×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Chicago
     

Chicago

4.6 99
Director: Rob Marshall,

Cast: Catherine Zeta-Jones, Renée Zellweger, Richard Gere

 

See All Formats & Editions

A starry-eyed would-be star discovers just how far the notion that "there's no such thing as bad publicity" can go in this screen adaptation of the hit Broadway musical Chicago, originally directed and choreographed by Bob Fosse. In the mid-'20s, Roxie Hart (Renee Zellweger) is a small-time chorus dancer married to a well-meaning dunderhead named Amos (John C.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Chicago 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 98 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was fantastic...Zeta-Jones stole the show, with Rene close behind. The movie flies by, and everyone is so perfectly casted...The singing, dancing, and acting were all impecable..the most enjoyble movie I have ever watched!!Five Stars isn't enough!!
lingling-cat More than 1 year ago
This is a new classic ! It's one of new movies made like the old movies with the staged production numbers and the wonderful costumes ! Those people who love the older classical musicals will love this and to top it off - it stars Richard Gere!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The dancing,singing,acting,and storyline. This is my all time favorite movie. I don't think there's one day of me not singing 'Razzle Dazzle' or 'Roxie'.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Chicago is by far one of the best DVD's out this year! The Musical numbers are stunning and were worked into the movie amazingly. Rob Marshall is a genius for directing this movie. I reccomend you watch it over and over again!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sex, Jazz, Booze, Murder, Richard Gere in his underthings: this movie has it all. I don't usually get into musicals and comparing this film to Moulin Rouge is SHAMEFUL! Chicago's sinful and tawdry undertones blend beautifully with it's fun, vibrant musical style. Renee, who typically has such an innocent presence, captured Roxy Hart's sultry demeanor masterfully. Richard Gere's Golden Globe winning performance as Billy Flynn wowed me. I usually find him to be bland, but he razzle- dazzled me. Catherie Zeta's striking dominace of her role as Velma Kelley was my favorite. The cell block tango made me think they ALL had it coming! I've always liked Catherine's roles, and her background in theater really shone through in this one. Make room for Oscar on your trophy shelf, Catherine! And just as a side note, John C. Reilley singing Mr. Cellophane had to be the most moving scene of any scene in any movie of last year. Yes sir, that windy city blew me over. It's just one of those rare films that you just can't get out of your head! I enjoyed it immensely, I'll see it again, I'll take my friends, and I'm looking for a bootleg copy on DVD. Delectably sinful, YOU BET!! But, it is after all, just an art!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A true classic in cinema. Can't wait until the "Razzle Dazzle" edition is released.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It included everything you could want in an Oscar winning movie- murder, sex, music, and a great performance from Oscar winner Catherine Zeta-Jones. It's all that jazz and more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is, by far, one of the greatest cinematic acheivments of the last 25 years. So incredibly brilliant. Being a fan of Broadway, I was leary of seeing this because Hollywood can sometimes butcher classics. But this was just phenomenal. Without a doubt, the best movie of the year. It's entertaining on so many different levels. I can't wait for August 19th!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A girl, Roxie, wants to be a jazz singer so she goes out with this guy who can get her some conections. The guy lied so Roxie got mad and shot him. She goes to jail and meets Selma Kelly who is a famous jazz singer and is also in jail for murder. Billy is the smooth talking lawyer who has never lost a case even if he has to lie to get the case. ''Mama'' is the singing prison guard. This movie has great music and great acting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS IS THE GREATEST MOVIE IN A LONG TIME. IT IS SO ENTERTAINING.....DANCING AND SINGING IS SUPER. IT DESERVED EVERY AWARD IT WON AND THEN SOME!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! It is my favorite movie EVER. I'll admit, the first time I saw it, I liked the songs, but I thought the plot sucked. But then all week, I had the songs stuck in my head and I had to download the songs online and rent the DVD again. After renting Chicago over 5 times, I bought the Razzle Dazzle Edition. It rocks! I love Catherine Zeta-Jones "that's how I got found out about this movie", but I was surprised by all other fantastic performances. This DVD is awesome! You should buy this version because of all of the Behind the Scenes features. I promise, if you watch it at least twice, you won't be disappointed!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I went to see Chicago with my Friend and her Grandmother a few months ago having never really heard any thing about Chicago before...but i fell in love with the characters instantly... the Cell Block Tango scence and the end scence are the best by far.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Chicago's finally out. If you missed it in the theatre, get it on DVD! It is one of the greatest movies EVER, I promise. Once again, the name on everybody's lips is gonna be Roxie, or Velma, or Mr. Billy Flynn. Go get Chicago, and enjoy it like I have.
Guest More than 1 year ago
totally awesome! the character are wonderful and i love the songs and i think that the 'cell block tango' was one of the best scenes in the whole movie! a family can enjoy this movie, but, about 5 minutes of the movie might not be appropriate for little children. everyone should see this at least once in their life! i reccomend it to everyone and anyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is the most fantastic movie ever! Renee, Catherine and Richard really outdid themselves this time!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow, astonishing, a great movie of the generation
Guest More than 1 year ago
Chicago is a classic! It is a perfect movie for the whole family to enjoy! If you have never seen this movie then get your lazy butt off the couch and drive down to your nerest vidio store now!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this movie is sooooo overrated. this film did NOT i repeat DID NOT! deserve best picture. the movie came out with such a bang that it completely overwhelmed the oscars just like past films have. against its other nominated films for best picture this film comes in 4th. sure i enjoyed it and it was entertaining but i just hate the fact that the oscars were whiped again by this overrrated film. the oscars just had give it all to chicago because of the loss they gave to moulin rouge last year which by the way was better than this movie
Guest More than 1 year ago
No one! Chicago is a masterpiece. I gaurentee if you see it once, you'll just keep watching it over and over again! it's definatley #1 on my Christmas list! the actors did a fantasic job singing, and Catherine Zeta-Jones did fantastic with all the dancing she had to do. it was a real acomplishment! there isn't one moment in the day when i'm not singing 'All that Jazz' or 'Roxie' i drive my friends bonkers!