×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

3:10 to Yuma
     

3:10 to Yuma

4.3 30
Director: James Mangold

Cast: Russell Crowe, Christian Bale, Peter Fonda

 

See All Formats & Editions

Russell Crowe plays a desperado whose accomplices stage an ambush after he is taken into custody by a determined local sheriff in this remake of the 1957 film starring Glenn Ford and Van Heflin. James Mangold directs a script based on the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

3:10 to Yuma 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was astoundingly good. It is a western, and while I don't usually gravitate towards westerns, this one was excellent. The setting and art direction made the film feel real. The real reason I love this movie, though, is the story. As another reviewer mentioned, it's really a relatively simple story. However, the timeless themes of respect and fatherhood were what really made this movie shine for me. This is definitely a movie that will resonate with fathers. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Alas the westerns come few and far between now compared to the 1940's through the early 60's when they ruled the screens both big and small. This update far surpasses the original and gets a big help from two stellar performances: Crowe and Bale. Both are exceptional and look right at home in the saddle. If you liked Open Range this was even better. Highly recommended. I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could because 5 stars is reserved for perfection such as The Searchers, Tombstone and Lonesome Dove.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Russell Crow did a good job protraying a Western Character that was typical of that era of history of the old west.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I watched this movie and was not expecting much, but this movie was an excellend view on gangs and the law in these times. You will be on your seat until the shocking ending!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i've heard about the original but never seen it and this remake wasn't half bad. basically the same but just played by different people where you have an outlaw a rancher and others who have to get the outlaw to a train where his gang are on his tail to get him back. as always love bale and russel crowe was alright too and ben foster was something.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great remake and more westerns should be made in Hollywood. The intensity between good and evil mounts up, and the era of 'Clint Eastwood' drama makes a comeback. I never saw the original movie but I have no desire to. Russell Crowe is great and Christian Bale counters him well, although I thought Crowe was at his peak in 'A Beautiful Mind.' It may be getting harder to make a good western nowadays without spending alot on the set and cotton candy. Old-style trains are hard to come by for such movies but with digital effects maybe it's cheaper and easier than frogs. Tell Hollywood to make more westerns by buying this - I may do so on my next paycheck. I saw this in a theater made of hats.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ok, first off, I don't like violent movies, I actually hate them, they are a waste of time and money but every once in a while there comes a movie that is worth viewing and for me, this particular one did it. Of course the cast is one that made me interested in watching it because I must say Christian Bale is always nice to look at, and Russell Crowe, well...he's a great actor(I am referring to 'A Beautiful Mind') anyways, those two are supported by an amazing ensemble cast that are PERFECT for their roles. I was blown away by the performance of Ben Foster as Russell's main henchman. He played outlaw Charlie Prince like he was destined to be Charlie Prince: totally ruthless, souless, deranged, inhuman and absolute Bad-Ass. To me, he was the reason why I loved the movie so much...Not that I like the bad guy in every movie I watch but because of the true to life performance he gave in this movie...There is a part in the movie when you get a good shot at his face and at his eyes and he looks so confidant and cool and collected even though he just shot a couple people...I don't want to give away what scene or anything like that but pay attention to Ben Foster in this movie.It's worth your time just because of the way he portrays his character.Another character I was pleasantly surprised with was portrayed by Alan Tudyk. He plays Doc Potter and he gave his character quite an endearing personnality, quite the opposite of Ben Foster's character...And last but not least, young teenage actor Logan Lerman as Christian Bale's son. His character is that of angst, frustration at his own father and admiration filled with hate for Russell Crowe's character...quite a complex character but beautifully played by such a young one...I loved this movie. It was beautifully shot , the costumes were really amazing, the characters were rolling in dust and dirt and a good western is that: people dealing with each other in the bad elements of the land. I'd recommend this movie to people that are going to appreciate the subtle performances of the side characters...Not that Russell and Christian were bad...Not at all but the other members of the cast were absolutely fantastic...That's only in my humble opinion though...
Lilo02 More than 1 year ago
I'm a HUGE western fan. W/ this movie in particular I don't have any setbacks about it, I made a great judgement and I love the entire movie just as it is. Lots of shoot out action which really brings out how the West really was won. Russell Crowe and Christian Bale are just OUTSTANDING in this action-packed adventure.
harmony6 More than 1 year ago
Can Russell Crowe and Christian Bale do no wrong? Personal lives aside, particularly Bale of late, these actors always deliver spot on performances. They are both playing flawed characters with back stories we are allowed to glimpse as the plot develops. The action and suspense draw you in, but it is the relationship between the two main characters that make this film unforgettable. If westerns are a genre you love, then this film is for you, but it is also for those who want to see gifted actors doing what gifted actors do. Rarely do I find myself rooting for the supposed bad guy. Crowe, however, is so charismatic and personable that I wanted him to prevail just as much as Bale's good guy. There is plenty of action and suspense right up until the end and the film is visually stunning and worth the blu-ray price. I know other actors could have made this a good film, but this outstanding cast made it an excellent one. I do not have a huge film collection. I am also a female who usually loves at least a little romance. No romance here, no sweeping epic, just a great western and superb characterization that make this movie worth adding to your collection.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Awesome!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If there is a truly unique American contribution to film making then that contribution has to be the Western. Though not as popular a theme these days as it was in past decades, it only takes a powerhouse film such as 3:10 TO YUMA to remind us just how pungent storytelling of this type can be. Yes, the story itself (based on a short story by Elmore Leonard) is rather simple: desperate farmer needs money to save his failing farm and family and signs on to escort a powerful outlaw to the train that will take him to prison. But in this screen adaptation by Halsted Welles, Michael Brandt, and Derek Haas the story is fleshed out by sharing with the audience the essence of the pioneer spirit and the sequelae of the Civil War on the minds of the dispossessed who turned to crime against the ruling order - the railroads and the banks represented the conquering North - and the film becomes one of profound understanding about man's plight in the pioneer West. The landscape and atmosphere of Arizona is captured with dusty accuracy by cinematographer Phedon Papamichael and sets the stage for director James Mangold ('Girl, Interrupted', 'Walk the Line', 'Identity', 'Kate and Leopold', 'Cop Land') to work with his talented cast to give a realistic view of life in the hard times of the old West. Russell Crowe is the notorious outlaw Ben Wade whose gang includes such actors as Ben Foster and Rio Alexander and once he is captured during a robbery, the local sheriff promises to pay $200. to destitute, crippled farmer Dan Evans to escort the prisoner to Contention, AZ for catching a ride to the 3:10 to Yuma and prison. The connection between the two disparate men - Wade and Evans - is the message of the story and is beautifully enhanced by allowing the audience to understand both sides of 'the law'. The co-stars of the film include Gretchen Mol as Evans' wife and young Logan Lerman as Evans' impressionable son William, Dallas Roberts as the head of the bank investment at risk, Peter Fonda, Alan Tudyk, Vinessa Shaw and a large cast of the people who interplay in the drama. Both Crowe and Bale give superlative performances, acting so cohesively that it would be difficult to single out either for the Oscar: this is ensemble acting at its finest. For once the added features enhance our appreciation of the tales from the Old West and how they became legends and the comments by the director, producers and cast actually make sense! The film will doubtless become a classic: it deserves the honor. Grady Harp
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago