×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gladiator
     

Gladiator

4.7 188
Director: Ridley Scott,

Cast: Ridley Scott, Russell Crowe, Joaquin Phoenix, Connie Nielsen

 

See All Formats & Editions

A man robbed of his name and his dignity strives to win them back, and gain the freedom of his people, in this epic historical drama from director Ridley Scott. In the year 180, the death of emperor Marcus Aurelius (Richard Harris) throws the Roman Empire into chaos. Maximus (Russell Crowe) is one of the Roman army's most capable and trusted generals and a key advisor

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gladiator 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 182 reviews.
kenKV More than 1 year ago
The movie is good.  I give five stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
joet37382013 More than 1 year ago
Best Russell Crowe Action Movie Ever
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Never saw this all the way expect here and there. Finally saw the whole thing. Acting was at times over the top but still good. Setting and soundtrack was also good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The movie was incredible! I couldn't leave my seat without being shocked with the whole thing. The performance of the cast was amazing, especially the facial expressions. I couldn't sleep the night I watch it. This is a movie you shouldn't miss!
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of, if not the best films i have seen in a long time. Russell Crowe is such a versitile actor. The cinematography in this film is beautiful. Along with the strong story and cast, makes this film is must buy. If you havent seen it , just buy it !, its worth every pennie
Guest More than 1 year ago
Now that I have bought this movie on DVD and watched it several times, I have come to one conclusion:this is one of the gratest movies ever made.It was well-acted,had a great combination of action,drama,and romance, and the story was great. This movie was very gory,so it may turn off viewers with weak stomachs. Even so,Joaquin Phoenix and Russel Crowe are excellent together in this movie and I strongly recommend it. I just wish that I could see it in the theaters again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I actually found myself insulted while watching this. The theme of spectacle recurs throughout the film, particularly being guilty of enjoying an evil spectacle. But, of course, the big excitement from the movie comes from the fights that the story shows us are morally reprehensible--but that's what we wtach the movie for! It is as if Ridley Scott is laughing at you the whole time saying, ''You are no better than those barbarians.'' It's insulting. And the arena effects look fake.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just watched this wonderful tale of true dignity, honor, and most of all, courage, and i have but one regret. I only wish that I had watched it sooner! Russel Crowe is simpy remarkable in this film and has caught my eye for future films. Although gore and violence is extreme, that was another excellent addition to this movie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Gladiator- The movie follows through with all that is sets itself up with. it is perfectly coreographed and not to much overdone. The casting is impecable. This movie really got down into the nitty gritty of the beautiful Roman Colloseum, and the gladiators who fought in t. ***** (5 stars for gladiator)
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you own a home theater, you must have this double DVD set! An exceptionally fine DVD transfer and many extra features make Gladiator a spectacle that you can enjoy in your home over and over again. And what a spectacle to behold! As a film, Gladiator is outstanding in every respect. Period pieces have always been extremely difficult for directors to film because it is such a challenge to create a period piece that is convincing enough to immerse the audience in that time period. However, hats off to Ridley Scott, who is obviously a genius at directing this kind of film. His directorial talent shines through by masterfully crafting a film that catapults us into the Roman Empire in all of its splendor, glory, and political corruption - on the grandest scale imaginable. For the entire length of the movie we actually LIVE in the Roman Empire and experience the entire spectrum of emotions that go along with living life in that time. It't like taking a ride back in a time machine. But the greatness of the film itself is not the only reason you should buy this DVD. What really makes Gladiator a ''must have'' are all of the extra features. The second DVD is chocked full of amazing extras. Several major scene cuts with Ridley Scott's comments about why the scene was cut presents the viewer with over 10 minutes of amazing extra footage of this fabulous film! Also, ''The Making of Gladiator'' helps us to understand the immensity of the task of crafting this epic movie. The sets, costumes, and grandeur of the whole thing was so awesome that it completely overwhelmed the actors themselves! Finally, ''Gladiator Games: A Roman Blood Sport,'' helps us to realize the raw intensity and finality of man-to-man gladiatorial combat in the Roman Empire. This best explains the popular saying, ''no points for second place.'' I guarantee you, for the small price you pay, this DVD will bring you, your family, and your friends hours and hours of enjoyment! You won't be sorry you bought this DVD!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the movie but disliked the inaccurate history. Commodus lasted as emperor for about 12 years. And the religion Maximus practiced in the movie was an eastern religion and not part of the Roman world. Seems Hollywood is always trying to add eastern religious ideas into their movies.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Of all the movies for year 2000-this one is the best and on DVD is awesome! Good story, action just like Ben-Hur! I hope it gets a few well deserved Oscars!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is said that honour once lost can't be regained but the heroe of this historic movie proves it wrong. The way he fights for his lost honour is incedable.The difficulties he faced are heartaching but the end is satisfactry because he succeeds in his mission.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My wife went into this movie expecting very little - just blood & gore. But the movie has an excellent plot with great action. One of those rare occassions when we both walk out happy!!!