×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Moonlight - The Complete Series
  • Alternative view 1 of Moonlight - The Complete Series
  • Alternative view 2 of Moonlight - The Complete Series
     

Moonlight - The Complete Series

4.8 119

Cast: Alex O'Loughlin, Jason Dohring

 
Any private eye knows a lot about other people's secrets. L.A. private eye Mick St. John (Alex O'Laughlin) has a secret of his own. He's a vampire, dwelling in a covert netherworld complicated by friendship with an undead finance honcho (Jason Dohring of Veronica Mars); memories of his alluring ex-wife (Shannyn Sossamon), who turned him into a vampire; and a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Moonlight - The Complete Series 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 118 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't understand why this show was cancelled after only one season!
Good acting from cast, excellent interaction between the lead actors.
Good Story lines.
Lady_K More than 1 year ago
Moonlight was the 2007 People's Choice Award-winning Best New TV Drama, and yet, an incredibly clueless set of network executives STILL canceled it.

A fantastic modern take on the vampire legend, Moonlight focuses on vampire PI Mick St. John (Alex O'Loughlin) and human internet reporter (turned civilian investigator for the DA's office) Beth Turner (Sophia Myles). In the pilot episode, Mick and Beth are reacquainted when they both investigate a disappearance/murder. Slowly, it is revealed how Mick and Beth know one another and how Mick became a vampire. As the series unfolds, Mick and Beth's relationship grows deeper and closer, leading up to the breathtaking last episode which, sadly, became the series finale. The series also starred Jason Dohring as Josef Konstan, a multi-hundred year old vampire who is Mick's best friend, confidant, and instigator, and Shannon Sossaman as Coraline, Mick's venegful ex-wife and sire.

The show is rich in action, human drama, and more than healthy dose of on-screen sexual and personal chemistry among the leads, especially Alex O'Loughlin and Sophia Myles. A must-see for anyone who ever enjoyed Kindred: the Embraced, Forever Knight, or Blood Ties. It is just too bad the show was canceled before its time!
AletheaJoy More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this series. I am so sorry it didn't make the ratings to keep it on air. I tuned in every Friday and this show fed me my vampire craving every time.

I couldn't find it in the product recommendations but if you liked Moonlight you will like Kindred: The Embraced.

Now, I need another series to obsess about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I immediately fell hook, line and sinker for this great story when I saw this show originally on air. Moonlight had one of the most engaging and freshly talented casts on TV. The acting range shown in it's lead character Mick St. John, charismatically played by Alex O'Loughlin, showed more emotion and empathy in each one hour episode than any lead actor in movies today. The entire supporting cast no matter how small was perfectly chosen and acted. The set design is visually stunning. The original music by Trevor Morris is hauntingly beautiful along with many great songs chosen to move the story along. I am still saddened that CBS cancelled this show because Trevor Munson and all of the writers created not only Mick St John but a cast of characters that had so many stories yet to tell. This DVD brings all of this visual storybook back to life in one sitting. Experience again or for the first time one of the best love stories we've seen in a long time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing series, that had the prospect of being a great show. Moonlight is full of drama that will keep you coming back for more. If you have ever watched Angel, Buffy, True Blood, Blood Ties, or any other vampire show, this will get you addicted. A must see series for any vampire lover.
mar316 More than 1 year ago
Voted People's Choice Awards Best New Drama in 2008. Meet Mick St. John, angsty, brooding vampire who has a soft spot for the mortal ones, devoting his life to fighting crime and making up for the monster he is. Great chemistry between the characters, visually exciting action scenes, great music, dry humor, romance and a very sexy and sweet vampire whom you can't help but love. Highly recommend the show, and the DVD would be great for multiple viewings.
roseted More than 1 year ago
I was a fan of this show when it first came on back in 2007 and thought CBS was crazy in not renewing it for a second season. I am just glad that Warner Brothers had the sense to release the shows that they did produce and I now can have it for my home collection.

If you love vampire shows, you will definitely love this one. Alex O'Loughlin portrays Mick St. John with passion and compassion and you cannot help but love this guy. The rest of the cast is great and they work well together.

Hoping to see Alex O'Loughlin in another series just as good as this one.
djdragon More than 1 year ago
This show should have never been canceled. The stories are exciting and the chemistry between the characters is outstanding. If you like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel, then you'll definitely like Moonlight.
vampfan More than 1 year ago
I loved watching the show when it came out on CBS. It's clasic, vampire in love with human, and wants to be human in return. It's very touching. Now I just found out that they are going to be reairing the first season on SCI-FI on Fridays at 8pm. I can't wait to buy the season. Hopefully SCI-FI will see how popular the show is and then they might pick it up for a second season.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it and all the actors were perfect in their roles. Please bring it back, CBS, or keep the word "stupid" associated with your station forever !!!!!!
Wrightless_Smalls More than 1 year ago
Wow...moonlight fans. After this nearly year long wait...it's finally here! To think that they were considering not releasing a DVD? Horrifying. But now, it's really here, in stock! Wow. I can't wait 'till my copy comes in!
For current non-Moonlight fans...this is sure to be a favorite. Whether you're into the vampires or not it's such a great story. I mean it's your typical Law & Order investigation show right? Except it's filled with secrets and taboo's and love. Plus they are blessed with wonderful actors. Alex O'Loughlin, who is fairly new, Sophia Myles, maybe most famous in the U.S for Tristan and Isolde, Jason Dohring, Veronica Mars anyone?, and Shannyn Sossamon, One Missed Call, Wrist Cutters: A Love Story to name a few. This story will totally hook you. I've watched one episode (only one on ipod) like seventeen times and can recite monolouges.
The only thing you will be saying is...can't we have more?? Unfortunatly if you want more...you'll have to take it up with Nina Tassler (grrr) CBS and maybe SCI-FI.

Anyways,
Buy this DVD! Buy it for a gift and yourself!!!
VAMPIRE SOLIDARY, RAH RAH RAH
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I too didn't know about this show while it was on the air. I just watched the entire series. It was awesome! It's too bad it was cancelled after only one season. It reminded me a bit of Veronica Mars - suspenseful, intelligently written, and with actors/characters you could really relate to and stay interested in. Highly recommended!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is truly an amazing movie. it sucks that they did not finish with more seasons.
Martin4255 More than 1 year ago
Moonlight is a brilliantly presented, but prematurely truncated, series that chronicles the life of a modern-day vampire. His evolving but forbidden love with a mortal, an aggressive young investigative reporter he saved from the clutches of a vampire when she was just a child, present episodic conflicts. The story's development is both sensitive and intense. Paralleling is his relationship with a senior vampire and the impending confrontation with other vampires whose purposes are to keep vampirism secret and who perceive our hero a potential threat, was left presented but untold by the abrupt termination of the series. I sincerely hope Moonlight will be resurrected. There is much left to be told.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my favorite show and still is even after they cancelled it (which was a huge mistake!). It wins over Twilight by a huge margin! Think about it. In a fight between Mick St. John and Edward Cullen, who do you think will win? Either way that would be one heck of a fight. Moonlight's story line is addictive and well put together, and the characters are amazing, too! If your looking for something good to watch, you've just found something great to watch! Well worth the money- an entire series of our favorite vampire fighting the supernatural and human forces that conspire against him and Beth as he unlocks the truth about his past, and that is not something you do not want to pass up. Five stars. Definatly Five stars.
vampirefan More than 1 year ago
They never should have cancelled this show! If you like vampires, then you will like Moonloght.
Silverchex More than 1 year ago
This show kept you on the edge of your seat. It was stylish, edgy and thrilling every episode. The lead character, Mick St. John (Alex O'Loughlin, The Invisible, August Rush), was charismatic as well as being down to earth. You could relate to what he had gone through. Beth Turner (Sophia Myles, Underworld, Tristan + Isolde) made the perfect romantic lead to his character. I loved it from the beginning but some said the first couple of episodes took a little bit to get into but by the time you watch 'Fever' you will be hooked. This one is well worth the money and taking the time to watch...
giraffelc More than 1 year ago
won peoples choice then got canceled. i hope sci fi picks it up.
Vamp-LoverBO More than 1 year ago
They should not have cancelled this series! If you like Vampires with a bit of romance you will love this series. Very entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Moonlight was an excellent show; unfortunately I didn't know of it when it was on TV - don't even remember it being advertised! Perhaps if CBS had promoted it more it would have been brought back for more seasons, as it was really fantastic. The plot and story lines are very engaging and, while it is of the vampire genre, Moonlight really does a neat job of avoiding most cliches. The characters are well-developed and complex (with the exception of Corinne, but more on that to follow). As with any show, you can really see how much improvement is made from the beginning of the season to the end - it goes from being a good show to being an exemplary one. As for the actors, they are almost all particularly good. Saving Sophia Myles (whom I'd seen and liked in Tristan & Isolde), I was unfamiliar with any of the actors. It does not need to be stressed that Alex O'Loughlin and Jason Dohring make very attractive vampires, but that is hardly their only attribute - they are both excellent actors as well. The only actor that detracts from the show, I feel, is Shannyn Sossamon, who plays Corinne. She has a distinctly amateur presentation which ruins the scenes she is in, especially when contrasted with Sophia Myles. An odd casting choice, Sossamon is, especially considering that I've read that the entire show, excepting Alex O'Loughlin, was recast before production began. Anyways, I'm glad that I bought this DVD collection as it's something I will watch again. I was actually sad to get to the final episode and have to face the fact that CBS, cruel network that it is, dropped such a fantastic show! Such a strange choice, considering the ascendency of the vampire genre even among those of us who are not normally counted amongst its followers. But count me as a Moonlight fan!
Alithatgirl More than 1 year ago
I love this show. I saw one episode on Scifi and was hooked. I immediately went out and bought the complete series. The show is so interesting, and the characters are amazing. I loved the storyline. There was never an episode that I was bored. Each one was fantastic! The only thing that sucks is, they canceled the show, so I can't watch anymore new episodes. But I don't regret my purchase at all!!!!! I would buy this set again:)
pudljmpr More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved this series. Although I did not watch it on first run TV, friends recommended the DVD's and I am thoroughly charmed by Alex O'Loughlin as Mick St. John. This series was about a year early in its first run on TV. The writer's strike took its toll and this unfortunarely was one of the shows that did not make it back on the schedule (even though it had great reviews and a good following). While Twilight (for teens) and True Blood (for adults) has filled the vampire frenzy, Moonlight will be missed.
Miss-Z- More than 1 year ago
This show was the best!!!!! i think that it is a shame that they stoped the seasons.....i watched this show EVERY Friday. The part i hate the most is that on the last episode Beth tells mick that they have to make choices because she is not a vampire and she will not live forever and he has to choose what comes next..then they anouce that it was the last season and it will no longer come on...so if the people who produced this show read this review i want them to now that i really loved this show and think it is a shame that they cancled it!!!!
Slaymeto More than 1 year ago
and miss it! The station should have given it another season!
bond222 More than 1 year ago
mick st john rocks.to bad they cancelld the show.