×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Cats
     

Cats

4.6 28
Director: David Mallet

Cast: Elaine Paige, John Mills, Ken Page

 

See All Formats & Editions

With the help of composer Andrew Lloyd Webber, this version of Cats was specially produced for video. With the enhancements of DVD, it's a high-quality, first-class version of this long-running Broadway musical. Presented in 1.78:1 letterboxed widescreen, the quality of this DVD will make viewers sit up and take notice. The color and texture are outstanding,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cats 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This video staging of the musical is excellent. The international cast drawn from various productions is absolutly first rate, an ''All Cats Team''. Sir John Mills' portrayal of Gus the Theatre Cat is quite touching. One slight drawback: fans of Growltiger will find the ''Terror of the Thames'' missing from this production. You'll want to watch this again and again to get all of the details that you'll miss in the first viewing.
marla16 More than 1 year ago
My Mother and I went to the show. Of course that was back in the 90's. I really enjoyed the show. Wouldn't mind having this and watching it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I agree that this is a really wonderful production, I was extremely disappointed to find that they cut Growltiger's Last Stand, which is my favorite scene.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
McGeek More than 1 year ago
Gave as a gift to my 14 year old daughter at her request. She watches it often. Each time she watches, she raves about how much she loves it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding production.
SafyreRose More than 1 year ago
I took my husband recently to see this live. I absolutely fell in love with it. I'm really not sure what took me so long to see it. Though the DVD contains a different cast than the one we have seen the story is the same. The music is superb. If you've seen the play this is like being able to rewind a memory.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was left completely in awe after first witnessing Cats on video. It is absolutely fantastic! The video captures the atmosphere brilliantly- the lighting is wonderful and the special effects used add emotion (particularly in Gus' scene). My favourite cat has to be the superb Mistoffelees (played by the amazing Jacob Brent). He is in my opinion the best dancer in the show,which is a huge compliment considering how talented the entire cast is.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite musical of all time! The re-recorded music, choreography, and international cast are amazing! The way it is filmed is so cool, you can see the actors makeup, costumes and dancing up close! Its fun to watch really closely and find all of the mistakes/bad editing made while filming. You WILL love it, and if you dont, try to be a little more open-minded about things!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
''You've heard of several kinds of cat, And my opinion now is that, You should need no interpreter to understand our character!'' I have seen Cats on stage before, but you cannot fully grasp its excellence until you have seen this! An outrageous cast, an unbelievable orchestra. Pure fun and excitement. See it and you will never be able to froget it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Andrew Lloyd Weber was right on with this. I just wish the movie could have had everything in it. I know some things had to be edited to keep the time down, but wish it hadn't been.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Absolutely amazing! You will never froget this. No matter how many times you have seen it on stage you have never seen it like this. In my opinion the best cast you will ever see! Sir John Mills as Gus the Theater Cat, and Elaine Paige as Grizabella. Along with an 80 piece orchestra that is incredible. It doesn't matter if you have seen it a hundred times or not at all, Andrew Lloyd Webber's hit will take you away like it never will again!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed it but I like almost fell asleep at some parts of this movie. I think the writer should have made the movie more exciting to keep people awake. If you fall asleep easily, don't watch this movie!
nappysunflwr More than 1 year ago
I saw this last night @ NJPAC in Newark. It was a great show, well done and entertaining. I still wish I had seen the original when it was on broadway however, I was very pleased with the show last night. My fav cat would be The Rum Tum Tugger.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's the best ever!!!! you can see the make up which is amazing in the movie and the actors are the best ever!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this movie...seeing all the way they use the make-up and the dances is amazing!
harperbruce More than 1 year ago
Jellicle cats come out tonight Jellicle cats come one, come all The Jellicle moon is shining bright Jellicles come to the Jellicle Ball T. S. Eliot's "Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats" has been beloved by children and adults alike for years. Originally written as a set of comical verses for his godchildren, they were collected into a book and published in 1939. And one of the people charmed by the poems was Andrew Lloyd Weber, who went on to turn the slim volume, along with one additional important fragment not in "Old Possum's" original edition, into the musical "Cats." The performance on this DVD is the closest you will come to an actual performance without being in a theatre. The reason: this *is* an actual stage performance, in effect; no real alterations were made to it to turn it into a "movie-fied" version of the play; no additional backstory was added, as is normally done; etc. The set you see the cats dancing in is the same set that you would see in a West End or Broadway performance of the musical. And at least two of the performers here are veterans of actual stagings of "Cats," including the doyenne of West End musicals, Elaine Paige, as Grizabella, the role she originated. Other great performances include Ken Page as Old Deuteronomy, Jacob Brent as Mister Mistoffelees, John Partridge as the Rum Tum Tugger, and an incredibly moving appearance by Sir John Mills as Gus the Theatre Cat. But these are just my favorites. Overall, you won't find a clunker in any portrayal here. This performance is shorter than a normal stage production, which is why I don't call it perfectly "definitive" above in the star ratings. Notably, the number "Growltiger's Last Stand" was cut, as the production was seen as running long. Other pieces of choreography are trimmed as well, and a few characters' names are changed here and there. Still, this is a fantastic version, and an awful lot cheaper than a pair of tickets to a performance! My daughter and I love to trade off singing the parts as we watch this, and I can think of no higher testimony than that kind of appeal.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is a great movie. the music is so beautiful you will have stuck in your head for ever. It is great and you will love.
mumzilla More than 1 year ago
This was one of my daughter's favorites as a child. I finally updated my VHS copy to a DVD. I was playing it during the weekend and I had several teenagers in the house. They all came in to watch bits and pieces and recalled watching it as children. Each one had a different favorite and we had a lot of fun with our 'memories'.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago