×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

2012
  • Alternative view 1 of 2012
  • Alternative view 2 of 2012
     

2012

3.5 32
Director: Roland Emmerich

Cast: John Cusack, Amanda Peet, Chiwetel Ejiofor

 

See All Formats & Editions

Disaster movie maven Roland Emmerich (Independence Day, The Day After Tomorrow) crafts this apocalyptic sci-fi thriller following the prophecy stated by the ancient Mayan calendar, which says that the world will come to an end on December 21, 2012.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

2012 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
SeeX More than 1 year ago
What would you do if one day the world starts to fall apart? When your friends and family starts to get separated because they are running for their lives, these are the questions that will haunt you in the movie 2012 by Harald Kloser when you lay in bed, and think, would it ever really happen. In the sci-fi, drama, thriller movie “2012” by Harald Kloser, Jacksons Curtis played by John Cusack attempts to bring his children (Noah and Lily), his ex-wife Kate and her boyfriend Gordon to refuge. They are trying to escape the rapidly changing landscape. As millions of people die as a result of earthquakes families like the Curtis’ are trying to escape into an underground submarine for safety. Overall this film has a lot of Drama and so on. Parents and guardians maybe want to watch the preview before letting young kids to watch it, because of the sounds and parts of the graphic pictures. The music has a strong beat to go with it and it is in English. It’s an excellent well-done film by Harald Kloser.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sewing_Mom More than 1 year ago
This is a terrible mix of "Dante's Peak" mixed with "Day After Tomorrow". The wanton distruction is too predictable. Story line is weak. Quite a waste of an evening.
Anatole_France More than 1 year ago
Dichotomous reviews such as these say as much about the reviewers as they do about the movie. In this case, whether or not the viewer was blown away or turned off probably depends on whether he can successfully suspend his disbelief. As a geology afficionado, I was willing to believe for a couple of hours that an unprecedented solar flare could bombard us with a neutron storm so intense that it would heat the earth's core and destabilize the crust. From there, all that follows makes perfect sense. The Yellowstone Caldera is ready to blow (it breathes even now) and the consequences will be as catastrophic as those portrayed in the movie. The plot is flimsy and predictable but who cares? Stunning special effects ... one after another in rapid succession kept me on the edge of my recliner. Inexperienced pilot flies small plane up out of a gantlet of collapsing buildings. Boy gets girl back and wins the respect of his son. White guys are jerks and black guys are heroes. Humanity is saved while the evil politicians and ultra-rich get their comeuppance. What's not to love? The tidal waves in 2012 make the pathetic tsunami in The Day After Tomorrow look like a ripple in a kiddie pool. The escape vessels rival the ships in Star Wars (although John Williams might have provided a few more memorable musical moments). If ever there were a 3D version, only healthy adults should be allowed to see it, and then only with written permission from a doctor. 2012 may be cheesy but it's not limburger; it's the world's best, the Brie de Meaux of its genre. It may not be today's great cinema, but I predict 2012 will be tomorrow's cult classic. Suspend your disbelief, sit back in your recliner, turn up the woofer and go for a roller coaster ride!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This movie starts off with the coming of the end of the world as we know it. The start being a little on the slow side but once things start picking up with the cracks of earth's crust it is non-stop until the end. The visuals are great, the performances were great, the story is the best end of the world movie I have seen yet. I had imagined its pretty much like all the others, they all die in the end. Instead this movie leads you to wanting a better future and making you think there may be hope for the human race after all. The graphics of the earth's crust breaking, the magma, the water, all of it was great. I would recommend this movie to any that have not seen it yet.
aaw More than 1 year ago
I liked it but it was too predictable. The disaster movies seem like it the same thing over and over again.
NanaNan More than 1 year ago
I was surprised at the ending and enjoyed getting there. Cusack was believable and characters were realistic.
bronzedust More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the movie. It was what I had expected because I had previously viewed the film before puchasing it. The overall quality of the disc and packaging was good to excellent. I bought the movie because I liked it after watching the movie after it had been released initially.
NAMMYDAY More than 1 year ago
The special effects in this movie are what will keep you watching....The plot, boring.....Acting was ok, a little corny at times, but given what the actors had to work with for a script they did the best they could. If you like "Disaster, End OF The World type movies this fits the bill.
bookaholicsf More than 1 year ago
Not a bad movie, just a bit of fluff fantasy. Visuals were good of the Arks, but plane visuals and Yellowstone destruction was weak.
BarnesNobleFan More than 1 year ago
How can this be one of your picks of the week? This "adventure" is overly long--one big crash-fest. A weak story line supports this monotonous string of fires/explosions, earthquakes, tidal waves, (yawn), etc. Characters are not much more than stereotypes, some acted very cheesily. Depressing plot overall. What is the redeeming factor of this movie?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We just watched 2012 last night and really enjoyed it! I have to admit I enjoy most movies that John Cusak is in. His sarcastic tone gave a nice edge to the film. The visual effects were incredible and nicely done. We enjoyed the long list of actors in the film too...pretty impressive. The film certainly spurred discussion with the kids about history and the likelyhood of this particular outcome for Earth. (In other words the under ten crowd at our house did not sleep well and maybe the movie content was a little too much for that age) I would watch this film again and do highly recommend it. As far as an "end of the world" movie - it ranks right up there with one of our other favorites, "The Day After Tomorrow" with Dennis Quaid.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This film presents and extends the speculation of early civilizations' predictions of global catastrophe in December of 2012. Can anyone predict the future? Many predictions have been made in the past without their being fulfilled. This movie is an interesting devastation fantasy and is entertaining as such. Prediction? Can you predict tomorrow? If you can, this is potential history, if not, enjoy the drama.
Sherlock_Holmes More than 1 year ago
Rating: 9% Loaded with stupidity and absolute mediocrity, 2012 has nothing to offer except for a few exciting visuals.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do not buy this movie unless you like something that insults your intelligence and you actually believe the prophecies of a people who actually performed human sacrifices.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would truly recomend this to anyone. Also the film had an impact on your thoughts as to the future of your life when the movie ended. This was due to the deep rooted subject matter the movie conveyed to its audience. If you believe in Chirst or not, the film has you thinking about the end of your own life time. Henry J Barbados
Carltoon More than 1 year ago
As with many movies around the "End of the World," I thought this one was pretty well done. I really enjoyed the science behind how they described the end would come - the solar flares from the sun cooking the earth from the inside out, making the tectonic plates shift uncontrollably. From a geological standpoint, it was very interesting. At times it seeming like they had to force the suspenseful parts onto you to get you to the edge of your seat, which at times were lame. However, this was a really good movie that I would recommend because of the visuals and the discussion it can lead to following the flick!
Lynnie_Jo More than 1 year ago
2012 is a fun and exhilarating carnival ride of a movie! The ups & downs & razor-thin narrow escapes keep your adreneline pumping as Jackson Curtis & his family race to survive Doomsday, which is literally at their heels. With so many "end of the Earth" "science" programs clogging our TV's these days, it is refreshing to just give it a go & watch California break off the continent and slide into the Pacific Ocean. When the story pauses for scenes of the world's greatest cities coming to an end, your eye can barely form one tear before the story careens away with another twist. It's a big imaginative movie, and it's sure not rocket science, folks. Grab the popcorn, pop in the Blue Ray, tighten your lap belt and enjoy the ride. Just remember to keep your arms inside the vehicle until the ride comes to a complete stop.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago