×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Adaptation
     

Adaptation

3.8 13
Director: Spike Jonze,

Cast: Meryl Streep, Chris Cooper

 

See All Formats & Editions

The creative team behind Being John Malkovich -- director Spike Jonze and screenwriter Charlie Kaufman -- return with this equally offbeat comedy, in which Kaufman himself becomes the leading character. Charlie Kaufman (Nicolas Cage) is a gifted but profoundly neurotic screenwriter who, after the success of Being John Malkovich, has been hired to write a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Adaptation 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
searchmc More than 1 year ago
I liked the Movie, but in my opinion the acting of Nicolas Cage was a distration. The twins felt like they were the same person. I almost couldn't tell when one started and the other ended. Still I like the story.
JCWilkerson More than 1 year ago
Charlie Kaufman (Nicolas Cage) is trying to adapt the book The Orchid Thief from Susan Orleans (Meryl Streep) about John La Roche (Chris Cooper) who goes to various places in Miami to find orchids to cultivate, but doesn't want to add much to the actual story. Because of this he's having a hard time adapting the book to movie form. He's also living with his brother Donald (Nicolas Cage) who has decided that he will become a screenwriter and is working on a screenplay about serial killers called "The Three". Charlie Kaufman (yes, that's a real person) is a brilliant screenwriter. Having written the little seen Human Nature, the quirky Being John Malkovich, and the critically acclaimed and brilliant Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Charlie was trying to come up with something new with his adaptation of Susan Orleans' book The Orchid Thief. He was having a very difficult time with adapting the book the way he wanted, but eventually came up with this idea to meld real life with fiction with a little help from his (fictional) brother, Donald Kaufman (who also earned a co-screenwriting credit). Adaptation is a brilliant film, as are most of Kaufman's works, melding together his real world works at adapting The Orchid Thief with the fictional account seemlessly. Throughout the film you get that this is a true story, especially when you review to realize that the character names are names of real people (with very few exceptions, such as Donald Kaufman), and then at the end, once you realize that this is a work of fiction, you can still see the work of Donald Kaufman on the film as if Charlie was channeling the character's ambitions in an effort to figure out how to end the movie. Naturally, in the end, when you find out more about the movie this only works to the story's advantage. Nicolas Cage isn't typically the actor that you'd look to to portray a character like this, or I should say, character's like this. Charlie and Donald are two totally different characters with separate sensibilities, but Nic plays them with amazing affinity for the shortcomings and strengths of the characters. Naturally, Oscar winning actress Meryl Streep throws herself fully into the game as always, and you also have a dose of the amazing Brian Cox, which is always worth noting. Chris Cooper as the eccentric orchid thief John La Roche steals the show though. This is a movie that I have to highly recommend. It's funny and stylish but doesn't lose it's focus on story and character building. The movie does a great job at remaining faithful to the material Charlie was originally trying to adapt by focusing some of the attention and narration on passages of the book, while also remaining entertaining, especially in the relationship between the two brothers. I only wish more screenwriters could be as inventive as Charlie Kaufman. 4.5/5
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sick of the twin cliche movies? The evil twin? The long-lost twin? Enjoy this journey through the mind, eye and brilliant directing by Jonze and all-star performances by Cage, Streep and Cooper. As a twin, I was blown away by Kaufman's (or is it The Kaufmans?) script. This is a classic for all wanna-be screenwriters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is so great. Not only is it the most clever movie I have ever seen, it is just plain hilarious. Nicolas Cage is awesome as both Charlie and Donald. Meryl Streep deserves an Oscar for her work, and Chris Cooper is phenomenal. Chris Cooper is just so outstanding, he makes the movie great.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's easy to dismiss this movie as a whiny attempt to promote the screenwriter's art as a "REAL" art, wrapped up in a pretentious, self-referential coating that will be lauded by people who use the suffix "meta-" and words like "recursive"... so that's what I'm going to do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being a lover of all of life's beauty, i could not let that aspect of the film leave my mind!!!! At the same time, i was taken on one of the most brilliantly scripted film's i have ever seen indeed!!!!!