×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Secretary
     

Secretary

4.4 24
Director: Steven Shainberg

Cast: Maggie Gyllenhaal, James Spader, Jeremy Davies

 

See All Formats & Editions

Maggie Gyllenhaal's first starring role provides her with the opportunity to explore a rather demanding character, which she performs with depth and humor in Secretary. As Lee Holloway, she portrays a young woman with a strange addiction to pain, but remains engaging and easily empathized with. Lee's endeavors in the "real" world, after a youth with an

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Secretary 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
James Spader and Megan Gyllenhall couldn't be better in this movie. 'Secretary' gives both sides of the D/s relationship that makes it honorable...not the way society, in general, defines it. Her willingness to do whatever he wants/says and his gentle way of dominance holds the viewer. The bridal dress scenario shows how truly strong submission can be, and is. This movie is a beautiful representation of the D/s relationship.
Guest More than 1 year ago
James Spader and Maggie Gyllenhaal are excellent in this dark comedy about dysfunction at home AND at the work place. If you're a James Spader fan, he does not disappoint. He's a bit closer to his ''2 Days in the Valley'' persona than say his ''sex, lies and videotape'' character. Maggie's high-pitched voice can be a bit grating at first, but it's great for her shy, beaten down, self-mutilating character. Lesley Ann Warren is perfect as the high-strung, overprotective mother. You see Lesley Ann's character, as well as the alcoholic father, and have no doubts about why Lee Holloway ended up in a mental institution. Hats off also to Jeremy Davies, who often plays sheepish, fly-on-the-wall-type characters, as he did in ''Saving Private Ryan,'' among others. Here, he finally plays a more out-going character (but it takes a while to recognize him with all that facial hair). At the end of the movie, with all its slapping, crying, laughing, cutting and eroticism, you're left with the feeling that there's someone for everyone, no matter how messed up you be inside.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film is got to be the best sex movie i have ever lay my penis on... i mean my eyes! I watched it seven times and it is awesome. This is better than Boogie Nights, and American Pie 1 & 2! I would recomand this film to anyone who like this kind of film or vice versa!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although the main characters are not the 'norm' for a BDSM couple, the actors put forth an excellent portrail of the submission of Miss Hollowell and the subtle domination techniques that an effective, albeit reluctant, dominate could use. Spellbinding and intriguing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Erotic yet heartfelt, both Spader & Gyllenhaal captivate with their performances and chemistry. This film takes you into the a world of self-deprecation, masochism, and redemption in the dark struggle for love the characters share. Hysterically funny, disturbing and sexy. This is a breakthrough performance for Gyllenhaal.
Guest More than 1 year ago
IF YOU ARE READY FOR A REAL LOVE STORY AND YOU'RE NOT AFRAID TO EXPERIANCE SOME PAIN IN ORDER TO LEARN ABOUT YOURSELF AND WHAT YOU NEED THEN THIS IS THE MOVIE FOR YOU. I WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISED AT HOW REALISTIC LEE HOLLOWAY CHARACTER WAS. JAMES SPADER WAS VERY VERY SEXY AT TRYING TO BE A GOOD BOY. HIS UNATTIANABLITY YET HUNGER FOR LUST MADE ME ALWAYS WANT TO KNOW WHERE THE NEXT SCENE WOULD TAKE ME.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Made me wonder why certain "actors" making entertainment headlines are commanding big bucks for their roles in movies. These two are REAL actors and do not get the recognition they so deserve.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Director, Steven Shainberg does an accurate and sensitive look at the journey into light for two people naturally drawn to the lifestyle of dominace and submission, the need for pleasure in pain and the sway of control. The movie is beautifuly cast with James Spader giving a strong and passionate performance of a man struggling with deep inner need. Playing against that is Maggie Gyllenhaal who stands up to that passion by yielding to her own desires. The movie is sexual and emotional warm and real. I felt like cheering at last a movie for a girl just like me!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Maggie Gyllenhaal's raw and fitting performance in Secretary is nothing short of brilliant. The complicated and demanding characters of Lee and Mr. Grey are so thoughtfully acted by Gyllenhaal and James Spader, and it is genuinely captured on film. This profoundly powerful, erotic, and humorous romantic coming of age story causes one to empathize with the initial darkness in which Lee and Mr. Grey are experiencing. And from this, ensues a truly original and challenging, yet entertaining film that conveys the humanity of its characters in a way that most films of similar genre fall short of exploring. A very well executed, sexy, thought-provoking movie that leaves a welcomed, warm, stirring feeling inside.
Guest More than 1 year ago
We thought the movie was o-kay and I wouldn't let my husband change the channel once we started watching it, but I was surprised to see it was up for an award at the Sundance Film Festival. I had never even heard of the movie before.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this movie was so sultry and sexy, it left me breathless! It showed how some people are submissive to point of not being able to fully function without someone dominating them. This is not a bad thing when both parties are agreeable. The dominate partner (Spader) didn't try to humilate the submissive partner (Gyllenhaal)and he truly, truly loved her. It wasn't just some enormous ego trip for him. This is a great, steamy movie and the performances of both James Spader and Maggie Gyllenhaal were excellent as well as very intense! Kudos all around!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Erotically spell binding! I have to find more info on the subject now that my interest is peaked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago