×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dune Messiah
     

Dune Messiah

4.2 163
by Frank Herbert
 

See All Formats & Editions

Dune Messiah continues the story of the man Muad'dib, heir to a power unimaginable, bringing to completion the centuries-old scheme to create a super-being.

"Brilliant...It is all that Dune was, and maybe a little bit more."--Galaxy Magazine

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dune Messiah 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 163 reviews.
MSGalligan More than 1 year ago
As a relative newcomer to the Dune collection, I started reading the books in a supposed "chronological" order that includes the Brian Herbert/Kevin Anderson books interspersed w/ the Frank Herbert originals. Dune Messiah, while short, was excellent - even moreso when read immediately following the Paul of Dune installment. Best part was the return of Duncan Idaho, in any form. Interesting to see the Guild's involvement in the conspiracy when you consider how Norma Cenva might have viewed the collusion. Recommended read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All of you people out there writing reviews are comparing this book to DUNE and this book will never be DUNE. I loved DUNE personally, but DUNE was something that in my opinion happens once in a lifetime. It was such a mastery of all the topics touched upon in the novel and it brought together many concepts that should be lived through everyday life. Dune Messiah on the other hand is still an amzing novel. It however is made to show the imperfect sides of our beloved Paul so we constantly push it to the side. It truly leads up to the events of the next book and is needed to bridge the gap. stop hating.
bookwormTE More than 1 year ago
Even though this may be the shortest book in the series. i think it is underrated sequel. some people think it is too short and boring. I liked it. I thought it was a good sequel to dune. it seemed to touch on more profound ideas to me. It was fun returning to Maud dib. the ending is a surprise. also, this book pretty much sets up the third book,Children Of Dune.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dune Messiah contains all of the power and captivation of Dune, yet has exceeded the original in intelectual stimulation and sheer excitement. While Dune focused more upon the ascention of Maud'dib, Dune Messiah concentrates upon the beginning of the fulfillment of his destiny as the Kwiswatz Haderach and his fateful yet necesssary demise. I hate to say it, but this one's better than the classic if anything, it'll make you think, and perhaps, rethink, most of what you know about Paul Atreides and the enigmatic land Arrakis, known as Dune.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dune Messiah: known to people as 'a real stinker', or 'a wonderful novel'. Why do those who say it is horrible think this way? It is because this small novel holds BIG messages. Those who think this novel sucks are blind to what this book really holds. It is very complex in writing, and ignorant beings just can't read it. You truly cannot read the Dune series and skip this book, it isn't possible. Frank Herbert is a true genious, and this book IS as much of the series as DUNE is. I do not recommend it, I tell you to read it. If you don't read this book, then you are not a true Dune fan, that is the truth of it. This relatively small novel is too important to skip for all you REAL fans. Get ready for a philosophical roller-coaster...
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing. It takes a little while to get going but it pays off. If you plan on reading the other dune books, then this contains to much information to skip.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm a big fan of sci-fi sagas and fantasies and must say when I read the first thirty pages of this book I couldn't put it down.However somewhere along the way the intensity simmers down and you get this subplot of Paul's wife intriguing against him.Towards the end it draws to quite a bit of an anti-climax.It's a worthy read if you're a follower of the series.As a first for me it didn't really give me the urge to follow up on the preceding and succeeding titles.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A nice book for Dune fans
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
its not DUNE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fan of Frank Herbert, and will always be. Great Science Fiction for the archival collections.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book in the Dune series. Good science fiction read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although the book starts out a little slow the original genius of frank herbert comes to life in this second installment. I forgive him for creating the slow beginning because it was nessecary to create the character development. Overall this was a fabulous book with hidden plots and an intriguing sequel to dune.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago