×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Persuasion
     

Persuasion

4.2 71
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jane Austen’s romantic masterpiece comes to DVD in a thrilling new production from the BBC and Masterpiece Theatre. Anne Elliot (Sally Hawkins) fell deeply in love with the handsome young naval officer Frederick Wentworth (MI-5's Rupert Penry-Jones) at the age of nineteen. But with neither fortune nor rank to recommend him, Anne was persuaded to break off her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Persuasion 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 71 reviews.
mirbarnatomas More than 1 year ago
I have seen three different versions of Persuasion in DVD: the BBC one dated 1971 and very theatrical, the one dated 1995 with Amanda Root and Ciarán Hinds and the late Corin Redgrave and finally the one from 2007 with Sally Hawkins and the gorgeous Rupert Penry-Jones. The one from 1971 does follow Jane Austen book Persuasion very well, but it can become a little boring and because it is a very theatrical version, the actors are not as attractive as in the other versions, plus they have a terrible teeth problem (thank God that the young generation of European actors, in general, take better care of their teeth). The one from 1995 is the one where you see that the actors chosen are perfect for the roles they are playing, starting with Amanda and Ciarán and without forgetting the late Corin Redgrave as Sir Elliot (the best Sir Elliot I have seen), the Elliot sisters, the Musgroves, Lady Russell (the late Susan Fleetwood) and Mrs. Croft. Ciarán plays a more mature and cynical Captain Wentworth than Rupert Penry-Jones in the 2007 version. About the 2007 all I can say is: Rupert Penry-Jones. The cast is good, especially Sally and Rupert playing a more caring Captain Wentworth, and I'm sure they are playing their characters as the director wants them to play them, but Mary Elliot is unbearable! It is a very free version of the Jane Austen book and although the end is a little crazy, just to see the change on Rupert's face and especially those gorgeous blue eyes when he is asking Sally Hawkins if the rumors of her marrying her cousin are true, is worth the price of buying the DVD. What a face and eyes! So, if you want to buy a DVD that reflects Jane Austen's book as well as a fantastic cast, buy the 1997 version with Amanda Root and Ciarán Hinds, but if you want a different version with a Captain Wentworth to die for, then buy the 2007 version.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I, too, have watched the 1995 adaptation many times and find it superior to this one. For one, except for Anne, the characters were poorly developed in this version. I did think Anne's direct glances into the camera were quite effective as a punctuation to her feelings, but found it implausible that she would literally run through the streets of Bath, trying to find Frederick towards the end. The reading of the letter from Frederick to Anne, one of the most powerful scenes in the movie, was done hastily on the street, instead of more appropriately, at home. There is no triumphant revelation of their feelings in front of the family and the ending fell flat... the seemingly romantic gesture of bestowing her family home upon her as a wedding present was nothing compared to having Anne join Frederick on the bridge of his ship.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I read Persuasion I always picture Anne as a graceful, strong, and engaging woman who is suppressed and humbled by the overbearance of her father and sister. The portrayal of Anne in the movie is of a woman who is easily manipulated and shy and who has no shining traits aside from a sweet disposition. I didn't see a self-sacrificing, mature, strong woman in the movie -- just a mumbling, bumbling, forgetable albeit sweet girl. I was disappointed as this is my favorite novel by Jane Austen.
Aglaia More than 1 year ago
At first, I wasn`t so sure about this film but as others have mentioned it, it kind of grows on you. After I had seen it for the first time, I thought how impossible it is to put the entire novel into 1.5 hrs - and yes, the movie does suffer from it, and at times there are differences from the original,but then I watched it a second time and it grew on me immensely. The performances are great, Sally Hawkins is superb as 27 year old Anne Elliot, who a decade ago broke off her engagemnt to the man she loved because of her family`s objections. She since then came to regret her decision. She meets again Captain Wentworth, her former fiancee, who had since then become rich and made a career in the navy. It is quite clear that he resents Anne and the two must bear with each other and decide whether all feelings they once had for each other are now long gone and lost. Rupert Henry Jones is great in this film, and I loved Anthony Head (from Buffy). As I said, at first, I wasn`t convinced, but since then I grew to love this film- my only complaint is that it is way too short and the movie suffers from it. You can`t do Austen in 90 minutes!!!!
MissBennett More than 1 year ago
Even though the story is quite condensed compared to the book, it flows really well. One doesn't feel they are missing something at any point, and acting is absolutely superb!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
80NEPatsGrl More than 1 year ago
I've seen both the 1995 (Amanda Root, Ciarán Hinds) version & the 2007 version w/ Sally Hawkins, Rupert Penry-Jones. I much prefer the 2007. The stories are very close to each other, even down to some of the script, so I don't think you can use that excuse as the reason why one is better than the other. For the most part I don't have a problem with the "ugly" costumes (although they are, but still do not detract from the story) or the lighting of the 1995 version, as some reviewers here did. Some commented on the lack of character development in the 2007 version, I fell there is less character development in the 1995 version. I do agree with the general consensus that Anne & Capt. Wentworth are far too old in the 97 version. There is absolutely no chemistry between Amanda Root & Ciarán Hinds until about the last 27 minutes of the movie, by that time because there wasn't any type of build of emotions depicted & because the movie's running time is winding down & they gotta end up together in less than half an hour it all seems forced. Also in the 95 version, Anne's cousin Mr. Elliot shows no signs of liking Anne until the concert. Capt. sees the two of them having a conversation & seems to stomp off jealous. While in the 2007 version Anne & her cousin have several conversations before the concert where Capt. overhears his sister and her husband talk about a possible wedding & then he stomps off. Not to mention Capt. speaks with Anne (before the concert scene) when he ducks into a little shop to get out of the rain. Anne is waiting for Mr. Elliot, who pops into the shop and Capt. watches as Mr. Elliot and Anne leave together. So later when Capt. stomps off from the concert in a bit of a jealous fit it makes since in the 2007 version because of what he saw prior to that one instance, in the 95 version his stomping fit doesn't seem rational or justified. It's these little details the 2007 hit right on the money where the 95 version may have been trying so hard to stick to the book that it forgot that the things you imagine when reading a book have to be done visually for a viewing audience. If some feel the 2007 version strayed from the book slightly, it was for good reasons & it worked to the benefit of the movie as a role and the overall enjoyment for the viewer. The actors in the 2007 version did a far better job with their physical acting and facial expressions of communicating their feelings, often without saying a word. Anne in the 95 version always looks like a deer in headlights, and from the moment Capt. sees Anne for the first time in years he doesn't show any signs of an inward emotional struggle or regret the entire movie, so there is simply no build up, where in the 2007 version Anne and Capt. gradually found themselves in each other's company more and more, and the corner glances were effective in communicating their feelings. Preferred Capt. picking up Anne in the 2007 version and putting her into the back of the Croft's carriage b/c of her twisted ankle over the 1995 version where her ankle is not twisted & he merely helps her into the carriage with a hand. The 2007 version did a better job in how it revealed to Anne that Capt. was not to marry Louisa & how Capt.'s brother told him that the Musgrove's were under the impression he intended to marry her, this whole part of the story was done far better than the way the 95 version handled it. I recommend
Guest More than 1 year ago
Persuasion is my all time favorite of Jane Austen's novels. I absolutly loved this movie. It brought so many strong feelings to the surface. The only thing that I didn't like about the movie was how fast everything happened in Bath. But other than that I loved it. I completely loved how I was able to see the human side to both Anne Elliot and Captian Wentworth. You could see the hurt and love so easily when they saw each other again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This version of Persuasion is very disappointing. The plot is poorly done, and the characters have no depth and are forgettable. This is nothing like the marvelous 1995 version. Very poor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this movie! I have watched it over and over. The chemistry between Anne and Captain Wentwoth was amazing... A must see for every romantic!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this DVD excellent for entertainment and historical value as per Jane Austin's novels. I watched it over and over and will continue to watch it when I can.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I purchased this already having owned the 1995 version for several years. Each has their own strengths and I did not find one version vastly superior to the other as some of the other reviewers have. As with other Jane Austen adaptations that have two recent versions (Emma, P&P), perhaps the 'ideal' version would be a blending of both. Rupert Penry-Jones takes more of a Firthian 'Mr. Darcy' approach to Capt Wentworth, with more being conveyed through looks and other more subtle methods. Sally Hawkins does a fine job in portraying more of the servant-like position of Anne in her own family. While a longer, more complete to the book plot version of Persuasion would be nice, this new one is a fine take on the story.
EmLee More than 1 year ago
Jane Austen fans and fans of the Masterpiece Theater series will especially like "Persuasion." It comes off as a little confusing and may be a slight turn-off at first, but once you've watched it a few times and perhaps if you've read the book, you can really enjoy it. It's a complex story and you'll pick up new things each time you watch it. I'd definitely recommend it.
tigresmom More than 1 year ago
While it was a good production, I could not understand how they had Ann Elliot dashing about town. It would have been nice to see more on Ann's friend and her connection with Mr. Elliot and how Ann help her friend get out of her poverish state. Neither movie covered that. Plus, when do invalids go running about town? It was like they had to speed up the ending because they overshot the first half. But, if you have never read the book, it is a nice show to watch with Jane Austen's happy ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Out of all the Jane Austen adaptaions of this novel, I find I love this one the most. It is a great veiw for Jane Austen lovers everywhere!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to agree with Judy above. Compared to the 1995 version, this left much to be desired. And Persuasion is my personal favorite of Jane Austen's novels. It's hard for me to go into very much depth with this adaptation, because after 30 minutes, I couldn't take it anymore. I recommend renting before committing to a purchase.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anne Elliot (Sally Hawkins) fell in love with Fredrick Wentworth (Rupert Penry-Jones) and the two wanted to get married. But she had to call the whole thing off because of the disapproval of Fredrick by her family and her friend Lady Russell. Years later, she finds that Wentworth's angry at her, having not forgiven her. If you've read the book then you'll probably notice some changes here and there. Both Sally and Rupert do a good job, especially Sally. I'm sure many felt the kiss scene was a bit, awkward. Overall give this version of Persuasion a look.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great movie. Having not been redone in some time, its great to actally see a good production of the book.
LTurley More than 1 year ago
Persuasion is a story that appeals to anyone who feels misunderstood by those closest to them. For the woman who feels like she is taken for granted or in the way, there is encouragement that being true to yourself will ultimately lead to happiness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not find the heroine of high moral character...unlike that which I KNOW she must have possessed knowing Jane Austen's writings. She came across as weak, mumbling, and nervous! I wanted to scream, "just say it!" while she was sputtering throughout the final scenes in the movie. Oh well, I will take a look at the other version.