×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Into the Woods
     

Into the Woods

4.9 28
Director: James Lapine

Cast: Bernadette Peters, Chip Zien, Joanna Gleason

 

See All Formats & Editions

Originally broadcast as part of the American Playhouse series on PBS, this video captures a performance by the original cast of the popular Broadway musical. With songs and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim and a book by James Lapine, who also directed the stage production, Into the Woods

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Into the Woods 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In my english class my teacer is a professional actor (chris eriksen). in class we watched this Into The Woods. we liked it very much. I recomend this movie to EVERYONE!!!!!! - S.S. 5th grade PCDS
D_MacGowan More than 1 year ago
My favorite Sondheim musical. It's just a classic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the most entertaining and enjoyable musicals I have ever had the pleausure of watching. The cast is supurb and the music is delightful. I especially enjoy Little Red Ridinghood. Her blend of sarcasm and emotion is wonderful. They deserve every Tony they got and more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first saw this musical as a high school production, and was a bit skeptical about how so many fairy tales could be tied into one plot. It was awsome and we saw this musical later one one of our days off in choir class (I am still in high school).
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is so terrific to find this Broadway show on DVD! I especially adore the performance of Joy Franz as Cinderella's stepmother - what a phenomenal actress she is, and what a riveting show!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this was, like my friend Alex who showed it to me ''one of the best musical broadway priformances i have ever had the pleaser of seeing!'' just think about it, when would you have thought that Cinderella, little red riding hood and Jack would have met? never. this play lets your mind run free, i personally give this movie 2 thumbs up, and i can't wait to watch it again!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm not a big fan of musicals in general, but I absolutely fell in love with this one when I watched it in a drama class. The acting is amazing, the music is phenomenal, and the script is top-rate. I go around singing it constantly. A unique storyline catches your attention right from the start, and varying twists throughout it will hold you there. Trust me, you'll love it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
How many times do you get to see a witch rap? If you havent you must not have seen it. A must see family video. If your sad this will cheer you up.............from the prologue to the last word of Act 2 you will be amazed.The jokes are hilarious and the feelings come out so strongly and quickly from the actors and actresses. Once again a must see.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A few years ago I was cast in this musical.. not only was it a brilliant and close knit show to perform but this movie has shown that wonderfully... Alot better then most Movie versions of broadway classics... TWO THUMBS UP!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the first act in one of my acting classes, and I totally fell in love with it. Joanna Gleason it amazing in the play. This is by far my favorite musical!
Reader4LifeTN More than 1 year ago
Every good for kids between the ages of 10-14. Puts all the favorite tales together!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Into the Woods is the best play ever! Wicked used to be my favorite but, Into the Woods is sooooo much better!
Broadwayfan More than 1 year ago
Every Charicter Is Wonderful! My Favorites would have to be Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, The Bakers Wife, And Of Corse The Witch. All the songs go bye soooooooo fast (Agony 1&2 Would have to be my least favorites) But its still the BEST movie i've EVER seen. "I Wish" they would do a Revival of Into The Woods. I Would See It.:)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Enchanting and Enlightening!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This broadway movie has made musicals come to life. It's a movie that the whole family can sit down, grab some popcorn, and watch. It has you in tears one minute and in laughter the other. I recomend the book highly!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This show is a masterpiece. Bernadette Peters shines like a true star. I guarantee that all will like this funny Sondheim production. Every true musical fan should not be without it for it has the catchiest tunes I have ever heard.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first saw this when it was televised on BBC1 in the 80's. Have since bought my own copy and have got to reccommend it to EVERYONE....young and old! Joanna Gleason as the bakers wife, and Bernadette Peters as the witch absolutely steal the show. Chip Zien as The baker and Little red riding hood are very close contenders also. Hilarious and incredibly touching in such a clever way...it will have you laughing your socks off one second and fighting back tears the next! Catchy tunes that you just can't stop singing. This amazing musical is jam packed with a multitude of fairytale characters. It is pure genius! If you are a musical lover it will never leave you once you've seen it! Guarenteed!! My all time favourite musical
Guest More than 1 year ago
what an outstanding porformance! i have never been into watching broadway untill this. this is a movie that the whole family can enjoy! you realy get into what is happining. i reccomend this to anyone who likes fairtails, broadway, or just a great movie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
While working on a student production of this show as the Technical Designer, I discovered the joy of theatre. When the show was over each night, I could think of nothing better than to start it again. This is easily the best musical that I have had the pleasure of working on, and the best Storyline that I have ever seen.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this movie!i first saw it in my 7th grade communications class. my teacher was in charge of the drama department at my school.when she popped the dvd in, i just didnt want class to end for a change. that was the first time i acually looked foward to goin to tht class.OMG Bernadette Peters was fantastic.she has a great voice.I also have the sountrack of Gypsy where she is the star.the plot was genius.i cant wait til i see it again.(im still in middle school)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw this many years ago and have been looking for it on and off ever since. I stumble across it here and ordered it right away. It is definitely one of the best musicals ever made and is great for the whole family to enjoy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really liked this title. Most musicals that are made into movies are awful, but this was an exception. I really enjoyed it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago