×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Duty and Desire: Military Erotic Romance
     

Duty and Desire: Military Erotic Romance

4.1 12
by Kristina Wright
 

See All Formats & Editions

The only thing stronger than the call of duty is the call of desire! This anthology of military erotic romance serves up a team of hot-blooded men (and women) from every branch of the military who serve their country and follow their hearts wherever they might be stationed. When the mission is done, the unit is recalled or the ship pulls into port, they set their

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Duty and Desire: Military Erotic Romance 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'll be honest--I felt a slight twinge of apprehension about this book. I personally feel deeply disturbed by war and by what seems to be humanity's collective propensity to see it as inevitable. I felt a small degree of concern that I might see the final version of this anthology as filled with "us vs. them" bravado, anti-"enemy" sentiment, and/or lacking the considerable reverence I feel even a peripheral association with the topic of war calls for. In reading this collection, I discovered my concerns to be unfounded. Never in these stories did I feel that a reverence for this theme wavered in a way I found discomfiting. This I found not only a relief but also something that noticeably impressed me, and I appreciate the sensitivity with which I feel the editor compiled this anthology, as well as the depth and sincerity the authors brought to each of the contributions within it. I found this book beautiful, and I feel the authors in it outdid themselves, offering stories of a world with which some of us are wholly unfamiliar and possibly can hardly imagine and illuminating what is both unique to that and what is universal. The expression of this universality--namely, that of erotic and personal connection, and its capacity to arise under virtually any circumstances--is something I see as a hallmark of successful erotica writing. This volume, as I experienced it, is full of that, and I recommend _Duty and Desire_ without any of the reservations I thought I might have.
crayolakym More than 1 year ago
Being a military wife, I was absolutely giddy to review this book. What woman doesn't love a man in uniform, and this anthology of short stories was just what I needed to warm me inside while currently apart from my husband.  "...she knew he understood because his arms held her even tighter, and he buried his face in her hair." Each story tells a unique story easily allowing the reader to slip into this fantasy world engulfing ones senses with pure euphoric pleasure. Each of the writers add their own unique spin on erotica ranging from light and sensitive to bondage providing eighteen short stories to suit any readers personal preference. Wright has a close relationship with the military being the wife of a Naval Officer and understands the needs and desires of a person when their loved ones are absent. Erotica provides an outlet to allow your imagination to run wild without the guilt. She does a superb job at editing these stories as not to offend or label military personnel and holds the utmost respect for her profession. This book is not for the modest or faint of heart, but it definitely is a mild read for beginners to erotica and each story will pull you deeper into wanting more. I highly suggest adding this title to your nightstand reading. *This book was acquired via City Book Review  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did not enjoy as much as I thought I would
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Lori Book provided by the publisher for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book This was an anthology of short stories all revolving the military with contributions from a plethora of authors. I understand that I put Kristina’s name down as the author, but she edited the book and there were so many authors to list, so I felt it was easier to put her name down. I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about reading an anthology to be honest. I like one author, one story, one plot line. Simple, basic, that’s me. Well, was I put in my place when I read this book. Each story is on average around five to seven pages. The stories are quick, but as a reader I felt satisfied with how the author left the ending. There were no ambiguous endings in these stories, which I liked because I want to know how each story ends and I like knowing where the characters are going in their lives. I know this is fiction and it’s not real, but in my head I’m emotionally invested in these people and I like to know what’s going on. There are eighteen short stories in this book and each story is unique, which cuts down on boredom. I would like to review the short stories that really stuck out for me the most and because this review would be a short story itself if I reviewed each one. I’m not going to go to deep into each story because I don’t want to give each plot line away. I would like the reader to be just as surprised as I was with each story, so I’ll apologize in advance for my ambiguity but it’s extremely imperative. The Long Ride Home by Delilah Devlin. This story got to me because of the raw passion each character brought to the pages. It was hot, steamy, and plenty of emotional intensity to make me happy. Shattered by Shanna Germain. I really liked this one because it deals with loss and redemption and I loved the final outcome, and I loved the intensity. Fighting for Fresno by Ericka Hiatt. This one was good because it was so sweet. Two people meet and fall in love and I got to see what happens to them. It was so exciting to read. I loved it. Homecoming by Kelly Maher. This was another tear jerker and I almost got mad and threw the book away until I got to the end and then all was forgiven. The Thunder of War by Anya Richards. This was so good as well because of a man’s intense love for his wife and his will and desire to be with her and demonstrate his desire for her. Each author dealt with sensitive topics that are associated with being in the military such as PTSD, death, breaking up with a boyfriend/girlfriend/spouse with tact, sensitivity, and humor to make each of these stories entertaining and believable. Being in the military is not easy whether as the military person or the spouse and it takes a special person to be able to deal with the challenges associated with military life. As an aside, the guy on the front cover….is so hot……whew! I have to fan myself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These stories, edited by Kristina Wright, are erotic to say the least. The language flows well, and the desire and subsequent pleasure are demonstrated in the characters' dialogue and thoughts. What really personalizes this anthology is Wright's introduction with her anecdote about saying goodbye to her husband before his 6-month deployment at sea. Knowing she is invested in this genre makes the stories that much more accurate and poignant.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sexy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great selection of well-written stories that are as real and relatable as they are sexy. Paints a great picture of a solider's life and emotions with that added erotic edge. Would recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wright has done it again! What an anthology. A well put together collection with the perfect balance.  Passion is perfectly blended with connections. I highly recommend this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A well-written erotic read that calls the old cliché “all’s fair in love and war” to mind, yet the stories in this collection are far from old and tired. The subjects of the stories in uniform are rightfully and expectedly physically strong, sexy and ready for war—and love, it turns out, too. These stories nicely flesh out (heh) the characters so you feel a real response when their attractions come to paramountcy. I would recommend this book especially for those who are in or have loved ones in the military, but it’s a great, satisfying read for those who also have their daydreams.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great, and the authors write each story really well. If you want to read romance that is not only hot but well written, you should definitely pick up this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was expecting a Cat Johnsin book not just a forward written by her. The short stories were ok but they had no real story just sex. I would not buy this if ihada do over.
QuixoticOrchid More than 1 year ago
Cops, firemen, of all the alpha male superheros starring in every woman's fantasies, members of the military rank highest on my favorites list. Right away, the cover made me have to wipe the first signs of sweat off my brow. I was instantly drawn in ... but could the pages keep up with the first impression? Yes. I knew this book would be just the kind of emotional fix I needed when I read the introduction by Kristina Wright (her story of watching her husband deploy and being able to identify him amongst many in the exact same uniform). The stories were great at catching the on the edge of everything involved with being and loving a solider. Everything is more intense - duty, need, love. The longing and darkness, a darkness that much darker before the light that's that much brighter. This book is a beyond fulfilling read.