×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Big Bang Theory - Season 1
  • Alternative view 1 of Big Bang Theory - Season 1
  • Alternative view 2 of Big Bang Theory - Season 1
     

Big Bang Theory - Season 1

4.6 64
 
Two brilliant young physicists learn that the complex structures of atoms aren't nearly as perplexing as the inner-workings of modern women in this release featuring all 17 episodes of the The Big Bang Theory: Season One. The first season introduces viewers to the main characters: Leonard Hofstadter (Johnny Galecki), a brilliant but awkward experimental

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Big Bang Theory - Season 1 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
SethBalaban More than 1 year ago
The Big Bang Theory is an excellent series, which I recommend highly. However, at the risk of seeming as "geeky" as the protagonists of the show, I must point out that the "official" review is wildly erroneous. So erroneous, in fact that I must question wheather the reviewer, Mr. Erickson, ever watched the series. I have inserted corrections in the review text.

Editorial Reviews
From the same production team responsible for Two a Half Men, the CBS "nerd-com" The Big Bang Theory clued the viewer in on what to expect right from the get-go by naming its two main characters "Sheldon" and "Leonard" (though all resemblance to the famous gangster actor-turned-TV producer ended right there!) They were both brilliant physicists, living together in a technology-cluttered apartment, and spending their free time with a circle of fellow geeks from Cal Tech. And, need we add, bbwsof course, Sheldon (Jim Parsons) and Leonard (Johnny Galecki) were despite their hyper-intelligence hopelessly "backward" on a social level; after all, it isn't easy to pick up girls when the only things you know how to talk about are isotopes and video games. Our heroes were thrown for a mobius strip when the incredibly beautiful and voluptuous Penny (Kaley Cuoco), a recent divorcee, [NOT A DIVORCEE-PENNY HAD JUST ENDED A LONG-TERM RELATIONSHIP, BUT HAD NOT BEEN MARRIED] moved ino the apartment next door. Fascinated by the two "Beautiful Mind Guys," Penny decided to hang around with Sheldon and Leonard whenever possible. [ALTHOUGH, THEY DO, OF COURSE, SPEND CONSIDERABLE TIME TOGETHER, PENNY NEVER MADE SUCH A DECISION] Having seldom been in such close proximity to a genuinely gorgeous girl, Leonard was anxious to make a few moves (assuming he knew any!), but Sheldon, perpetually unlucky in love, kept his distance, convinced that he'd only have his heart broken again. [THIS IS THE MOST EGREGIOUS ERROR. SHELDON IS NOT "UNLUCKY" IN LOVE, BUT SIMPLY UNINTERESTED IN IT, AND HE NEVER INDICATED THAT HIS HEART HAD BEEN "BROKEN".] Occasionally dropping in for the random punchline were the boys' college pals, the loquacious Howard (Simon Helberg) and the virtually mute Rajesh (Kunai Nayyar).[RAJESH IS SILENT ONLY IN THE PRESENCE OF PENNY, OR OTHER BEAUTIFUL WOMEN, OTHERWISE HE IS FAR FROM MUTE] The Big Bang Theory was first networkcast on September 24, 2007. Hal Erickson, All Movie Guide

Also, contrary to the information on this 'site, the language of the series is not "Portugais", or Portuguese, for that matter.
bookwormMC More than 1 year ago
This is the funniest show on television today! The chemistry between the group is excellent! Hope this show finds an audience and has a long run.
chenelynchikelibambi More than 1 year ago
To be honest, I don't understand most of the physics concepts in this series. But still, every scene makes me laugh. Sheldon (Jim Parsons) is hilarious! You'll get hooked!
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
New favorite show that's about scientists Leonard, Sheldon and their friends Raj and Howard and how they become friends with Penny, their new neighbor that lives across the hall from Sheldon and Leonard . So of course hilarity ensues. The main characters are funny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i love this show it is so awesome
Evelyn33 More than 1 year ago
You just got to watch this show. I find myself having at least one good belly laugh per episode. I am such a fan. Buy this today. You will not regret your decision.
Tree55 More than 1 year ago
I love the Big Bang Theory. I have worked with the highly educated at a university and the writers have captured those personality traits and quirks to perfection. My son said he didn't like the show because it made him feel stupid. I told him to watch a little more, that from experience this is excatly what the faculty at Universities are like. I adore the characters and their interactions are perfect. Thank you for airing this series, and I look forward to owning every season.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This show is AWESOME!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BeckyJune More than 1 year ago
I found the Big Bang Theory show by accident, a review caught my attention so I decided to watch the show. I was immediately hooked, I set up my DVR to record the show and I ordered Season 1 & Season 2 DVD sets. The writers for this show are amazing and if you are in a bad mood this show will cure it!
AsiaSquawkBoxFan More than 1 year ago
This is a clever sitcom that appeals to a cerebral audience to understand all of the scientific humor references, which means it was written by Einsteins with an obviious fetish for hot blondes. The structure of each episode and the comedic payoffs hit hard and often. Lastly, the leading lady wears short shorts. So, GO watch. Nerds will enjoy the show better than jocks.
LordChunky02 More than 1 year ago
Just one word, BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!!!! Extremely funny, with seriously funny moments! Penny and Sheldon communicating in the same language but completely different dialects. Sheldon speaking Authentic Geek and Penny Bemused American!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A lighthearted sitcom that reminds its viewers that nerds are people too, and that the desire for acceptance and love is universal (well, maybe not for Sheldon).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters are funny, whitty, and very believable. You can't help but fall into the story and be hooked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a wonderful cast, the geeks nab you into their world and then penny comes along rather quickly. I was rather worried that her character would become one of those characters that you love to hate but she has a delightful range of acting skills and continues to grow into the series giving me a that much more appreciation for her, being such an oddball. You must see it, you will laugh so hard your neighbors will hear.
bigfanSW More than 1 year ago
The funniest show ever. Just as funny second time round. Waiting for season two now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DR SHELDON IS SO HOT... IT MAKES ME WEAK IN MY GIRLEY KNEES I AM GOING TO DYE MY HAIR RED AND WORK ON A PAPER WITH HIM DR CRAZY CHANCE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I attend a "nerd school" and the characters on this show are exactly like the guys I hang out with/go to classes with. If you have a smart sense of humor, you should find this show as hilariously entertaining as I do, and this is just the first season! Every character is lovable, every episode funny, and I can't find anything to hate.
WittyPenName_ More than 1 year ago
I adore this show. Initially, I feared watching this show, for I thought it would either ridicule intelligent people or their opposites. However, the series did neither. The highly intelligent characters are endearing, while Penny (their neighbor of lesser intelligence(by their standards), but higher common sense) is just as likable. The characters balance each other out, without mocking one population more than another. I enjoyed this series for its originality, and its attempt to provide more jokes based on academic ideas. However, this humor is not solely for the members of MENSA, it is written for a wide range- there were some jokes that my engineering friends laughed at that I didn't get, and some that I laughed at that they didn't get.