×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Saving Private Ryan
     

Saving Private Ryan

4.6 87
Director: Steven Spielberg

Cast: Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Tom Sizemore

 

See All Formats & Editions

An unflinchingly realistic and gripping tale of one American military squadron's dangerous wartime quest to find the sole remaining sibling in a family of brave soldiers, director Steven Spielberg's affecting war drama receives the deluxe treatment in this commemorative DreamWorks release. Presented in 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen, this release offers multiple audio

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Saving Private Ryan 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 83 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first was able to watch this film I almost fell into an utter applasue. Not only had the film truly brought out the meaning of war but it had brought out the closest feel of what war was like. Well at least closer than any other war movie made before. But then around two weeks ago I was able to purchase this film on Limited Edition DVD. When I rewatched the film I found that after I got past D-Day and the realism that it brought there was no strong plotline left to support this film. Even though Private Ryan had three brothers die in arms in the same war along with him this (in my opinion) did not give a strong enough reason to send the Private back home to his mother. I mean look, he was fighting in the last great world war and had entered deeply behing enemy lines and now they want to risk the life of eight men to go out and find one man. No offense to Steven Spieldberg but i've never heard of something like that to ever take place in a real down to earth not caught on film war. But if you have please right a review on this movie stating the factual information on this and where you found the information from. That would make my day and I would then rewrite my review and give the film five stars the highest rating available. But until then I'm staying with 2 stars.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Saving private ryan starts out at Omaha Beach, on D-Day. This movie isn't about D-Day though. It's a group of soldiers that try and go save a single paratrooper because both his brothers have died. I only gave this move a 4/5 because there is only one worthwhile fight scene. Other movies like Band Of Brothers have 5 to 6 great fight scenes. "We Were Soldiers" is also a very good Vietnam War movie. It is nearly all dedicated to the landing at X-ray. It gives you 50 minutes of fighting and shooting out of a 120 minute movie. This is a great movie and you should watch it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie, without a doubt, caught me off guard the first time I saw it. The opening sequences are frightenly realistic and so are the portrayals. For anyone who doesn't like this movie, I don't hold it against you but when you say that there is no plotline and it is unrealistic, What are you talking about. This movie is loosely based on a true story about a guy who lost 2 brothers in combat but only found out that one of them died. He was then sent back home. Does that differ much from the movie? I don't think so. I think Spielberg also wanted to get across the people the brutality that is war. A good movie to watch if you are interested in history or warfare. It was way better than Pearl Harbor.
kenKV More than 1 year ago
This movie is so excellent.  Thumb up!  I give five stars.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
This was really good, the action, music and acting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
InsaneCrazedJuggalo More than 1 year ago
amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie has the most brutal and graphic violence you are likely to ever see. If you have any question of whether war is inhuman, see this movie to set yourself straight. It chronicles several strangers, forced to waste their lives on a pointless mission. We see how brutal and fruitless war is. The movie shows us good people and bad people (in predictable roles on both sides of the fighting). The direction and filmography are similar to Band of Brothers (for obvious reason). It is technically and visually excellent. The failing of the movie, I believe, is that it can't compare to The Thin Red Line in terms of message(both came out the same year). Although clearly showing that ''war is bad,'' Ryan fails to show us the underlying cause (people, even good people, are corrupt and inhuman). We see bad people do bad things, and good people do good things in this movie. See the Thin Red Line, and feel that not only is war bad, but humanity in general is brutish and terrible.
tito More than 1 year ago
I thought this movie was excellent. Steven Spielberg really makes you believe you're on the battle field in Omaha Beach! The acting was excellent, and the movie was so damn realistic. Not a recommendation for someone who doesn't like slight gore. Overall a pretty good war movie and I think it's a must see.
Guest More than 1 year ago
it shows a perfect portrayment of realism the war and shooting is perfect.It looks very real its about a group of friends who get to fight in the war and become close. The german- american finally gets courage to attack barry peppers it a great actor and a great aimer with the sniper it is sad how he gets killed it a anaction packed thrilling move you got to see it you will be amazed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I give this movie only 4 stars simply because I found the story contrived. But I pose a question to our history buffs: Do you have all YOUR facts straight? Keeping in mind this is a MOVIE and not gospel. The landings depicted in the beginning of this film are accurate enough to veterans of that moment as to make them cry. And as a HISTORIAN who has had the pleasure of talking to many of them I find that hard to argue with. Movies like this are to be enjoyed and digested. It helps us to remember what was done for us by men who fought every level of horror on that day. Leave the dissecting to the critics. It's what they are paid for.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film is an honest portrayal of the D-Day landing and the extraordinary sacrifices made by by everyday men. Speilberg's filming technique on this movie, makes you feel like you were there (and glad you were not.) The depiction of the landing on Normandy Beach is one the most intense battle scenes I have ever seen. Spielberg has not only paid a deserving tribute to the veterans of World War II, he has also produced an excellent anti-war film that shows the true horro of warfare. There was nothing romantic about going to war. I feel he captured what it was like to invade the beaches on June 6th.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film portrays the realistic matters of war. The bloody masacur of many faceless men may seem far fetched in the way spielberg portrays their deaths, but to ask a real soldier if it was a likeness of war, he would tell you...not even close. meaning that war was far worse and no matter how hard could never be told to you only experienced.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the greatest Movie dipicting The Second World war At it's greatest. It's has everything. Great battle sceens My favorite sceens Memorial And Omaha Beach it's about Saving the life of a friend brother. And loss of a loved one. The heartbreaking sceen realy touched When the soldiers fond the missing soldier James Francis Ryan (Matt Damon) when Tom Hanks Told Ryan that his brothers where Killed in battle. I felt like crying. This is the best performace of Tom hanks. and Best Movie From Steven Speilburg. If you Love war and action movies this is for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one movie that will stay on your mind, long after you finished watching it. It contains heart touching,and harsh scenes that gives an idea what it was like during World War 2. It captures the moment, the tension, the drama. The best War Movie I've seen in years. Steven, another winner, you did it again. I truly recommend this movie, you'll love it.
OhRyan More than 1 year ago
I have given some movies high praise, but i view Saving Private Ryan as the greatest film ever made. The characters are all developed and portrayed perfectly. This movie is too good for a thorough review. If you haven't seen it you should not only go see it, but also be ashamed of yourself for not having already seen it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It showed how horriable d-day was for many of our allies and us.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It must be the best film ever, the charaters did such great job, the special affects are outstanding and the story line has every thing. Being eleven i understand the true meaning of saving private ryan, i've seen it about twenty times always left breathless and emotionally dead in the heart.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a student of the Omaha Beach landings, I found that Saving Private Ryan was totally inaccurate, for the following reasons: 1) the assaulting troops, even during the early period portrayed in the film (the main waves of the 16th and 116th RCTS) did not experience, as a whole, anywhere near the casualty rates implied in Ryan. The rate was, in fact, approx 11 1/2 percent casualties during that period (dead, wounded, captured, missing), a far cry from that depicted in Ryan. While there certainly were boat sections that took very heavy casualties, they were in the minority during that period, as is obvious from the casualty figures. Unknown to the audience is the landings of the entire 5th Ranger Battalion only a few hundred yards east of Miller's group , landing with trivial casualties (5 of 475 men). The company portrayed by Miller's group (68 men) made the mistake of not following Schneider's boats (5th BTN)to the east. The price they paid for their mistake was high - about 50% casualties. Nor did troops scale cliffs in moving to the tops of the slopes - they WALKED up the slopes, and seldom sustained casualties during the movement to the tops of the bluffs. The rest of the plot is almost hilariously stupid - sending a small squad to move thru enemy lines (something battalion sized groups were unable to accomplish) to find some guy in a 100 square mile area, when the 4th Div was already in contact with the 101st on day 1 and had radio contact with most of their units. That was the most transparent attempt I've yet seen to get a film's hero involved in more combat action. Spielberg plays on the ignorance of the audience to produce another one of his big, enormous, but in the end, shoddy pieces of work. If you want to learn about Omaha Beach, read a history and learn something. You won't get anything of value from this film.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The story is about 8 army rangers who go looking for a 101 airborne comrad right after D-Day. I would recomend it for anyone who loves We Were Soldiers, Platoon, Black Hawk Down, and Band Of Brothers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is probaly the best WWII movie ever made. It is very realistic. It shows you what a soldier would see in D-Day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WHEN YOU LISTEN TO TOM HANKS SPEAKING AND WATCH THERE ARE @ 2-3 SECONDS GAP. VERY SAD INDEED.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If I were rating only the first 15 minutes or so of this great film it would deserve inumerable stars. The depiction of the Nornmandy landing at the beginning of the movie is perhaps the best filmaking ever seen. Vast, epic, tense and somehow personal all at the same time, vivid and frightening and can't take your eyes off of movie making that leaves the viewer breathless. There was no possible way to maintain this throughout. The remainder of the movie becomes something of a typical World War II movie, though done as well as any movie of its kind. The Americans are good, the Germans and their axis allies bad, we fought for great moral truths, they fought for something else and without morals. Still, there are many sequences that stay with you long after the movie, to me a mark of really good film making. In whole, this is a brilliant, thought provoking, serious and visually impressive film, and its story and themes obviously heartfelt by Mr. Spielberg and everyone involved in its making. Highly recommended.