×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pirates of the Caribbean - Dead Man's Chest
     

Pirates of the Caribbean - Dead Man's Chest

4.3 160
Director: Gore Verbinski,

Cast: Gore Verbinski, Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, Keira Knightley

 

See All Formats & Editions

Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) returns to the screen for another round of supernatural adventures on the high seas in this spirited sequel to the 2003 Disney hit, which re-teams original director Gore Verbinski with original screenwriters Ted Elliott and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pirates of the Caribbean - Dead Man's Chest 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 160 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well I have seen all three movies and I still like this one the best. If you ask me Bill Nighy stole the show with his impressive adaption of Davy Jones. I personally thought they did such a great job with the effects of him and his crew that you could just dive into the story. If you want to see what I mean and appreciate the work that Bill Nighy did playing the Davy Jones character you should take the time to watch the special features on this disc on the making of the character and it has a great look at how the design team did and how challenging it would be for him. Great movie
bookhag More than 1 year ago
Jack Sparrow is hilarious; watch how he runs. In the first movie he say "I am an honest man you can always trust to be dishonest" i think that was what he said and it's so perfect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
i love this movie at first it was scary then i like how he shot the bird hahah that part kicked me lol i went soo many times to watch it i cant wait till the third one comes out thank god johnny depp is playing in the third one or i would die the third on comes out may 25,2006!YAY
o-bloomfan More than 1 year ago
I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! It is just as good as Curse of the black Pearl. I don't see how anyone would not like it. The special effects are amazing. Escpecially for Davy Jones and his crew. They look like they are real! Other special effects that are amazing, are when the Flying Duchman comes out or goes into the water. Jack, of course, is very funny in this one also. He is trying to settle a deal with Davy Jones so he doesn't have to join his crew, and stay away from the kracken. Will is trying to save Elizebeth, and at the same time, Elizebeth is trying to save Will. Along with trying to save Elizebeth, Will is also trying to save his father. This is great movie! I cannot pick a favorite out of all three. I LOVE POTC!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie got panned by critics for what? 1 is that they say jack sparrow is too mencing and gay in this one, well i disagree. The only scene where he's being that way is when he's running away from the cannibals with his arms flailing in the air, well thats too be expected as jack sparrow has never been that good of a fighter he's always tried to talk his way out of situations but sense there cannibals and wont listen to reason they cant be bargained with so of course he's going to run away. Some said it was also too long, i disagree I think that if a movie can entertain you all the way through i dont care if its 10 hours long (Lord of the Rings for example) its completely entertaing all the way through.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Like many, I was surprised that this film was good. It had a few flaws as all sequels must but overall I highly recommend this film, especially if you were a fan of the first. A few problems I had were the predictability of Jack and the sudden turn in both Will and Elizabeth's character. I'm not so fond of that but hopefully, the third film will redeem the second.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ok, the second movie always has the hardest position among a trilogy of movies. The first movie is usually set as the benchmark by which future movies will be judged. The third movie, rounds out the story, fixes mistakes made and ties up loose ends. The 2nd movie has to excel and exceed in everything the first movie was able to deliver and more. It is also tasked with making people want to go back and watch the last movie. (spoiler warning do not read if you haven't seen it yet). Dead Man's Chest is one of the best, most exciting, shocking part 2's ever! Granted, the Kraken swallowing Jack Sparrow is not as awe inspiring or memorable as the Star Wars cliffhanger, but as # 2s go, it is as good as it gets. All the action leading up to it is just as awesome, some really good action/comedy scenes in the old Bruckheimer vein, cool characters, great scenes that stand on their own.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I watched this movie in theaters the first week it came out and -- wow. Lots of sequels -- movies, books or otherwise -- are not better than their original "thing". Pirates of the Caribbean II, however, was just as good as, maybe even better than, Curse of the Black Pearl. I loved this movie! It does leave you with a cliffie at the end though.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been waiting three years for this movie! it was great. A smart script , a great cast, and top notch special effects from ILM. And once again Johnny Depp has surprised us with his performance. It's been a couple of years since we last saw Jack Sparrow and his crew. It seems that Jack owes an old debt to Davy Jones, legendary captain of the Flying Dutchman. How can Jack possibly talk his way out of it? With an island of cannibals, a "beastie" and not to mention Davy Jones and his crew, theres no telling what will happen. But of coarse I already do. This movie will leave you speechless with questions until AT WORLD'S END on May 25th. I sure know what I want for Christmas this year Santa. Buy it savvy?
Guest More than 1 year ago
PC2 is a great movie. It keeps you quessing throughout the movie. I do like who comes back at the end. You will too. The third one is problay going to be the best one out all of them, though.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the first Pirates of the Caribbean, and was a bit skeptical of a sequel. 99% of all sequels are horrid. I was pleasantly surprised and utterly grateful, that Dead Man's Chest was every bit as good as Curse of the Black Pearl. The humour, the action, the romance, the story-line. I am looking forward to the next Pirates movie. Thank you Johnny Depp for creating another original character.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Pirates Of The Caribbean - The Curse Of The Black Pearl' is an outstanding movie, hilarious, unique, original and well made, and the sequel is just as great if not better. 'Pirates Of The Caribbean - Dead Man's Chest' is (like the original) hilarious, unique and well made plus it takes a different tone in some places of the film, with a lot more character development. The three cliffhangers at the end of the movie are just surprising and great. The DVD is well worth getting, very good quality and sound and the extra's especially the cast interviews and the maker's interviews are great and the making of Davy Jones. I am looking forward to the third movie 'Pirates Of The Caribbean - At Worlds End'
Guest More than 1 year ago
Unfortunatly the second Pirates movie does not hold a candle to the first. It is a race to the profit margin for Disney. Hokey plot, hokey special effects and I think a monkey wrote the screenplay. The only good thing was Johnny Depp. But even he could not save the script.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I keep hearing a lot of people whining about it "To Be Continued"....well, of course it's going to be continued. They told us that BEFORE it came out. Everyone knew that it was going to be just the 2nd in the 3-part series. I thought that this one was much better than Black Pearl because 1) better music, 2) better characters, 3) better battle scenes, and 4) funnier lines. How much better could it get? And now there's a small love-triangle thing going on between Jack, Will, and Elizabeth. It's everyone's dream pirate movie. Definitely the best yet!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If Johnny Depp wasn't casted in this film, it wouldn't have even made a dollar.Overall fantastic, fun and has an exciting plot.the make-up department deserves an award and possible bonus pay.Salute to everyone who enjoys this film.We're all pirates in some way:)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Pirates of the Caribbean was somewhat boring at the beginning, but once it started into the story, it was pretty good. Throughout the movie, it was kind of confusing. you would have to really pay attention in order to understand it. Some parts of the movie were unnecessary, we could have done without it. I did not like the choice of the actress Keiera Knightly, there could have been better actresses right for the part. It was a little too long, if they cut out more scenes, it could've been better. The music was really good, and Johnny Depp played really well. The scenery was astounding. The graphics were amazing throughout the movie.