×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Animatrix
  • Alternative view 1 of Animatrix
  • Alternative view 2 of Animatrix
     

Animatrix

4.2 15
Director: Koji Morimoto

Cast: Andy Jones, Andy Wachowski, Mahiro Maeda

 
You've seen the trilogy, now delve even deeper into the technological nightmare of The Matrix with this stunning collection of animated shorts from Warner Bros. Home Entertainment. Presented in 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen, this disc offers audio rendered in either closed-captioned English Dolby Digital 5.1 or Japanese Dolby Digital 5.1 with optional English,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Animatrix 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a really neat amine to see. I have enjoyed this and watched this about million times and still I like it but the bad thing is all of the amine is short, but it will better if this was a long story, then a short.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw Reloaded before I bought The Animatrix, and I have to say, I was expecting more. After seeing the first and second movie, this didn't help me ''learn'' more about the Matrix than I hadn't seen on the big screen. However, after going through all the stories, I realized it's something you want to go back to, and you think about, rather than just watching it all at once. I think that after I watch it a second time, I'll enjoy it more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheHalfBloodPrinceReturns More than 1 year ago
awesome anime!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't know why it got good ratings from those other two morons here, but this was a waste of money. The first one was the only decent one which was, I will admit, interesting. But as for the other 60 some odd minutes of the dvd, it was a waste of money, and I wish I had never bought it. I would give this no stars, but it gave me no choice.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great art with vague plots.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This batch of short stories was absolutely sunning and breathtaking. I guarantee that if you saw The Matrix, and didn't like it because you couldn't understand the concept, if you watch this movie, everything will become clear. It's just so interesting to find out how everything came to be. This movie was awesome, The Matrix was awesome, The Matrix Reloaded was awesome, and I'm guessing that The Matrix Revolutions will be awesome as well.
Guest More than 1 year ago
So your amazed by the Matrix Trilogy. How can an action movie ever compete with a movie of this magnitude? Thats the point, they can not thus far. Now whats next is to take all genres and raise the level of quality so high it will be years before anyone comes close to it. So the Wachowski brothers take Anime to a whole new level. If you take the creators of Cowboy Bebop, Final Fantasy the Movie, and Akira, you have just created the ultimate monster, the Animatrix. I can not begin to tell you the level of quality of these CG and anime shorts. I wont even mention the video game.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Saw one of the shorts when I went to Dreamcatcher --- the animation is stunning! This is definitely a must own for any fan of The Matrix -- can't wait for RELOADED!!! Highly recommend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The prequals to the Matrix. Learn about the last cities of mankind, the war with the machines and humanity's ultimate downfall. :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is simply the best collection of stories I have seen in one place. It goes from epic to intimate and never misses a beat. The stories, while varying in quality, give the viewer a sense of the world that we don't see in the movies. I can't wait for Revolutions.
Guest More than 1 year ago
... and while some of the stories are better than others, all of them are visually stunning, at least occasionally. In my opinion, Beyond is the best of the lot ... it's absolutely a joy to look at. World Record is utterly grotesque -- and absolutely brilliant at the same time. The two shorts by Shinichiro Watanabe (Cowboy Bebop) and Matriculated (by Peter Chung, of Aeon Flux fame) are beautifully stylish, even if I wasn't as excited by their stories; Second Renaissance 1 & 2 as well as Final Flight of the Osiris are neat expansions of the main Matrix storyline, but simply feel like exposition -- but they're so well animated, that it's not a big problem at all. The extras -- ''making of's'' on each of the shorts and a terrific short history of Japanese anime & manga -- are also very well-done. Basically: Beyond and World Record alone are worth owning the DVD for, and the rest are all at least pretty cool, if not great; this is a must for any animation fan's library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It must be a guidline for all animators .. We must see everything this way .. Its amazing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There are some incredible pieces in this collection - The 2nd Renaissance and Matriculated in particular (in addition to others). I was truly in awe. It's been a while (since the original Matrix?) since I've seen stories this exciting and powerful. There's a healthy variety here. It serves as a nice introduction to anime as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago