×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Luther
     

Luther

3.7 9
Director: Eric Till

Cast: Joseph Fiennes, Alfred Molina, Claire Cox

 

See All Formats & Editions

The life of one of the controversial figures in the history of modern religion is brought to the screen in this historical biography. Born in 1483, Martin Luther (Joseph Fiennes) was an intelligent and principled young man who was studying law in early 16th century Germany when a close brush with death led him to follow a spiritual path and join a Catholic monastery.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Luther 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wwill3 More than 1 year ago
A person who writes so harshly on this movie obviously did not comprehend it or is too prejudice to understand it. Being a Lutheran and having a Catholic husband, this movie was an inspiration for both of us.
Vita7 More than 1 year ago
It was helpful for Luther to note that the understanding of God's will is incorrect when seen as will-power (tyrany), but instead he says the original Greek text better translates as God's passion or interest.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just finished viewing this film after passing it several times in the store... What a stirring piece of film-making! If you appreciate not only cinematic brilliance but finer aspects of character acting, you will thoroughly enjoy this film. More than an exploration of the religious dimensions of the 16th century split between Catholic and Protestant doctrine, this film highlights the social and political elements that made Luther's life so important in shaping our modern world. Secular-oriented viewers should not be put-off by the fact that this film portrays a religious figure of heroic proportions. Joseph Feinnes's Luther is full dimensional and engaging on many levels, whether in his expression of Luther's spiritual torments or his powerful intellectual reasoning. If you have seen Paul Scofield's portrayal of another man of deep conviction, Sir Thomas More, in A Man for All Seasons, you cannot help but be captivated by the similarities in subtlety and intensity that Fiennes brings to his performance in this film. Sir Peter Ustinov almost steals the film in his supporting role as Frederick the Wise, and Alfred Molina is a quintessential 'dark man' as the Pope's chief fund-raiser. However, viewers will also find strong supporting performances from the rest of this talented cast. I went on line after viewing this film to see what critics had to say when it was in theatrical release and was not surprised to see widely disparate ratings. However, if you can keep an open mind and judge this film without fear of the religious conflict which is an inherent part of the subject, you may be surprised as I was that such a gem is available for home viewing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good movie about Luther. I suggested that anyone should watch that movie make them to understand about the bible is very important.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was raised Roman Catholic, but through personal study of the Bible found some descrepencies (I am not sure if I spelled that correctly!). Martin Luther was no biggot, and the Catholic church now admits that and has accepted most of his reformations. He was a genius, and a true believer at a time when the church was all money and politics. Anyone who can call protestants evil needs to re-examine his own self, after all the Bible says "Do not judge, for the measure by which you judge others shall be measured against you." Besides, I consider my self to be more catholic as a Lutheran than I ever did as a catholic, seeing how Luther pretty much didn't change anything that wasnt political in nature or forbade in the Bible. Besides my rebuttle to who ever posted the last review, I thought the film was great, only it could have done a better job highlighting Luther's sense of humor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Despite its production by a branch of the Lutheran church, 'Luther' the movie has only passing basis in Luther the man. We see the scandal of selling indulgences, which Luther rightly opposed. And we're told that many in the Church hierarchy agreed with Luther that the sales must be ended. The movie shows one of the first big results of Luther's new doctrines: the deaths of from 50,000 to 100,000 peasants (the numbers used in the film) who took Luther literally, read their Bibles as he advised, revolted, and were suppressed by the princes, including the Protestant ones, with the support of Luther. The movie doesn't show Luther's support of the suppression, nor that he wasn't about to go against the Protestant princes who had supported him. We see Philip of Hesse, but not Luther allowing Philip's bigamy because Luther again didn't want to oppose a political patron. We also don't see the German princes looting and burning the monasteries as would Henry VIII in England, acts of supreme vandalism and barbarism. The movie only hints at the real problems Rome had with Luther over the Mass, which he shelved, and their interpretations of original sin. The film also breaks off before Luther's bitter old age, especially his descent into extreme anti-Semitism and scatological attacks on the Catholic Church and the Pope, some of which is translated in the Marius biography. Finally, in 1517, almost everybody in Europe was Christian; today, less than 10% are. I doubt Luther quite expected things to turn out this way.
Guest More than 1 year ago
LUTHER: the movie. based on the prod reformation. I saw this and I have some gripes on it. 1. it was way to anti-catholic 2. it blew a lot of stuff out of proportion 3.destroying statues of the V. Mary is not cool 4. destroying churches is not cool 5. was it really necessary to kill 500,000 or so catholics? 6. Martin Luther was a nut job(not a gripe but truth) things that were good 1.it showed the true evil of the prod faith. 2. indulgences were a dumb idea I'll give you that over all as a catholic I found this movie pretty pointless it was like the reformation itself it was pointless and insulting. I think if you want to see a truly one sided movie that bashes catholics see this movie if you are that narrow minded. If you are Catholic and want to see how bad we were treated see this movie otherwise I don't recommend this to anyone!