×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Casino Royale
     

Casino Royale

4.5 84
Director: Martin Campbell

Cast: Daniel Craig, Eva Green, Mads Mikkelsen

 

See All Formats & Editions

Actor Daniel Craig assumes the role formerly occupied by such screen greats as Sean Connery, Roger Moore, and Timothy Dalton to set out on the character's very first 007 mission. James Bond has earned his "00" status by masterfully executing a pair

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Casino Royale 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 84 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sorry, but Craig is an awful James Bond. Short, ugly, classless. Film is too long for what it has to say and there is no reason for an 'origin' story as Fleming never did one, either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
he dose not act like Bond and he have to be ``real`` spy now no cool thing to help he out becaues it not ``real``
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
While I'm not a fan of the Bond movies, this one I can make an exception. It really is pretty good. Craig did a good job.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is by far the best Bond flick I have ever seen! I absolutely love this movie! I've recommended it to so many. Not only is Daniel Craig so incredibly hot as 007 that one look at him will make your eyes melt, he's rough, tough and oh so buff. There's no need for special effects or over-the-top graphics, this man is enough. He is the ultimate BOND. I can't wait for the next movie! BUY THIS! You won't be disappointed. (Don't worry, guys, there's plenty of eye candy for you, too.)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Probably older than most viewers, I grew up reading the Ian Fleming novels at an impressionable age and was introduced to the celluloid Bond with Sean Connery and Dr. No, From Russia With Love, etc. Having suffered through the laughable Roger Moore era, I was delighted when Pierce Brosnan took on the part, and with many thought that Daniel Craig was not the man to step into his shoes. Wrong, kiddies - he has the cold, calculating menace that Fleming wrote about so well, and if you have read all the novels, there are little clues to some of them that might be missed - such as Bond's penchant for married women, at least in one novel. For me, Craig nails the part, without laser neckties and piton shooting fountain pens. Looking forward to Quantum of Solace.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't wait for the DVD release of this movie. It was an incredible movie experience. This, my friends, is a brand new Bond. He's suave, yes, he's dashing, yes, but he's also very hard-core and full of emotion. The best Bond to date? There's a good chance.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not being a James Bond addict this viewer approached CASINO ROYALE in the quiet of the home with the DVD form of the film. For the first time the unique appeal of this 007 character makes sense under Daniel Craig's interpretation. Prior Bond films with the varied actors who have portrayed him have gone for the slick, tricky, smart killing machine whose eyes seemed always on the outlook for the next gorgeous babe he treated with little respect except for physical favors. The various villainous characters seemed to blend and the stories appeared to be more interested in that tired musical soundtrack theme and carnage than they were in character development. Enter Daniel Craig, all buff and uber-masculine, and the beginnings of James Bond's character are explained in a touching manner, making this machine-like concept a deeper being. Of course, credit must go to director Martin Campbell working with an intelligent script by Neal Purvis and Robert Wade which travels Craig's Bond from Uganda, to the Bahamas, Miami, Montenegro and Venice. The chief bad guy this round is Le Chiffre (Mads Mikkelsen) who complete with scarred blind eye and cruel gaze is Bond's nemesis. Judi Dench turns in another strong performance as the ubiquitous 'M' on charge of 007's ventures and along the way Bond meets such good/bad characters as Giancarlo Giannini, Jeffrey Wright, and the very elegant and stylish French actress Eva Green whose complex character provides all the information we needed to know about James Bond's view of women. CASINO ROYALE is a strong 2 1/2 hour film that for this viewer makes James Bond an interesting character in addition to being a suave stunt/lady-killer man. Daniel Craig is in fine form (literally) and proves his mettle here. This viewer will see the next Bond/Craig film in the theaters! Grady Harp
Rocko_Jerome More than 1 year ago
I always liked Bond in theory. The concept of a womanizing, extremely driven, suave secret agent is compelling, but in actual practice the movies never held my interest. Because the aforementioned character didn't strike me as so fascinating when he's portrayed as an infallible cartoon character, and played by actors who looked more like Sears cataloh models than men of action. I wasn't asking for complete hardcore and bitter reality, this is escapism after all. Just a dose of gravity, and a Bond who I could buy as a tough guy. With Casino Royale, I got the whammy. Big Time. Much has been said about Craig, and I don't have much to add. What I'm here to say: If you thought you knew Bond, you might be in for an awakening, here. Give it a shot.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Now whatever what they say about this film, i don't care!This is a must see. Best Bond film of my generation.As for me, first impression never last. Good thing I didn't believe those critics throwing stones on Daniel. I watched the film and see it for myself that this guy is really is a JAMES BOND.James Bond in a whole lotta way.Boredom is a no no no for this film.Full of action and of course romance in a so smooth and suave way.Five stars for Daniel and the film!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't usually make comments about other reviewers, but the previous review is way off base. I am old enough to have seen most of the Bond films in the theatre. Only a few Connery films are better. Daniel Craig isn't stiff he's icy cold, a killer for Queen and country. It is the new beginning of the Bond mytho's. In fact, did anyone else notice that the Bond theme didn't play until the end of the film as he introduces himself as &quot Bond, James Bond&quot . The chase scene in the building site is crazy good. The banter between Bond and Vesper Lynn is funny. The next movie starts exactly where this one ends with Mr. White.
AnneW1 More than 1 year ago
My husband and I remember when the first Bond movies came out. We have always thought Sean C was the best Bond, until we saw Casino Royale. Great stunts, real emotional complexity, and definitely the most "physical" Bond for men who like action and women who don't! The second movie was a real disappointment. Terrible script and dialogue. We are hoping Daniel Craig will be given a great script again like Casino Royale and we will definitely give him a third chance. Enjoy this movie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I heard all the negative comments concerning a "blonde Bond". How he [being Daniel Craig] didn't fit the classic Bond mold and all. True on some parts I suppose, however that has been the case since Connery left years before. Seemed no one could fill his shoes. I've never subscribed to the pigeonhole philosophy. Although I was never in love with Roger Moore, I was less so with Timothy Dalton. I did like Pierce Brosnan, but I had heard where they were taking the new Bond and realized Brosnan could not do the film. They were stripping him down to his boxers and starting over. Not since "Dr. No" have we been shown any true sign of mortality, imperfections etc. Warts and all this Bond was just learning to get his swagger on. In short he was human. Unlike all the previous Bonds, we could identify with him or parts of him anyway. The film was refreshing, but still action packed, in fact the foot chase in the first half hour is the best chase scene in recent memory. Gone were the gadgets that made Bond superhuman. He had to rely on his guts as well as his gray matter to get him out of trouble. The swagger returns to the screen in the last scene. "The Bond, James Bond scene". The "Bond theme song also makes it's first entrance in this last scene. Oddly I didn't miss it until I heard it. It was as if they were crowning him as "Bond". in the films final moments. Alas this could mean we will not see this rough and rugged Bond we fell in Love with in Casino Royale. Too bad, because I rank this new film ahead of all Bond films except "Goldfinger" and "You only live twice". Daniel Craig is fantastic as the new Bond. Buy it, you won't be disapointed.
Harry-The-Critic More than 1 year ago
This movie keeps you always on the edge of the seat. You are there with Bond every minute of the movie. For the first time around, James Bond is given a raw-cut look instead of a prim, black tuxedo clad, high gadgetry British secret agent amongst 3-4 girls. The hero has given great weightage to the role and how it was shaped.
iamflemingfan More than 1 year ago
Finally! Someone(Daniel Craig) playing James Bond as he is written in the books. Daniel Craig is the consummate James Bond- 007. And, Judi Dench is the consummate M. To be fair, the other actors didn't have this excellent script & direction. The chemistry between James & Vesper was hot. Re-read the book after seeing the movie. Both are excellent.
This movie has everything a James Bond fan (or any movie-goer wants): action, love, anguish, humor, & sexy, sexy Daniel Craig. Bond has for 55 yrs. been the hero with a dark, cold side. He's an assassin. Not some smarmy, flippant character as he had been portrayed up until now. He takes a lickin' & keeps on tickin'. This is a must-see movie. Please treat yourself as well to Daniel's other movies.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I went into this movie with the thought that this bond would be horrible. I have never been so wrong in my life. Daniel Craig is BY FAR the best bond ever. I hope he sticks around for a while. If I were going to turn gay, it would be for him!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
but I loved loved LOVED this one!!!!! Daniel Craig is the ultimate James Bond!!!! The best Bond I have ever seen and I dare to say ever made. Loved it.
lesiajp More than 1 year ago
Loved this movie! Daniel Craig plays a serious Bond. Love the story line as well. Can't wait for the next one with Daniel Craig.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Did I see the same movie as the rest of the reviewers? The movie I saw was much too long, dragged in several places, and was a big disappointment. The foot chase at the beginning of the movie was laughable. Straight out of a Jackie Chan movie, with acrobatics and silly jumps that no one could make. Yes, Bond films have had silly stunts before, but this is supposed to be the "new" & "serious" Bond. I wanted to like this movie, as I've seen all of the Bond films and liked the idea of "remaking" James. But Craig is simply not James Bond. He doesn't have the famous Bond charisma, and seemed a little wooden at times. I was bored. This was one of those movies where I kept checking my watch to see how much longer until it was over! And then, just when it started to get interesting, it was over! At the end of the movie, I actually felt cheated. I wasted over two hours for this?!? Don't waste your money on this movie. Huge disappointment.
HARRYPOTTER86 More than 1 year ago
This movie is a masterpiece, so I won't talk in sentences. Craig- Best Bond ever Green- Good acting Dench- no one else can be 'M' but her Le Chifre guy- best Bond villain is the past decade Locations- superb Screenplay- Mind-blowing Direction- wow Action- Mouth-opening (there is parkour in the beginning!) Story- mind boggling but awesome My fave Bond film
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love the James Bond series, but with Pierce Brosnan at the helm, was turned off for quite some time. Craig really jump started this series and without all the gadgets and product placements. The non-stop raw action and intense fight and car sequences will keep you on the edge of your seat until the final seconds.