×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Philadelphia
  • Alternative view 1 of Philadelphia
  • Alternative view 2 of Philadelphia
     

Philadelphia

4.7 16
Director: Jonathan Demme,

Cast: Jonathan Demme, Tom Hanks, Denzel Washington, Jason Robards Jr.

 

See All Formats & Editions

Tom Hanks stars as a gay lawyer with AIDS who battles discrimination and ignorance as he hires a homophobic personal injury attorney after being fired from his job for incompetence in this heartfelt and emotional drama, arriving on DVD from Columbia/TriStar Home Video. Presented in the original 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen version (enhanced for widescreen TVs) and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Philadelphia 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is possibly the greatest movie i've ever seen. Tom Hanks portrayed his greatest character and was indefinently an Acadamey Award performance. Denzel Washington was phenomenal and should have won the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor. The movie was very emotional and cried for half the time. Great music and a great story. Reccomend for anybody who wants to see a tear dropper.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If Tom Hanks is the golden boy of Hollywood, he sure risked it all in this movie about AIDS. A poignant and compelling role played by both Hanks and Denzel Washington.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great adventure in nature where i learned a whole lot about natives in nature. it was very educational about nature. and also most especially about natives too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is extremely touching and evocative. This movie will make you appreciate your life and want to fight for a cause. Tom Hanks gives the best performance of his career (in my opinion), as does Denzel Washington, who was absolutely astounding. I've never cried so much in a movie in my entire life. It's absolutely amazing. WATCH IT! BUY IT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
All i can say about this movie is that it is touching. It tells the story of Andrew Beckett a Gay man with Aids. Watch this movie, and you will be proud that today, we are not so racist towards gay people. And that today we know more about the Aids Virus.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i got a story bout that movie there is a connection to it in my family. A fellow who was part of my church but came to an ill end and left his wife went off with another man and got into movies in toronto was in that movie. Why? because he had HIV and he died shortly after. He is in five minutes into movie when tom hanks is in doctors waiting room. The real kicker is the name of my fathers church was Philidelphia house named after the one church in revalations that had no bad said of it. I think it is really scary that the movie Dan was in before he died was called philidelphia. If you look in the credits of the movie at the end his name was Dan Chapman. Thats my story bout this movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Philadelphia is inspiring story about overcoming discrimination. Denzel Washington gives an outstanding performance as a homophobic lawyer who changes as the movie progresses. Tom Hanks (who won an oscar for this one) also gives a top notch performance. Great supporting cast as well (namely the late, great Jason Robards and Mary Steenburgeon). Also, look for my second cousin (Donna Hamilton) as the reporter who asks Tom's character those tough questions!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is the best movie of all time and you will fall in love with the story of Andrew Bekket and how no on e would help him until one man was willing to take on a huge law firm.you will cry everytime.It is my FAVORITE movie ever.I watch it every day and you will to when you first look into the eyes of Andrew Bekket!!!