×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sleepy Hollow
     

Sleepy Hollow

4.4 74
Director: Tim Burton,

Cast: Johnny Depp, Christina Ricci, Miranda Richardson

 

See All Formats & Editions

Washington Irving's tale of Ichabod Crane and the Headless Horseman gets a few new twists in a screen adaptation directed by Tim Burton. In this version, Ichabod (Johnny Depp) is a New York City detective whose unorthodox techniques and penchant for gadgets make him unpopular with is colleagues. He is sent to the remote town of Sleepy Hollow to investigate a series

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sleepy Hollow 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 72 reviews.
InnocenceDiesAbbyDosent More than 1 year ago
Definatly in my top 10
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
you must know the story by now with icabod and the headless horseman in an entertaining adaptation of the classic story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Quite different from the mundane, original Sleepy Hollow, Burton twists the- call it as you will- fairy tale, into a horror story of dark settings and a vivid story line. Instead of the headless horseman being a man with no history or purpose, Burton molds him into blood craving Hessian mercenary, who's untimely death makes him an unwitting servant to a powerful and vengeful witch. While the movie does focus on Constable Crane (another turn from the original book) and his passion for Katrina, Christopher Walken's character (the horseman) steals the show. Due to some graphic content (mainly the removal of heads) the rating is necesary. I, however, recomend the movie to anyone and everyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sleepy Hollow is another one of the many movies based on a fantastic book. This movie is not for the weak-hearted though, there is a lot of heads rolling and blood and gore. Also the only reason I gave this 4 stars id because the movie has nothin 2 do with the book except the title.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved it, and was surprised how much! Johnny Depp's spot-on portrayal of the quirky and cowardly Ichabod is a refreshing spin on a well-known character and adds humor to an otherwise creepy tale. The setting and feel of the movie is classic Tim Burton. Absolutely fascinating to watch.
RefDeskDMB More than 1 year ago
A fairy tale horror story. Good acting and scenes. creates an atmosphere of another world. Well worth watching.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great movie. Even after seeing it a hundred times it still makes you jump. This movie will keep you on your toes and sreaming for more!! Cranes' personaltiy kept the movie slightly humerous while staying creepy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was one of the best halloween movies i have ever seen. The story was great, acting was great, the headless horseman was cool, awsome movie. (chelsea, a thousand curses upon you for dissing this movie)
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my favoret movie. Buy this movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tim Burton has spun a deliciously spooky, atmospheric retelling of the classic American legend of 'Sleepy Hollow', complete with flaming pumpkin heads and an underscore of witchcraft. Depp is utterly comic (and believable!) as the fainthearted investigator Ichabod Crane. Inspired by adolescent female detectives like Nancy Drew, Depp created the persona of Ichabod from the inside out, relying on inner bouts of squeamishness to convey his character, rather than adding on prosthetic ears and noses to make himself ''ugly'' and ''silly''. It is to Depp's credit that he is able to pull this off. Christina Ricci is radiant in her role of Katrina, a white Witch, and daughter of privilage who falls for the bumbling Ichabod. Miranda Richardson chews her usual scenery with relish, along with another famous scene stealer (whom I won't mention, lest it ruin his surprize entrance). The supporting cast is quirky and wonderful, capturing the flavor of colonial life in the olde Hudson River Valley...Tim Burton~style. It is the set that steals the show, however. Burton's eye for detail and his uniquely gothic vision has designed a ''Sleepy Hollow'' so exquisitely beautiful, from the ever present fog to the manmade western woods, gorgeously spooky with twisted branches and fallen autumn leaves...This is the forest of our collective childhoods, imbedded in our memory, dreamlike and haunting. His interiors are museum quality in authenticity of detail...every inch reveals thought and creativity. This film is a visual joy. I must also mention the sensitive handling of 'witchcraft' in this film. Hollywood almost never gets it *right*...but Burton obviously has a knowledge and understanding of the Old Ways. His sympathetic message is clear, and welcome. This is sure to become a Hallow's Eve *classic*. NOTE* The DVD version contains wonderful *Special features* including Behind the Scenes interviews on the making of the film, and it's crafty special effects. *BB*!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This spooky, chilling film is as dark as a mystery/horror film can get. Tim Burton does it again in directing this mystery/horror film that will for sure turn your blood cold and put a shiver down your spine. An excellent film with a cast to match, Sleepy Hollow is one of Tim Burton's best. Combining horror and mystery together, Sleepy Hollow is one of those films that you'll be kicking yourself if you miss. A gruesome yet great film, this is the better of 2 mystery/horror films that Johnny Depp has played in. The other was From Hell that was horrible. Certainly a comparison to Batman for it's dark atmosphere, Sleepy Hollow is one of the best mystery/horror films that have hit the big screen. You have own this film if you haven't yet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i think sleepy hollow is a good movie for adults but not for children
Guest More than 1 year ago
I believe that this movie is an excellent movie. I think that this well known movie is an excellent movie for adults and children who are above the age of 14. Buy this movie!! Trust me you will wanna watch this movie on Halloween night!! The first time I saw this movie I was jumping!!! Recommended: The Sixth Sense starring Haley Joel Osment and Bruce Willis.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sleepy Hollow was a really bad movie. the special effects weren't realistic and it was extremely gory. It didn't hold my attention and it just basically stunk!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tim Burton, in his recreation of the Legend of ''Sleepy Hollow'', uses an all-star cast headed by Johnny Depp that tells the tale of the headless horseman to perfection. In the film, Icabod Crane(played by Depp), is a detective at the turn of the twentieth century that is way ahead of his time by using scientific methods to solve mysterious crimes. So that he is satisfied in his desire to use these methods, Crane is sent from New York to the town of Sleepy Hollow where several reported murders have occurred. Spookily enough, every one of the victims of murder in the small town has been found with their head cleanly lopped from their body! The movie progresses when Icabod Crane reaches the town of Sleepy Hollow and stumbles across the beautiful witch Katrina(played by Cristina Ricci). As many more murders occur that are characterized by the typical decapitation of vicitims of the supposed headless horseman, Crane slowly catches on to a plot of several of the town¿s most prosperous farmers and then to the evil witchery involving the headless horsemen committed by Katrina¿s stepmother! Filled with suspense and on top of an appropriately dreary background, the classic tale is retold by Burton and leaves the viewer in awe. Definitely a great selection to get you in the mood this Halloween!
Super_Matthew More than 1 year ago
Two words: Tim Burton. That honestly should be enough for you. If you like dark, tragic, scary, love stories...this is right up your allow. Give it a shot. It's just a plain gory fun.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thikn that the movie, Sleepy Hollow, was an excellent. All my friends enjoyed it, and it had all the great qualities and makings of a superb movie. It had attractive actors (Johnny Depp), a well-known plot, yet with more detail, new twists, and more information and explanation behind the tale. I could watch this movie forever, and if you see it, I think that you will agree.
Guest More than 1 year ago
what a great movie, I saw this movie and dropped because it was just so good. Although after i saw From Hell it reminded me so much of this movie. But even still this movie kicked so much @#%!!!!!!