×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Secondhand Lions
     

Secondhand Lions

4.8 52
Director: Tim McCanlies

Cast: Michael Caine, Robert Duvall, Haley Joel Osment

 

See All Formats & Editions

Part of the New Line Platinum Series, the 2003 family film Secondhand Lions comes to DVD from Warner Home Video. The disc contains both widescreen and full-frame transfers. The English soundtrack is rendered in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround sound. Optional subtitles are available in English and Spanish. Director Tim McCanlies provides an audio commentary track.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Secondhand Lions 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
EmLee More than 1 year ago
Hilarious, heartwarming, suspenseful, exciting, and a million other things all rapped up into one unforgettably great movie. Set in 1950s Texas, Walter's mother dumps him with his two great uncles. They seem insane and unfeeling at first, but they soon become father figures and look on him as their son. They have had unbelievable adventures in Africa for 40 years and now that they're retired on a dilapidated ranch, they feel useless and have lost their purpose in life. Walter gives them a reason to love life again. One of my favorite movies, it belongs in everyone's collection.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fantastic movie. It is funny and sometimes silly but behind it all is a great deal of emotion and life lessons. Awesome for kids, but you need to see it first to be sure they are ready for some of the scenarios. How the Mother's actions are shown may be confusing to younger children. But this is definitely a Must see and must have!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bought this on 8/3 and have already viewed it two days in a row. Wonderful story with surprises to keep your interest to the end. I will recommend this to all my friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is definately a keeper. I've already watched it twice and it's on loan to my folks, and they don't want to give it back until they have watched it again. Wish we could see more like this one made.
lovesmovies08 More than 1 year ago
No plot summary can even give you a hint of how wonderful this movie was. The big name stars in this movie enhance the interesting plot. It is truely a magical story which teaches the viewers to never give up hope and to continue dreaming- no matter how outlandish your dreams are. This movie was enjoyable for the entire family and I advise anyone to watch it through to the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was outstanding. By far, one of the best moveis of the year. Funny, entertaining, and touching in all the right ways. If you have not seen this movie yet, run to the store and pick it up today!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Secondhand Lions’ plot was hard to follow at first but then it became easier to understand what was happening when Garth told Walter the story of him and his brother Hub when they were younger. Further into the movie it became more interesting and fun. There was more sense to why Walter was at his uncles’ house and Walter got to keep a lion that liked to playfully attack him. I went to see the movie with my best friend and my brother. We joked over the movie trailer when Haley Joel Osment said, “No television!” because his voice is cracking since he is going through puberty. We joked that this movie is a keeper because Haley is such a sweetheart. If you like surprises, lions, and supposedly stolen money from an African adventure, then Secondhand Lions is likely to capture your interest.
Tracker711 More than 1 year ago
A patriotic film for Texans (Texas is a whole other COUNTRY.) Especially good for kids or anyone who likes "tall tales". Sometime the truth provides the tallest tales.
Guest More than 1 year ago
loved this movie it had a great story. Michael Caine, Robert Duvall both did a brilliant job
Guest More than 1 year ago
We absolutely love this movie. Our young boys watched it for the first time yesterday and the adventure spirit rose up on the inside of them. The last lines of the movie say so much "Yeah!, They REALLY Lived".
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was great. At first I wasnt to thrilled to watch it but then i read the reviews and they arent lying. I can watch this movie over and over. BUY IT TODAY!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this movie when I was younger and it is still one of my favorites!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Secondhand Lions is a must see for the whole family. It is a genuine, honest, and heartwarming tale about love and growing up. The whole family will enjoy this one. I can't wait to buy it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My husband and I viewed this movie while away, and we both enjoyed it very much. It's a great family movie that we will be sure to have our teenage sons view. It was both funny and poignant, and held one's attention. The cast is terrific especially Duvall and Caine..two great veteran actors.
Old-Archer More than 1 year ago
As a kid I would have loved to have uncles like these. As an adult, I wish I was one. Movies should be fun, and this one is surely that.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can watch this movie over and over again and it will still be just as good as the first time. It is a great movie which the entire family can enjoy, even the very young. It is adventurous, dramatic and at times funny, but most of all, there is a lesson to be learned. Excellent!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is an amazing family movie. It has some language but only a little and it is two old men cutting up and having fun. I very much recomend this movie and would allow my children to watch this great movie!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This has become the video of choice in our house. You know you have watched the movie often when you begin to know the lines to each scene.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I rarely buy DVD's for myself. This one I must have. Pure family entertainment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a movie you must own as it needs to be seen over and over -- rainy days, happy days, sad days or any tine you need a lift. The acting is spectacular!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The perfect film! Great for families and anyone of any age. A great mix of romance, thriller, comedy, and tragedy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great family film for all ages. There aren't a lot of these movies around that the kids and the parents enjoy. My kids asked to watch this one again and again - even my teenager.