×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ran
     

Ran

4.7 21
Director: Akira Kurosawa

Cast: Tatsuya Nakadai, Akira Terao, Jinpachi Nezu

 

See All Formats & Editions

Ran is Japanese filmmaker Akira Kurosawa's reinterpretation of William Shakespeare's King Lear. The Lear counterpart is an elderly 16th-century warlord (Tatsuya Nakadai), who announces that he's about to divide his kingdom equally among his three sons. In his dotage, he falls prey to the false flattery of his treacherous sons (Akira Terao and Jinpachi

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ran 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
ChArLiEtHeHuNtEd More than 1 year ago
I have multiple copies of this movie. Still have my VHS copy actually. I can't bring myself to part with any of them. This version is hands down the best though...it's awesome. So awesome. If you haven't seen it, I'm jealous because you get to see it new.
Too few flicks like this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Words fail describing how good this movie or why it must be viewed. The inner turmoil of a powerful warlord are brought out in the open. At once sad, violent but very beautiful, this film will engage the senses and touch the heart.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm guessing that the reviewer that preceeded this one watched one of the older transfers of this movie. The Masterworks Edition of this, that was produced by Wellspring is one of the greatest transfers of a Kurosawa movie I have seen (Kagemusha is probably the best, go Criterion). One simple line would describe this movie in whole: Shakespeare done better than Shakespeare. Keep in mind: Don't get anything but the Wellspring Masterworks Edition. The others are all horribly done transfers that looks worse than most VHS versions of this movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love anime. Actually, I love Japanese culture. This movie is emotional and enjoyable. The bloody fight scenes, the performance, even the story, can captivate you. It will tell you the reality of mankind and remind you that every generation has a dark chapter of history, and it can occur anywhere and anytime, to anyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The small screne doesn't allow this extraordinary film to breathe. In the theatre, the audience held its collective breath many times as an absolutely gorgeous picture would slowly come to life: the first indication it wasn't a still would be the barest flutter of a battle flag,then the other elements would slowly join in a fantastic ballet of motion until the scene erupted. True art. See it on the largest screen possible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Classic film about family struggle , inner turmoil, and greed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
“Ran” is the first film I watched by Akira Kurosawa. I am now a huge fan of his work thanks to my Amazonian friends who had already seen it. When a living legend like Kurosawa, does a King Lear adaptation at the tender age of 75, one would expect a small-scale film concentrating on the human elements of the story. That he produced an epic of such proportions makes a further evaluation of the great man's contribution to cinema necessary. ”Ran” is set in medieval Japan and follows the basic King Lear narrative closely. Lord Hidetora is an aging warlord and, wanting a peaceful retirement, decides to divide his kingdom up amongst his three sons. After banishing the youngest, Saburo, for pouring scorn on the idea, Hidetora finds himself an unwanted obstacle to the older two. After repeated humiliations, pride forces Hidetora into vain wanderings on the open plain, his state of mind declining as rapidly as his entourage. The film sets itself the unenviable task of trying to explain the precarious position man holds within the universe. Man is seen to be elevating himself to such a level that he dreams of challenging the very laws of nature. Hidetora has achieved his status through deception, callousness and violence his notion to wash away the blood he has spilt in happy retirement is scornfully thrown back by the elements. The speed and manner in which he is forced to lie in the bed he has made for himself should serve as a warning to all. The films large set pieces, particularly two quite stunning battle sequences, are staged magnificently, but 'Ran' is no empty epic. The characters and their motivations are fully explored and the tension built up by the dialogue fully compliments the action. With an ending which offers no redemption 'Ran' paints a bleak picture - the colors and brushstrokes it employs however, turn it into a dazzling masterpiece. The battle scenes are some of the best I have seen. One point - the second main battle reminds me of 'Zulu' with the soldiers lined up on the skyline shouting down. The makeup used on Hidetora to mimick the Noh theatre makes this film that much more dramatic. Don't expect to be uplifted with a standard samurai flick. This is one of the most visually beautiful films I've ever seen. Before you watch this place it on a big screen with good color registration and good sound because Kurosawa uses as much of the screen as he can.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A Barnes and Noble customer wrote that this film is best viewed on the big screen...to that I would suggest a big home screen! The great plus of seeing this at home is you can rerun the glorious scenes, savoring the magnificent cinematography and the brilliant score by Toro Takemitsu. Although a great theater experience, Ran is a must-have DVD.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Like the story's plot ,eventhough it starts at a time where charachters have with them unseen histories,that made their confusing role.