×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

8 Mile
     

8 Mile

4.4 39
Director: Curtis Hanson,

Cast: Curtis Hanson, Eminem, Kim Basinger, Brittany Murphy

 

See All Formats & Editions

Curtis Hanson is such a talented filmmaker, it's really too bad that more content isn't added to his movies on DVD. As with L.A. Confidential, this disc doesn't go far enough. An extensive documentary on the making of this film would have been a real plus, but sadly all that is offered is a nine-minute featurette. As much cast and crew interviews and behind the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great movie!
Pariss_ More than 1 year ago
I give the 2002 movie, 8 Mile a rating of five out of five stars hands down. This rated R, autobiographical film is filled with eye catching drama and interesting, influential music. 8 Mile provides its audience with the most descriptive and expressive scenery so that you actually feel as if you were in the movie with Eminem, feeling the emotions he felt during each scene. The movie 8 Mile takes place in the 8 Mile area of Detroit. With no money and very little clothes, Jimmy refuses to live like this and raise his daughters the way he was raised. His only option is to continue to work hard and use his talent and creativity to get what he desires (which is a better lifestyle); that outstanding ability being his ability to rap. Unto his surprise this task was not as simple as he contemplated. It was far more difficult for Mr. Jimmy Smith by him being the only white rapper trying to influence a group of hundreds of predominately African Americans to choose him over the other MCs. In addition, Jimmy has to do everything on his own without the help from his mother, which is the only family he has. With his mother's trailer as his only place to live, he gets thrown out and left on the streets by himself. Jimmy Smith went from being lonely, poor, homeless and looked down upon to well respected and popular. Watch how rapper, Eminem portrays his life story of overcoming numerous challenges, distinguishing who his real friends are from the ones that didn't really care about him, and having no family at all to go to for support in this musically dramatic film.
Guest More than 1 year ago
People actually paid to see this? I walked into my girlfriend's house where her younger sister was watching this and had to endure the pain and humiliation of contributing to the popularity of this clown. I wish I would have stayed at home and done something more fun, like pass a kidney stone. At least we finally have a film which naive, ignorant people of all races can watch. I will shoot myself in the face instead of watching this movie again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Eminem is soooooooooooooooooooooooooo gewd in this movie he shows the steps to become a great rappa...he plays an amazing role, which he shows in this movie so does the beauti brittany and the rest....you must watch it even if u have WATCH IT AGAIN!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I never seen such a great movie; it's so real and tight.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is an excellent movie that really shows eminems diversity in acting and rapping. it is truly a performance that deserves an oscar nod. ps britney is hot.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is one of a kind where Rap star meets actor. Eminem is truley the most talented people out in the fame world of today. Whether it's his musically genius lyrics, or the almost story of his life movie. This is one of the better movie excpet for the ending, the should have added more and the casting od Brittany Murphy was a mistake..... but otherwise it was good!
Guest More than 1 year ago
eminems performance made the hairs on my neck stand up, there were even parts that i cried. it is a very cute movie
Dunn1inc More than 1 year ago
great inspirational film even for non music/eminem lovers. must see
Guest More than 1 year ago
he can do anything he wants to and i admire that. he is really cute and he seems to be very nice guy, even though his life is pretty rough
Guest More than 1 year ago
OMG Eminem is such a gr8 actor! & I hope he does more acting n the future! & I hope he makes a sequel 4 8-Mile! This is like my fave movie now, & Eminem is totally hott! :o)
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the best movies I've seen. I enjoyed this very much. Eminem did a great job in this!! Very funny parts in the movie. I recommend it to everyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Eminem is awesome...it seems the less he says with his mouth the more he says with his eyes and body language. I am a 36yr old white mother of 3 and I was completely sold by his performance and now have a complete and utter new appreciation for this artistry...I recommend this to everyone who loves any type of music and for anyone who loves the underdog! It's about conventional friendship in an unconventional atmosphere. It's about great loyalty and paints a surprisingly watchable picture of Detroit and the Rapp Scene. This guy is a real talent!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this movie had its drama and it was a good movie, but eminem should stick to his music career though. he works better as a hard core rapper then some guy looking for some loving.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a big Eminem fan and when i found out he was coming out with a movie, i was very excited. I found out in August and the movie didn't come out until November, so it was a long and tough wait. But the long wait was all worth it. When i saw the movie, I fell in love with it and went back the very next day and saw it again. 8 Mile is a definite must-see for all Eminem fans out there. It's also good for people who like Hip-Hop in general. Even if you don't like Eminem, you should see it because when you watch the movie, you don't see him as Eminem, you see him as Jimmy Smith Jr., a white kid trying to make it on the rap scene in the mid-90's black Detroit. It's an excellent film and I recommend it to everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
8 mile is the bbbbbbest movie ever eminem is acting a young man who enters a rap comp and stuns everone by winning i think i will show everone this movie
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yo, where to begin, my minds racin. I cant wait to put this DvD in i'm pacin. A wannbe rapper tryin to make his breaks. This movies so tough i dont know how much I can take. Marshall, so awesome and true, anyone that hates this be actin a fool. Just go out and buy it on the double. Or just click up top and get it from the B and Noble. Totally deservin the 5 stars it got. Better than Vanilla Ice in TMNT2......NOT!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had no respect for rap before I saw this movie, but after seeing this movie I came to apprectiate it. This movie was funny and very entertaining. I certainly underestimated Eminem as an actor, he did a very respectable job in this movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The movie 8 Mile is an excellet story to begin wiht, and the preformaces given by all the actors are phenomenal. I don;t think any one besides Eminem could have portrayed Rabbit with such belivability and strength. the only part of it that was shaky for me are the love scenes. there was no need to show all that they did, and yeah, it;s art, but more so on the pornography side than anything. other than that, I thought it was good movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The movie industry has a new star -- Eminem did an outstanding job in portraying his roots. A real stand up & cheer for the underdog movie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Before I saw this movie, I hated rap. I thought it was a waste of time. And now, Eminem is like my favorite artist! But I especially loved the scenes he did with Chloe Greenfeild, his sister. I loved these scenes because it shows that what we see Eminem do on stage is different then his real life. That he's actually sensitive, not just a street thug. And I love the song 'Lose Yourself' It makes the most important point I think a song ever made. I think anyone and everyone should see this movie, it will help you see in a different light.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is the best movie ever eminem is a great actor and he plays a great role no matter what age this is the movie for everybody!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Okay okay okay, we all know Eminem's life story, so, let's get off it! The movie was okay, but anyone who likes Eminem had heard it before, there wasn't really a plot in the movie in my opinion... but the acting was good... that's the only thing good I can think of from this movie, other than Cheddar Bob is a great name!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you have not watched this movie, watch it, if you have, watch it!8 Mile is great to watch, especially for those who are struggling in life to be a rapper.All of the events happen in real life 2-day.8-mile just stages events that rappers who do not have it made have to go thru.Eminem is one who went thru these steps to get where he is and the movie sets a good example to those who r struggling to come up.It shows that if u believe in yourself u can be the best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Who could hate eminem? He is the best person ever.I admire this rapper and actor right here. He should act more. I loved 8 mile. It was a great movie and best of all it tought me something about life. You shouldn't give up intil you get it and then you can either pursue the job or walk away from it and know in your heart you accomplished it. Feels good you know! Bye. -Vicky-