×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Duchess of Sin
     

Duchess of Sin

4.3 31
by Laurel McKee
 

See All Formats & Editions

Blonde and beautiful Lady Anna Blacknall is in the mood for mischief. Entering Dublin's most notorious den of vice, she finds herself in the arms of a mysterious, emerald-eyed Irishman. And although he is masked, his tender kiss is hauntingly familiar.

Conlan McTeer, Duke of Adair, has come to Dublin to fight for a free Ireland. But he's suddenly reunited with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Duchess of Sin 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
The_Reading_Reviewer More than 1 year ago
Lady Anna Blacknall was the toast of the ton and pursued by every unmarried man. She thought of herself as attractive but not stunning and wondered what kind of match was out there for her. Anna was also the master of pretense and knew how to act properly and ensure that everyone knew how happy and content she was even though it was all a rouse. Anna sought a love match but knows that does not always produce the result you want when it is expected of you to find a titled gentleman to provide for you and your family. Anna had been pursued by Grant Dunmore who was attractive and indeed titled but it turned out his cousin and mortal enemy, Conlan McTeer, the Duke of Adair was the titled, handsome and absolutely intoxicating man for Anna. He was danger and seduction in one package that kept her up at night dreaming of his touch and longing for his kiss. Conlan and Anna had both survived the Uprising that had caused so much division between Ireland and England and knew the fear of attack or death that could come at any moment. The trouble still brewed under the guise of polite society and while Conlan tried to keep Anna from it she was turning out to be the master of deception and a champion for her hero, Conlan. On more than one occasion she stands up and fights off the enemy he is trying to protect her from. They had both seen death and been forced to cause some to die but both knew regardless of their religious differences that the power drawing them to each other. Anna's sister is determined to keep her safe as well while her mother is distracted with her own gentleman caller. Anna is a survivor and fighter and will let nothing stop her from being the one woman Conlan cannot get over and ensuring that he knows they are a love match and he is truly worthy of his name. Plus what is Katherine, their mother up to with the art instructor? It would be easy to say this book is sweet and tender which it is but you have to go further and say it is determined as well as enlightening. You have a wonderful relationship against the backdrop of very tumultuous times where it is difficult to trust anyone especially someone with your heart. But Laurel McKee has written such a book that draws you in with romance, educates with some history and melts your heart with their story.
AAR More than 1 year ago
DUCHESS OF SIN by Laurel McKee is a wonderful,delightful historical romance set in 1799 Dublin, Ireland. It is well written with depth,details, twists and turns. It is the second in The Daughters of Erin Trilogy but can be read as a stand alone. The first in this series was Countress of Scandal It has romance, passion, betrayal, loyalties, secrets,trust, distrust, the fight for free Ireland, politics and sweet sensuality.The characters are enduring, enchanting, will grip your heart and are very entertaining.The hero, Conlan, is Irish, handsome, dangerous, determined, has dark secrets,attempting to keep his ancestorical home and in love with the beautiful Lady Anna. The heroine, Anna, is beautiful, notorious, full of mischief, has dark secrets from her past, and is falling in love with the dark mysterious Conlan. This is a very intriguing and entertaining story of love, sacrifice and what some of the Irish people had to do to keep their lands. I would highly recommend this book especially if you enjoy history, passion, love of country and countrymen. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Forever, an imprint of Grand Central Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the story line befween these two characters. All three books in the series are fantastic, but I really enjoyed this story the best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, I liked the character with her impulsive nature. It was not trivial or overdone. But this author could do so much better. First the characters' relationships could be better developed. Second, get a good editor. Even a copy editor woyld help. There are constant "mistaken words" such as proscribed when prescribed is meant. Poor Mr. Curtois' eyes keep changing from brown to blue snd then back again. Still an enjoyable historicsl...but coyldbe so much better. More fun if you read up on your Irish history first. Wish there was an Irish language glossary in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bethie2 More than 1 year ago
Dutchess of Sin is the second book in the Daughters of Erin series. I truly enjoyed this book. I think I liked this one better the the first one. I felt like I was familiar characters and enjoyed watching them develope. Although this book can be read as a stand alone. Lady Anna Blacknall must choose between the man she should be with and the man she wants to be with. I can't wait to read the third in the trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I red both books of the series and both are good, but the end of this book is far better than the first one, just the mother´s plot,I didn´t like very much, but still, I really recomend both books and can´t wait for the last one.
LASR_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Lady Anna Blacknall, a member of the Protestant Ascendancy, is bored with the endless ball and dinner invitations and her widowed mother's attempts to marry her off to a wealthy man...any wealthy man. Anna, however, is in the mood for mischief and visits a notorious den of vice in Dublin where she finds herself in the arms of a dark-haired Irishman with green eyes. A man she has tried in vain to forget, along with a night of terror. Conlan McTeer, Duke of Adair, fights for a free Ireland and his encounter with the blond young woman who claimed his heart two years earlier creates confusion for him and danger for her. It is December 1799, two years after the ill-fated Rising and the fight is on between Union and anti-Union forces. Conlan owns the Olympian, a gaming establishment where he watches and tries to influence pro-Unionists to aid in his fight to reject unification. Conlan,a wealthy Catholic landowner, treats his people with respect. However, he has acquired a number of enemies, including his cousin Sir Grant Dunmore, who tried to gain ownership of the estate under the Penal Laws (which forbade a Catholic to own land). The politics of the time are present throughout the book, and as danger mounts, Conlan tries to shield Anna, who seems oblivious to the danger or the reasons behind it. But finally, she decides to take the risk with the dark, intense man who has captured her heart. At first, Anna seems unrealistic, even difficult to like, however, she reaches an epiphany where her character changes. As her past experiences are woven in a little at a time, the reader has more sympathy for her. A secondary love story is added as Katherine, Anna's still beautiful mother is courted by Nicolas, younger sister Caroline's art teacher, a man who is not entirely what he seems. I felt the story was well written, and I enjoyed the Dublin setting, refreshing for a Regency period book and as a student of Irish history, especially interesting to me. As mentioned previously, Anna's character came across at first as that of a spoiled society girl, but as she spent time with Conlan, her character became more interesting, and one could see that, having a carefree nature, she struggled within the confines of the period. Ms. McKee has done a thorough job in her research of the period, and she weaves in just enough history to make the plot interesting and realistic without overwhelming the love story. This is the second in her Daughters of Erin trilogy. I look forward to Caroline's story next. Originally posted at THe Long and Short of It Romance Reviews
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BigIrvsMrs More than 1 year ago
I liked this book very much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago