×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Menace II Society
  • Alternative view 1 of Menace II Society
  • Alternative view 2 of Menace II Society
     

Menace II Society

4.7 10
Director: Albert Hughes, Allen Hughes

Cast: Tyrin Turner, Jada Pinkett Smith

 

See All Formats & Editions

This debut offering from twin brothers Albert and Allen Hughes was one of the most critically-acclaimed urban crime films to appear in the wake of John Singleton's influential Boyz N the Hood. Set in the Watts neighborhood of Los Angeles, the film is narrated by 18-year-old Caine (Tyrin Turner), a drug dealer and car thief who lives with his religious

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Menace II Society 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great story line compells you to watch. My favorite character was kane he was the perfect person to play the part. The way the movie started grabbed you and pulled you in espcially if you could relate to the neighborhood, it made you care for the character and the ending really put it all together. the sound track was pretty good also with the latest artist biggest songs. Overall it was a great movie. This is a great movie that everyone should see this review can teach you alot about life. you can check my review out on bn
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of those rare films that dipicts the harsh realities of ''anyone' growing up in a poverty stricken neighborhood (forget the actual ''black'' environment)...and maintains it's truthfulness. Everyone can relate on some level, regardless of race. Where as , most ''hood'' films glorify violence and amplify thug mentalities to the point that the charactors seem like barbaric people without brains.But , this movie allows the viewer to see each charactor from the inside out. Not just the outside ''veneer''. Example, we see the vulnerable and violent side of oakdog.We are also granted permission to see why Cane grew up to make the decisions he did , as he got older. The same for Shariff..his father was a stern yet accepting teacher/father. He accepted the fact that Shariff was a muslim and that ''if Allah can make him a better man than Jesus can..I'm all for it''. There's really no bad scenes in the entire picture and every violent scene is justified, as it adds to the depth of the storyline. Lead off by a ensemble of actors such as Sam Jackson , Jada Pinkett ( before Will),Bill Duke( excellent cameo appearance),Tyrin Turner,Lorenze Tate,Charles S. Dutton , and Glenn Plummer..and with a script that is so hypnotizing that you automatically memorize every line....Menace 11 Society is as close as you can get to the essence of human choices, reactions, and consequences as a film can ever get. That is precisely why this is one of my favorite films and I highly recommend you see it. Beware though, it does have very explicit scenes and isn't for the younger viewer or by anyone who misconstews the films violence , as cool.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't think it beats 'Boyz N The Hood', but 'Menace II Society' is one of those films that you can't hate. The characters are memorable, like O-Dog(my favorite character), Caine, and Ronnie(an always beautiful Jada Pinkett Smith). The film is moving and the amazing finale is one of the greatest scenes in film. Caine and O-Dog aren't people to like, but in the end you like them both to some extent. O-Dog is very charming and has a great smile in every scene he's in. Caine is a lil less emotional until the jail scene, which really shows that he's lost himself in the crime world. Jada is the only likeable character that you enjoy when you first meet her. The message is 'what goes around comes around' and that if you treat people badly, bad things come back for you. Caine tries to change but by that time it's too late. Some people complain about O-Dog(the more violent of the two) surviving and Caine dying, but the bad guy doesn't always die. Sometimes it is the person with emotion and feeling that dies. The supporting cast is amazing, and every scene is very realistic. 'Boyz N The Hood' was amazing and a better film than this, but 'Menace II Society' is still an amazing piece of work. See this for your own good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is a movie that all young black men and white people should see. It shows you how young blacks mostly in rough California hoods live. Some still live the gangbanging and drugselling lifestyles and they should watch so that they can change their lifestyle in the future since most black men dont get to see 25.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS FILM DEPICTS WHATS WRONG WITH OUR CITIES. THE POVERTY, THE WEAPONS AVAILIBILITY AND THE I DON'T GIVE A $%^& MENTALITY OF GOVERNMENT CAUSES WHAT WE SEE IN THE FILM. THE CHARACTER O-DOG IS A PERFECT EXAMPLE OF THE PENALTY AMERICA IS PAYING FOR IGNORING ITS YOUTH, ESPECIALLY THE BLACK INNER CITY YOUTH. I HOPE OUR YOUNG SEE THIS FILM AND REVERSE THEIR ATTITUDE TOWARDS EACH OTHER. WITH ALLAH'S BLESSING THIS WILL HAPPEN. PEACE!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i was 12 years old when menace II society first came out. I really didnt understand. Once i grew older and watched the flim i relized it was an everday thing happening. i felled in love with the movie about the age of 16 and no lie i watch that movie axp. 4 times a week. its a real ghetto flim that kept it real all the others that came after or before cant mess with it. im not trying to talk bad about other flims but thats the best i wouldnt lie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I fully recommend this movie to everyone. This movie is about a gangster lifestyle and how one becomes a criminal out of desperate conditions. Caine's grandfather raises the question of ''Do you care whether you live or die?'' It's easy to see that, ''you never know what or when, but in the end it all catches up with you.'' Do what you have to do, but just watch your back!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm 14 and I love this movie!I think that Cain is one of the best characters of all time when it comes to black movies.This movie is one of the best movies i have ever seen.My favorite scene is when Cain has that guy held up in the drive thru.The fact that he graduted high school in the hood and in the end he was killed any ways is mind blowing.I definatly recommend this movie to people who are older then 13!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Man, when I saw this film and how it can catch your heart and emotions so easily it made me realise how weak other films are. Menace II Society is an amzing tale of life in the ghetto and how it can affect you. Tupac was originaly meant to be in this movie and it's a real shame that he wasn't.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago