×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

American Me
     

American Me

4.8 17

Cast: Edward James Olmos, William Forsythe, Pepe Serna, Danny De La Paz

 

See All Formats & Editions

The directorial debut of actor Edward James Olmos, the drama American Me, comes to DVD with a widescreen anamorphic transfer that preserves the original theatrical aspect ratio of 1.85:1. English and French soundtracks are rendered in Dolby Digital Surround. Spanish subtitles are accessible, and the English soundtrack is closed-captioned. Supplemental materials

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

American Me 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
if you feel lost, you need to see that you are really here. this is life for people that you know and love. dont close your eyes. it is life!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie captures you from start to finish, so much that before you know it you'll be quoting lines from some it's heroes like Santana, JD, and Mundo. The way the movie follows Santana's entire life from boy to man is amazing, you actually feel like he is aging before your eyes!!! This is simply a must have!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
eye opening, shocking, with an anti gang style of story telling. recomended for all 15-19 mexican teens. the movie is real and scary but its life if you live in the barrio
Guest More than 1 year ago
damn well played and writed by Edward J. olmos. So vivid I gave it 5 stars. If there were only 100 stars more to give.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Working in a prison in Nevada, i can tell you that this is the most realistic prison movie ever made.
Guest More than 1 year ago
itz 1 of da best gang movies ever made must see no lie
Guest More than 1 year ago
es la mejor pelicula jamas que eh visto en mi vida te esprica la cruda realida lo que paso y esta pasando en las pintas de california.
Guest More than 1 year ago
you havent lived until u see this movie, shout out to h-town texas
Guest More than 1 year ago
As anybody has ever been around a prison gang member, whether from the Mexicarma, La Nuestra Familia, the Black Guerrilla Family or the Aryan Brotherhood, and now the Nazi Low Riders, the old saying, "blood in, blood out," relates to all prison gangs and everything they do is very serious, unlike what we hear about these newcomers like MS-13 and the 18th Street Gang. Everybody knows that they are ruled by the foot soldiers in Pelican Bay of the Mexican Mafia. Edward James Olmos has directed the most accurate film about prison gangs and the ruthlessness and ultimately the futility in joining these criminals and fighting them. Even the most powerful man in the most powerful prison gangs is not immune to death from his own, as the movie shows in vicious detail. I know Mrs. Reagan, it would be a much better world if people "just said no!" but the world sadly doesn't work like that. If we are to win some "respect" in the war on drugs, which at times feels like a farce, the only way to win is to address it honestly and not simplistically just say "lock up." Once you are in the game of drugs and gang violence you cannot get loose unless you end up in prison, in a pine box, addicted for life, or turned snitch. Breathtaking film!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Everyone one from main stars to supporting actors shined in this movie about real life. Very gripping subject matter will keep you fastened to your seat and the screen. Is one of the most under-rated movies of all time. I never even seen it at movie theater, was recommended by friend for a weekend rental and was hooked at begining.Definitely a must own !!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
An incredible view from the inside of one of the most feared gangs in prison and on the streets. The acting is as goods as the movies reality and this movie is very real.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What an inspiring movie about the way an unfortunate prisoner finds himself in war among not only his surrondings, but among his own family! a must see film my hats off to this compelling, moving, movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is the most realistic of prison movies I have seen in a long time not only does it show the life in prison to the extreme but the outside as well and the srtuggles that come with that freedom, I hope this movie is released on DVD soon I cant wait for the extras
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film needs to be put on DVD so that I can buy it, and put it into my DVD collection.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw this film on a lark, having been conditioned to see all prison movies as stereotypical and poorly made. But nothing else was playing and the movie poster looked interesting. Boy, was I in for a ride! This movie will shake you to the core and is at times very painful to watch. You really don't watch American Me, you experience it. It has multiple subplots and twists and turns. No bathroom breaks in this movie, you are glued to your seat but in certain scenes, your eyes will shift away. Worthy of an Oscar for best screen play, I am surprised that it was not a box office smash! A lot of folks slept on this one!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The movie Amercian Me was an excellent movie by Olmos. The main character ''Santana'' is sent to jail and starts to control all drug trade and murder in Folsom State Prison. This movie really only gives a glimpse of what mexican gang life is all about behind bars. I liked it because it shows a lot of what people don't see. It does give some extreme insights on what really happens. The movie goes from Santana being a kid to him being old and all his trials he endures with his two best friends ''J.D.'' and ''Mundo.'' And i liked that it shows betrayal and loyal and it gives you a good idea on who to trust.