×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Aliens
     

Aliens

4.8 36
Director: James Cameron

Cast: Sigourney Weaver, Carrie Henn, Michael Biehn

 

See All Formats & Editions

Big-budget special effects, swiftly paced action, and a distinct feminist subtext from writer/director James Cameron turned what should have been a by-the-numbers sci-fi sequel into both a blockbuster and a seven-time Oscar nominee. Sigourney Weaver returns as Ellen Ripley, the last surviving crew member of a corporate spaceship destroyed after an attack by a vicious,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Aliens 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
gravity More than 1 year ago
Every once in a while a sequel is made that tops the original. That film is Aliens. After expelling the troublesome alien in the first movie, Lt. Ellen Ripley returns to the planet that she and her cronies first encountered those hideous creatures. However, the second time around she arrives with marines ready to battle the third kind. The climax encounter between the queen alien and Ripley clearly makes this particular sequel the very best of the franchise. This powerful movie should be a lesson to all filmmakers in the industry. Aliens builds a story within the first hour and then once they reach the actual planet, the real action begins. Director and screenwriter James Cameron, perfected the art of storytelling in addition to the visual masterpiece he put together in this '80 classic. An absolute must see!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not only is it the best sequel ever made; seriously, but it too scared me speechless. I honestly believe that one cannot have Alien without Aliens. I have seen all the Alien series, but none of them measure up to their predacessers.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Probably one of my favorites, if not new favorite movies right now. Weaver did a really good job in this. While I like the first one, I think I like this one a bit better.
RobbieBobby44 More than 1 year ago
This is not just an icon in the history of sci-fi moviemaking, it's also a legendary piece of work in terms of its action content. Complete with a terrific script, top-notch acting, editing, costume design, scenery and music, it is a thrill ride I have enjoyed from start to finish ever since I was a kid (I'm 36 now). Even my sister, who had no interests in action or sci-fi films until this time, was hooked from the first viewing. The tension shown by the previously fearless Marines bumps up bit by bit throughout the story, with a wild first fight and a mind-blowing final battle. Then comes the climax: Ripley versus the Queen - a phenomenal accomplishment before the days of CGI and a brilliantly-conceived showdown. Easily the best James Cameron film I know of.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
benskywalkerknight34 More than 1 year ago
i would love 2 pick a copy of ALIENS blu-ray again even though i have the Anthology, but, it wouldn't hurt 2 get it again. someday. but who would ever hear anyone scream louder?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It had been awhile since I had seen this, several years. It's still as good as I remember. I must say though that i prefer the original release. Somehow the extra scenes slow this one down. But overall still a great movie, the best in the series IMHO and destined to be a classic sci-fi movie, if it isn't considered one already.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Aliens is easily the most well done sci-fi ever, especially if you're an action suspense fan. The realism, detail and resolution of the story is what we expect from a director like James Cameron who set the bar high. He had the good sense not to be involved in the two sequels to this masterpiece. Watch this with the added footage as it enhances the film and watch Alien(Director Ridley Scott) without it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
James Cameron directed one of the most exciting and fascinating SF action adventure films ever made in Aliens. Not only does the story flow seamlessly from the first film of the series, Alien, but the characters, special effects and directorial pacing cause the film to pound like a sledge hammer from start to finish. The action is nearly non-stop once it begins and the character of Ripley, as all good characters should be, is driven further and further up that tree of absolute peril until you are just sure she’ll be torn limb from limb. The grisly antagonists drive the action with such relentless power that the screen seems to come alive with their swarming malice. No surprise there though, since these monsters were dreamt up by Dan O’Bannon and Ron Shusett and brought to organic, ghastly life by the artist and sculptor H.R. Giger. If you haven’t seen it, see it. If you’ve seen it already, see it again and tune into the finer cinematic touches that make the danger so palpable, especially the sound.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first saw the film alien in 96 I knew that they had to have made a sequel to the film, though only six at the time I had reviewed the plot lines of many strategic and logical horror films. The film was above what you would call bleak but didn't give enough action for me. Then the ending left us blank and we never knew what happen to Ripley or the cat! Then aliens came along filling in from practically where we left off in the first film. Then Ripley begins to go psychotic and having dreams of a chestbuster ripping her apart. Then we find out about the colony. From here on out the film was almost perfect in my opinion, I especially enjoyed the fight at the end of the film between the queen and Ripley. So I gave the film a 4 star rating.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Aliens is way better then the first one. Alien just had one alien, but this one had hundreds of aliens running around, plus a queen alien! The best movie ever!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I write reviews for the best horror films...Truth be told, this is the most powerful Alien film of all. The latest one wasjust too gory; this delivers a sensational pack of wonderful mystery, action, suspense, great acting, and cheer-for-the-heroine-enthusiasm. Sigourney Weaver won an Academy Award for her work in Aliens, and should be seen by all sci-fi horror buffs. ---Joe.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The 1st movie had 1 Alien..forget that!! How often does a sequel outdo the original? Well here is one time for sure!! This movie totally knocked my socks off. Sure, it takes a long time before you finally see an Alien but once discovered, they never stopped. The directors cut was awesome, seeing scenes that I had never seen before was a shock considering I know the movie by heart. (or did till then!!) Ripley totally kicks butt in this movie, and you cant help but feeling sorry for the rest of the characters. Non stop and breath taking movie...I loved it. Forget Aliens 3-it bites. THIS is the best one!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is awesome. I don't know where to begin. The marines are awesome. They should of had more of these dudes in the sequel. This movie is definatly worth a rent
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago