph Fiennes

Lady Georgiana Spencer was the great-great-great-great-aunt of Diana, Princess of Wales, and was nearly as famous in her day. In 1774 Georgiana achieved immediate celebrity by marrying William Cavendish, fifth duke of Devonshire, one of England

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Duchess 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
Pat_Friedlander More than 1 year ago
I went to see the movie, the Duchess, in NYC. After the movie, I was in the ladies in line and one woman said, The movie was nothing. You should read the book. WOW! the book rocked. Terrific research and description of a woman and life style that is almost beyond comprehension in our buttoned down age. I couldn't put it down. Gave it to a friend and to my daughter-in-law.
Vovo More than 1 year ago
I must applaud Ms. Foreman for so elegantly writing a well-researched book in a way so pleasing as to enchant a reader with its smooth style. It was like moist icing being massaged against a cake, the icing being the words and the cake being the history, both combined together nicely to be savored and appreciated. Georgiana Cavendish was a fascinating woman-a gambler, a drug-addict, a lover, a musician, a writer, a politician, and a mother. Yet her humble beauty, her extravaggant passion, and her honorable desires make her the epitome of what women through the ages have desired to become. An epic story, it reads like a novel, it tells like a story coming from an aged grandmother's lips, and it feels like an old, comfortable friend. I will definitely be reading this again.
History-sponge More than 1 year ago
This book is an easy read and fascinating insight into the lives of the English aristocracy of the late eighteenth century, especially those of the women. At the same time it provides an excellent picture of the political situation at the time of George III. Great book for readers who are interested in history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree with another reviewer who said the movie was nothing, read the book. I read the book after seeing the movie and was very disappointed to find the movie changed, or created, many things in order to make Georgiana's life more like Diana's, older husband, downplaying Bess's role in Georgiana's life, a lack of Georgiana's travels to the rest of Europe, Bess's support of Georgiana during her exile for her gambling debts, Georgiana's support of Bess when Bess was having the Duke's children, Georgiana's sister, the mother of Lady Caroline Lamb, etc. Georgiana's life was actually more interesting, what she was able to accomplish, the constraints she had to deal with, her friendships with men and women, including Marie Antoinette, her involvement/interest in the French Revolution. And her failures or weaknesses, the gambling & trying to hide it, the drug addiction, the marital infidelities, proven and speculated, make her more human, more of a real three dimensional person.
Rhiannon Smith More than 1 year ago
Ten times better than the movie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After seeing the movie, I was very curious to learn more about the Duchess. Unfortunately, I couldn't find the book in hardback, which I prefer, but purchased it anyway. I'm so glad I did. It is, naturally, much more in-depth than the movie. Georgiana was an amazing woman. She was a woman of today in the 17th century.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I made it to about page 300 and never picked it back up. Fascinating story, compelling, but the writing was rather lifeless, which in the end, was the reason that I simply did not care to finish the book.
meanas More than 1 year ago
I really, really enjoyed this book. It was so interesting to read about a real life Duchess and she was a great lady and did many things that changed the political world back then. I did shed a tear when she died. She had her demons and paid dearly for them. I would encourage people to read. Very interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago