×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Beloved
     

Beloved

3.9 10
Director: Jonathan Demme

Cast: Oprah Winfrey, Danny Glover, Thandie Newton

 

See All Formats & Editions

Jonathan Demme's adaptation of Toni Morrison's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel comes to DVD with a widescreen transfer that preserves the original theatrical aspect ratio of 1.85:1. A closed-captioned English soundtrack is rendered in Dolby Digital 5.1, while a French soundtrack is recorded in Dolby Digital Stereo. There are no subtitles accessible on this release.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Beloved 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
First of all, people who are going to read the book, don't watch the movie first because the movie doesn't contain all or exact information from the book. Secondly, this has too much sex in it. It should have been rated X not PG. I just don't like the fact that this movie excludes so many things from the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tito More than 1 year ago
This has to be one of the sickest main stream films I have ever see! It had so much sex in it! Oprah Must have paid off someone to get this film a PG rating because it's actually not far from porn! This movie grossed me out! Unforgetable you say! Yeah by how sick it is!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love Oprah. I think she has done wonderful things with her career and those things have greatly impacted the quality of life for millions of people in our country, however I didn't think this film is the best avenue for her to show her strengths, at least in terms of acting ability. Basically what I mean is, that I don't think she can act. She was okay in this movie but I am grateful that her part didn't make or break the film (although I did notice that the movie was put out by her company, Harpo productions). The other significant roles, that of the two daughters and the boyfriend were all very well acted, thank goodness, because I liked just about everything else about this movie. The only thing I didn't understand was the beginning-with the wolf or dog...whatever, and of course since I am not a person of color, I can't really appreciate the full context and meaning of the story so part of me felt a little left out. All in all though, it was a valuable contribution to the world of cinema. I am definitely taking the book out of the library to read for a fuller understanding of the story's message.
derbydreams More than 1 year ago
Toni Morrison brings to life the horrers of slavery. Based on a known event in history, this movie really pulls at your heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Beloved was an excellent movie with fine acting and great direction by Jonathan Demme. Adapted from the novel Beloved by Toni Morisson. Rated R this movie contain graphic images of slaves were treated. Oprah Winfrey gave an Oscar worthy performance as Sethe, A slave with a horrible past that involved trying to kill her kids rather than have them be slaves. She disappears into this role as few actresses do. Also good are Thandie Newton as Beloved and Kimberly Elise as Denver, Sethe's daughters. A Great movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was so absorbing and moving. The acting was just as excellent. I was just captivated every second of the film.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think that this movie was very well prepared and put together. This movie have touched my great grandmother and her children. Why because they can relate to that era. And it has healed some hearts. This movie was perfect in everyway. I would tell everyone to take a minute to enjoy this film and watch it with no interruptions.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'A masterwork, it's the most wonderful, heart-warming moving. I have never seen anything better in my entire life.