×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shutter Island
     

Shutter Island

4.4 19
Director: Martin Scorsese

Cast: Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Ruffalo, Ben Kingsley

 

See All Formats & Editions

Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio team up for a fourth time for this adaptation of Shutter Island, a novel by Dennis Lehane (Mystic River). The film opens in 1954 as World War II veteran and current federal marshal Teddy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shutter Island 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Heard a lot about this. And the ending. I meant not a lot but hints of it? Anyway, this was interesting, suspenseful and a little tense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Martin Scorsese, as usual, does an excellent job of bringing a story to the screen. The story, however, was shamelessly ripped off by pulp author Dennis Lehane, from the 1962 film "The Cabinet of Caligari". The film is definitely worth watching and keep you glued to your seat - so, put the cat out and go pee, cuz you won't want to miss a thing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DarkLotusICP4life More than 1 year ago
one totally awesome movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hadn't really heard of Shutter Island until after a friend of mine said that she went to see it in the theater. She said that it was really good. I asked her what it was about and she said that she couldn't explain it without giving stuff away. After that I couldn't wait to see it. I love Leonardo DiCaprio so that just made the movie that much better. When I first started watching it, I wasn't exactly sure about it. The beginning just didn't seem all that strong...but it got way better. There isn't all that much action in the movie, but it kept me on the edge of my seat none the less. I have to admitt that it isn't the best movie in the world, but it definitely towards the top. I recommend Shutter Island to anyone who loves a good mystery and suspense.
nonfreak More than 1 year ago
Gives you a real sense of how detailed delusions as the result of mental illness can be. You can get this same movie on Amazon for $16.99
H8C More than 1 year ago
"Shutter Island" is a Martin Scorsese picture that doesn't feel like your typical Martin Scorsese picture. It is far more grungy than a lot of things he's done in the last many years, but still it doesn't lose focus through out it's 138 minute running time. Even though I haven't read the book, I've been told I need to. Dennis Lehane, the author, has had his share of books translated to screen in the last 7 years, "Mystic River", "Gone Baby Gone" and now "Shutter Island". I've read a collection of his short stories and Mystic River, and one comes to the conclusion that he writes in a way that rides a fine line between the semi-corny detective novels and classic mystery novels. If Dennis Lahane was a young adult in the 40's and 50's, he would have been the one to write the "Lone Ranger" books. The script does have it's share of exposition, where it feel very book-ish, where characters suddenly, but with some purposeful push, dump (for lack of a better word) a load of information out so us as the audience can understand a few things a little better. It doesn't happen often, but when it does, it's a bit of a distraction. Leonardo DiCaprio continues to prove that he is among the best actors working today. He was simply fantastic, as was the rest of the cast, but especially DiCaprio. While I wasn't moved to tears by any means, I was moved in a way that I felt a certain amount of frustration that his character had while conducting his investigation. Of all his films in the last 10 years, I really felt DiCaprio did quite a bit of research and let everything lose for this film. It shows. It was fun seeing Max von Sydow in the film, and one could say the role of the old psychiatrist was made for him, but it seemed the opposite of that for me. This role was given to him because he's Max von Sydow. I believe how Scorsese handled this film was smart. For me it seemed like he never acknowledged that it was a '"horror" film. So thinking of it as just drama with elevated suspense allowed him to jump of out what it could have been if another director tackled the script knowing they were making a horror film. I kept thinking of Kubrick and "The Shining" at times. "The Shining" is a great, if not obvious comparison of well respected director taking on the "horror" genre. Technically "Shutter Island" was what you'd expect from Scorsese, but he held back on some of his camera moves and editing from the last few years. I greatly appreciated that. I have been quietly vocal for years about how much I dislike the way Thelma Schoonmaker edits. I went so far as 'Booing' the television when she Won Oscars for editing "The Departed" and "The Aviator", that's how serious I feel about her editing. The last film she cut where I felt the insanity was justified was "Bringing out the Dead", otherwise it's been quick cuts and flashy for no other purpose than that's what Scorsese and Schoonmaker do. "Shutter Island" was easily Scorsese's best movie of the last 15 years.
Apollo_Faint-Of-Hearts More than 1 year ago
The previews for this movie emphasized a huge twist in the ending, and that said twist would be unforgettable. Well, I saw everything coming about 20 minutes into the movie, and I kind of feel like this movie in general was just weak for the reputation Scorsese and DiCaprio (especially together) have built for themselves. Those disappointments aside, it was an interesting movie. The acting did the film justice; Sir Ben Kingsley and DiCaprio played their characters with conviction. As I do with most movies, I recommend you give this a chance. It is at least worth saying you've seen.
dxftrgf5trgf More than 1 year ago
Get Free Coupon OFF $5 ON BN.COM ,Get From Website: www.baby7coupon.info
bridget3420 More than 1 year ago
I loved this movie! The plot and the acting were superb. This is definitely a DVD I want to add to my collection. If you're into the psychological thrillers, this is right up your alley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This movie was pretty good, but I had to watch it at least 3 times to understand it. It not horror, but more of mystery.
htry45ty More than 1 year ago
Get Free Coupon OFF $5 ON BN.COM ,Get From Website: www.baby7coupon.info
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago