×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ella Enchanted
     

Ella Enchanted

3.5 65
Director: Tommy O'Haver

Cast: Anne Hathaway, Hugh Dancy, Cary Elwes

 

See All Formats & Editions

Adapted from author Gail Carson Levine's award-winning children's book of the same name, the Miramax-financed modern fantasy Ella Enchanted is directed by Tommy O'Haver and stars The Princess Diaries alumna Anne Hathaway. Ella (Hathaway) lives in a magical world in which each child, at the moment of their birth, is given a virtuous "gift" from a fairy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
goodgirl2 More than 1 year ago
it was actually cute i like Anne Hathaway this was a nice movie i never read the book though
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Now please, don't take me wrong. I love this movie soooooooooooo much, and I love the book just as much too. But, the only thing that disappointed me was that this movie was nothing like the book. EVERYTHING (I mean, literally, EVERYTHING) changed, all except for the fact that most of the characters names and personalities are the same, and that Ella has the gift of obedience. Yes, it's very disappointing, but it has a good plot line as well. Like in the book, Ella recieves the gift of obedience when she is just a few hours old, and through out the movie she tries to fight the curse. When she is in college, her mother dies (in the book, she was only 15) and her father re-marries Dame Olga and her highly annoying daughters, Hattie and Olive. Okay, that's the stuff faithful to the book. Now here's the changed stuff: Obnoxious Hattie soon discovers that Ella will do everything she is told to do, so she "commands" Ella to steal a pair of glass slippers at the new mall. When Ella reluctanly does and gets caught by the guards, her stepmother is outraged and demands to know who told her to do this. Hattie makes her say that Areida (Ella's best friend) told her to steal, and who Olga finds out... yikes!! She orders Ella to stop being friends with Areida!!!! Tearfully, Ella decides once and for all to find Lucinda and to get her to take back the dreadful gift. This story was very suspenseful, adventurous, and surprising, and it's one of my favorite movies. But I seriously would have given this movie a 5 star rating if it was more faithful to the book. I mean, the book was so good and it was an instant classic! Why change it for crying out loud? But don't get me wrong, everything about the movie (other than that little fact that it's not true to the book) is wonderful: I love the acting in it. Anne Hathaway ("Ella") is extremely good in her role, and I love her solo "Somebody To Love". Hugh Dancy ("Prince Charmont") is also very good and he looks just the way I pictured the prince did in the book. He also had the same personality too (dashing, kind, slightly serious, etc.). Now Lucy Punch ("Hattie") and Jennifer Higham ("Olive") did an excellent job playing the dim-witted and annoying stepsisters. And I also thought Cary Elwes, Aidan McArdle, Joanna Lumley, Steve Coogan, and Vivica A. Fox did a great job as well!! :-) I just hope 10 years from now they make a re-make that is more faithful to the original work by Gail Carson Levine. She must have felt terrible to have the book she worked so hard on to be changed so drastically!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I hate this movie! The plot was weak compared to the book, and the storyline has completely changed. If they relese this film, it should NOT be under the name Ella Enchanted. I don't reccomend this, especially if you have not read the book-you will think that the book is pathetic too!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i really enjoyed this movie, when i saw it i was like omg its awsome, i haven't read the book, but the movie was awsome, we musn't get carried away with "IT was nothing like the book". For Movies based on books i tend to look at them as if they were seperate stories rather than the same. Then you should have no problem enjoying it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this movie. Anne Hathaway is a great actress and Hugh Dancy is a great actor. Anne Hathaway can also SING! (really good) You should totally see the movie, it is great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was a well preformed movie in which all of the scenes complimented each other beautifully. I was caught in suspense!
mslewis305 More than 1 year ago
The movie was very entertaining. It was a funny movie, with a "fairy tale" ending.. I recommend the movie if you're into funny movies with plots that show that even in bad situations, good still prevails.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read the book and for years wanted it to be a movie when it finally did become a movie i was excited. The first time i saw it i was very pleased that even though it didn't follow the book at all barely but the plot was so good and different that it didn't matter.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When a movie is made about a book, the script writers generally try to keep to the original story. This was not the case for this movie. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carsen Levine is an incredible story that everyone, well girls at least, would love. This movie version, however, does not do it justice. For example, Mandy is supposed to be fat, old, and good at magic. She isn't in the movie. The movie portrays Ella's father to be a kind hearted man when in the book, he could really care less about his daughter. In the movie, Ella has known Arieda for many years when in the book she meets her while at boarding school which is never even addressed in the book. There is no evil uncle plotting to take over the throne, there is no Prince Charmont fan club, Char isn't a meanie like he is in the movie, Ella's magic book doesn't talk to her, and NEVER NEVER NEVER is Ella asked to try to kill Char. The movie plot is twisted and turned so many times that the only thing that the script writers had correct was the fact that Ella is forced to obey commands because of the spell that Lucinda put on her, and the fact that Hattie and Olive are evil, and the fact that Olive isn't very bright. Other than that, the movie and the book are not at all similar. This movie doesn't deserve the title Ella Enchanted.
Guest More than 1 year ago
c this movie now whoever said that this is yuck is CRAZY
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was such a major disappointment. Ella Enchanted was such a fantastic book by Gail Carson Levine, and this movie showed nothing but arrogance. The book is tasteful, bewitching, romantic, humourous, and just plain all-around enjoyable. The movie, however was nothing like the book. I would compare and contrast, but I feel I need some sleep this week. The only things similar was the title (which just brings shame to the book) and the fact that Ella is cursed. However, I think kids aged 5-11 would enjoy this. Anne Hathaway does fantastic with what role is left of Ella and the song and dance numbers are sure to get kids moving. But, please, if you must watch this movie, watch it, but don't let it shape your opinion on the book. If you want something your children can enjoy, Ella Enchanted, the book, is so much more enchanting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I HATE THIS MOVIE! It was so LAME! I wait for a year for my favorite book to become a movie and then I'm at the theatre. The movie begins. And then I want to tear the screen apart at the end. So I went home and made a list. The differences between the book and the movie. You want to know how many differences there were (and only the ones I could find)? THERE WERE 106 DIFFERENCES!!!! I HATE THIS MOVIE! NONE of the casting was right, the script was UNWORTHY compared to the novel, I DIDN'T fall in love with Char the way I did when I read the book, Char was the BIGGEST JERK in the movie and yet still Ella DOESN'T see his stupidity, I HATED the political statement it was making, I HATE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS STUPID MOVIE! Read the book. Ditch the movie
Guest More than 1 year ago
a book is a book. a movie is a movie. the movie is only BASED on the book. had you not read the book, i am sure you would have loved the movie. SEPERATE the two. sit back and enjoy. very seldom do the movies match the book. sometimes it stinks, sometimes better. but just because it does not duplicate the other does not men it was bad. open your mind, expand horizons. i loved both.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Omg!! I literally just finished watching this movie and I love it!! It is a lot different from the book but I love all of the music and Char!!! Both the movie and book are awsome!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great family movie for me and my family to watch. It's not like those other violent movies, and inapropriate. But even my 4 year old sister loved it! I would definetly recomend this movie to any famiy that has kids! ;-) If I had to give an age group for the movie it would probably be 4 and up. Even for children younger than 4 would still love it. ~
Guest More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with the book that Gail Carson Levine created. When I saw this movie a watched on in horror as one of my favorite books was blatenly butchered. If they had changed the movie title and the charecters names you would never have been able to tell they based it off of the Ella Enchanted book. The casting was horrendous and you didnt grow close to the charecters like in the book. The plot was just wierd and I just wanted to spit on the screen when the plot was twisted into Ella being told to kill Char. I also thought I was going to fall down on the ground in a fit of laughter when they began singing! All I want to say is dont waist your time with this movie, read the book instead. The acting in terrible and the plot is even worse, so just step away from this movie and run for the book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought 'Ella Enchanted' was a wonderful book just the way it was. I do NOT know why the movie production decided that the plot almost totally had to be altered. And all this singing and dancing and hope-you-laugh-comedy? I don't think so. I felt as I was watching this that the movie whished it could be like Shrek. The good aspects of the movie was that all most all the charcters were well cast, especially Char, Dame Olga, Hattie, and Olive. I also thought the chemsitry between Anne Hathaway (Ella) and Hugh Dancy (Char) was there. It was a cute movie for little kids, but a dissapiontment for fans of the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love Anne Hathaway. She's a great actress! Only 1 problem: this movie rivals Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, The Wizard of Oz, and Hamlet. Also, I HATED the stepfamily, especially Hattie. How could she make Ella give up her late mom's necklace, steal glass slippers, and dump her best friend?! It's so mean! ARGH! Even so, the movie was good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this movie was great. i read the book and it is completly different but i really liked it. it has great actors in it and i recommend this movie to everyone
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely hated this movie! I was so excited when i heard it was coming to theatres because I had read the book and absolutely adored it (note to everyone reading this: READ THE BOOK! You won't regret it). I was so mad when i saw the movie because it was a cheesy script. It was NOTHING like the book. So what do they decide to add to the movie thinking it will be BETTER than what they already did? They made Anne Hathaway SING and DANCE!! WTF? She's a good singer and all, but did you really have to add singing into the mix of your already cheesy "new and improved" script? Why couldn't they just make the movie according to the book? I garuntee that that movie would have been #1 in the box office if they had just went along with the book. And plus, why would anyone in the right mind want to change the romance between Ella and Char?! Especially at the end, where...well just read the book. You're probably wondering why I gave this atrocious movie four stars...it's only because Hugh Dancy is incredibly hot and fit the picture and personality of Prince Char. I agree with alot of the reviewers, the only thing that the movie and the book have in common is that Char is a still a prince, Ella is cursed, and there are still the same characters. So this movie w/out Hugh, you can't even rate it. I advise anyone who read at least this far, to READ THE BOOK!!! PLEASE!! You will fall in love with it. All of my friends loved the book and were so disapointed when we saw the movie. so please, if you want to see the movie, see it. but read the book!!!!!