×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How to Train Your Dragon
     

How to Train Your Dragon

4.8 37
Director: Dean DeBlois, Chris Sanders

Cast: Jay Baruchel, Gerard Butler

 

See All Formats & Editions

The son of a Viking chief must capture a dragon in order to mark his passage into manhood and prove his worthiness to the tribe in directors Chris Sanders and Dean DeBlois' adaptation of Cressida Cowell's popular children's book. Gerard Butler,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How to Train Your Dragon 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
peppered_piper More than 1 year ago
Dreamworks has completely outdone themselves! One of the most heartwarming and exciting films of the otherwise pretty stale year. A delightful surprise... The soundtrack is great too - love the Viking-inspired music. Perfect for all ages...
MissBabblingBook More than 1 year ago
This is the best animated film I've ever seen. I have not one negative comment; everything about it was perfect. Toothless might just be my favorite character of all time. =) I recommend for one and all!
KingsDaughter7 More than 1 year ago
Short version of this review: the only bad thing I have to say about this movie? That I never got to see it in 3D. Other tidbit before I begin: Is it worth the extra 5 or so dollars to get the extra disk with the Bone-Napper short and other special features? I did and even though I could have easily lived without it, I'm glad I have it. I mainly got it for the special features but the short it pretty cute too. On to the review. Like I said first, I love this movie. If I had to sum it up, the 3 main reasons I love it so much are: the cast, the animation, and the characters of Hiccup and Toothless. Cast: Jay Baruchel has one of the most interesting and unique voices I've heard, along with a certain beat and rhythm that's all his own. That alone gives Hiccup a lovable odd quirkiness and uniqueness. Hearing both Gerald Butler and Craig Ferguson in their native Scot accent is enough to make me happy. Both have some great moments with Hiccup that range from comic to sad and heartfelt. America Ferrera is strong but she doesn't over-do the "tough" thing and she knows how to handle all the different emotions. And the rest of the teenage misfits are just way too much fun to hear all in the same place. Animation: Beautiful. There's no other way to say it. Again, this is where I morn never having seen it in 3D. Hiccup and Toothless: Usually, the zero to hero character is so overdone that while I often end up liking the story, the main character themself is almost never my favourite character. They are always the same and it gets a bit old. Hiccup is a rare exception. Yes, this is a kind of zero to hero story (or, how to become a hero the hard way as the book puts it) but Hiccup is rare in that everything he does isn't really in TRYING to become a hero. He never changes who he is, and he doesn't intend too. He will try to "be one of them" for his father's sake but he's still going to do it HIS way. But if I'm honest, it was Toothless who really stole my heart. Most of the credit for this is due to how he's animated. He doesn't talk so it's all down to expression, body language, and sound effects. And somehow that made him into my absolute favourite character in the film.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How to Train Your Dragon is a movie that can entertain any kind of viewer. I rate this a five out of five stars. It is a an action packed movie that can be watched by the WHOLE family. This movie is completely aniated with human voices. It is a movie about barbarians that kill dragons. the lead barbarian has a son ,hickup, who is whimpy and very intellignt. Unlike all the other barbarians who are very muscular. I recommend this movie to all different kinds of vierwers.You are sure to like it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bookhag More than 1 year ago
I love this movie! its great for all ages!! The soundtrack it so good!
MelanieMMC More than 1 year ago
AMAZING!!
Flyboy-1 More than 1 year ago
This is a must for children. Don't miss out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jrb124 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVE dragons. So I thought this might be a good movie. I was wrong. It was a great movie! It was the best animated movie I had ever seen! I'm so glad that I bought this movie! I highly recommend this movie to everyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago