×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow
     

Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow

4.0 19
Director: Kerry Conran

Cast: Gwyneth Paltrow, Jude Law, Angelina Jolie

 

See All Formats & Editions

Directed by Kerry Conran, Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow revolves around the mysterious disappearance of some of the world's most revered scientists. When an investigation is launched, Polly Perkins (Gwyneth Paltrow), reporter for the prestigious Chronicle, and Sky Captain (Jude Law), resident flying ace, are at the forefront of the case. Though the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
A film directed and made in the old way. Wonderful and welldone. The plots are dense and rich, the acting refers to the forties science-fi or thriller films. The acting is very peculiar: Gynneth Paltrow could be Laureen Bacall in Casablanca...The colors like a mastered old rediscovered film (extraordinary)! The montage is quick, dynamic, the attention constantly focused on a new adventure.Allusions to Indiana Jones, Buck Dany,Superman are numerous. It also made me think of spy-films made in the Forties. I enjoyed the quick and adventureful rhythm of this film. it needs to be appreciated in itself without too much comparisons to others. But finding the allusions is a real game when you see it more than one time. You never bore yourself.
CharmingTNT More than 1 year ago
I thought that this movie was very well done. It's hard to believe that a great deal of this movie was done on a green screen. Most of the background was completed on a computer. Watch the special features really showed the technical side of it. It's worth watching. I believe that it is meant for kids. It's sort of like watching a comic book movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This poor movie has gotten such a bad rap due to comparisons to other films. I think it needs to be appreciated on it's own merit. The craftsmanship and creativity demonstrated by the director is, I think, very ingenious. Yes, it is designed to look like some of the old black and white films but we can't make those anymore, nor should we expect anything to look like those classics. I think this takes an old format and puts a modern spin on it. And this is just the beginning..the next film like this will improve upon the concept!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film showcases some amazing visuals and a lighthearted sense of fun only rivaled by the Indiana Jones and Star Wars series. The acting is solid especially a digitally spliced performance by Sir Laurence Olivier, one that becomes erie when the true nature of his character is revealed. It is fast paced, adrennaline pumping and absolutely 100% entertaining! A must for any sci-fi fan or even a fan of classic cinema (there is a neat scene that uses a scene from the Wizard of Oz as a backdrop and the film's visual style makes it seem like the best sci-fi from the 40's that was never made.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sky Captain And The World Of Tomorrow Is Something You Have See On Blu-Ray Disc I Recommend That You Up Grade To Blu-Ray From Your Old Dvd?
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this movie. The FX are awesome, but the intentional soft focus began to irritate me after the first few minutes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an awsome movie with tons of awsome acting and action.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is a scients fiction lovers dream movie. A mix of reality and fantasy, comic book flashback. Movies like this is seldom seen on the big screen now a days. After leaving the theater I couldn`t wait to get it in dvd format. This is a must have for all scients fiction fans and lovers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie promised something it is not: fun. It is quite dull, not even a pale comparision to other adventures films like the Indiana Jones movies. And it is a pity, because both casting and special effects are great. The problem is the script and the pacing, which are uninteresting and superficial. I can not recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago