×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Spider-Man 2
     

Spider-Man 2

4.3 61
Director: Sam Raimi

Cast: Tobey Maguire, Kirsten Dunst, James Franco

 

See All Formats & Editions

Stan Lee's all-too-human superhero returns to the screen in this highly anticipated sequel to 2002's blockbuster hit Spider-Man. Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire) is attempting to juggle college classes and his job as a photographer with the Daily Bugle while maintaining his secret life as costumed crime-fighter Spider-Man. Parker is also struggling to hold

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Spider-Man 2 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 61 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spiderman 2 is a Sam Raimi directed movie. What separates this movie from the other Spiderman movies is the quality of the villain: Doctor Octupus. Doctor Octopus who allows his machine control him instead of vice versa. The genre is action, and the action is great. The overall message of the movie is don't let yourself be controlled by your situation. The movie is about Peter Parker being Spiderman. After a failed experiment, his mentor turns into a Supervillian and he must combat him, leading to new problems for him and his family.
Walterama More than 1 year ago
Spider-Man 2 is the best superhero movie ever and also one of my favorite movies. Spider-Man 2 has join the list of other movie sequels that were better than the first film: The Dark Knight, Superman II, X2: X-Men United, Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, and Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
i think i like SPiderman 2 more than Spiderman, the first movie. i recommend this movie. there's more action and the interaction with peter and mj is great.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I did not really like the first Spiderman movie, but this one is, to date, the best of the super-hero movies. After watching it the only thing it leaves you wanting is for the sequel to be out sooner than 2007. There is only one scene that I think should have been done differently. When Octavius is in the hospital, what follows is somewhat brutal. Other than that it is a great show.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this was pretty good and liked it better than the first but the first was alright too equally.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Spider-man 2 is a film of all proportions. It opens up with a view of reality in that being a super-hero when you're not a billionaire, or a man from another planet (aka Superman), is very self-sacrificing, and that Peter realizes who he should really spend time with. So in a sense this where Parker becomes mature, and where the Spider-man series actually matures a bit as well. In fact each character matures- unlike any super-hero movie, the characters now live different lives as the aftermath of the first film. As the film's posters are titled, 'Sacrifice', 'Destiny', 'Choice'. These become the maturity themes throughout the film. The computer-graphics were improved though similar to the first motion picture (Spider-man). Though, in the second, Tobey Maguire is more on the set, and more in the air with the actors- instead of Kirsten screaming and holding onto objects before a blue screen, she is actually there with him. Then there are the puppet or muppet like arms of Octavius, each arm with its own personality. And of course Aunt Mae & Jonah-the abnoxious boss, the unique supporting characters that stay true to their comic form, as do most of the characters. Now the second film did not give me the same reaction as the first film, because it was set a different level. The first film was more of a fun and happy summer blast movie, especially during its time, in early 2002. But the second movie is more of a story movie, some who may have not seen the first movie, may think that this movie is a cheerful, yet underlying drama at first. Then comes the action, but it seemed more quiet then in the first movie, and much more quickly done. Spider-man 2 is very unique, besides being a direct part 2, the plotline displays some parallels that show who Peter was and who he has become. For example the two scenes of rescuing children from a burning apartment; and in both scenes he readily steps up to his fear, and shows that whether he's a super hero or not, he has the power to shield off fear. Now I could go on about the Philosophy of the Spider-man films, but that would take up a few pages of B&N's web property. I was however disappointed both by the fact it could have had more umf, and more bang. Now Danny Elfman had an amazing soundtrack in both movies- in fact all of the movies he's made pieces for. And in Spider-man 2 he pulled off a great display of music, but I think the sound editors could easily add more flow with the music. But still, Danny Elfman and John Williams are really the top king composers of the motion picture. Another disappointment was some random blanks in the movie, an example, the eating cake scene or the trying-to-close-the-door-to-the-cleaning-closet scene. Now Hopefully in sequel in 2006, the characters aren't over mature and are not played by older actors, because I do not know anyone else who can fit the exact characters that Mr. Marvel invented than this cast. Also Super Hero/ Comic book movies are booming in the not-too distant future: Man-thing Oct. 2004 Pixar's the Incredibles Nov. 2004 Fantastic Four June 2005 Batman Begins Summer 2005
Guest More than 1 year ago
I so loved watching spider man 2 in theater.A brillant film to see with your family and friends. I give Spider Man 5 big stars to fly about.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i really don't like both of the spider-man movies but this one was better than the first but i still don't like it at all i don't like movies like spider-man because they are all sorry i can say this too it had a better villian then the first one too
gravity More than 1 year ago
Until the Dark Knight brought comic book movies to a new level, Spiderman 2 was THAT MOVIE. Excellent special effects and moreover, a down-to-earth script that really showed the growth and turmoil surrounding Peter Parker and his identity in contnuing being Spiderman. Also, the inner conflicts concerning his invlovement and remorse of his Uncle Ben's death. But the most surprising was his revealing of his superhero side to his long time love Mary Jane -- that was something I definetly did not expect to have happened so early in the series. All together a great film. With a most troublesome villian that has help from eight other "smart-arms". Certainly, a must see.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Finally, Hollywood is starting to understand that the only way to have a comic book movie work is to treat the world of the comic book seriously. I enjoyed this movie so much more than I did the first Spider-Man. Don't get me wrong--it was a fun, cute, campy movie, but it didn't have the edge-of-the-seat tension this movie does. Spoiler Alert: I loved the scene where Spider-man saves the L-train. It had the heart of the movie: Spider-man is just a kid, sometimes a scared kid, who is trying to help. I loved the compassion the people showed to Peter, and I loved the fact that they tried to rescue him. Granted, they didn't stand a snowball's chance, but at least they tried. I also loved the fact that Doc Ack had elements of the heroic, even when he was in full villian mode. All in all, the movie had moments of humor, moments when the hero failed to be a hero, but never failed to treat the world of the hero as real.
Sherlock_Holmes More than 1 year ago
Rating: 94% An improvement on its predecessor, Spider-Man 2 scores high with its excellent characters, plot, and visuals.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best super hero movie hands down, if you pay attenion you see that there's not one flaw.but it could have been more violent,the story is way better than the batman's.the cgi is soooo!!realalistic,the plot is great, tons of action is awesome ,and the train scene is on of the best action squince's ever!!!and on top of that the acting great it's a must have
Guest More than 1 year ago
i saw it a couple of days after is came to theaters on july 5th i can say it was better then the first but i still didn't like it much it had way too much comedy and i don't like that in super hero movies but it was alright .
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recently saw 'Spider-Man 2' and I agree: it's a lot better than the original.There's a more threating villian,improved effects,and(like in 'Harry Potter 3')a more emotional and mature hero.Peter's only immature act is when he decides to quit being Spider-Man and he starts ignoring people in need.(That just doesn't seem right since heroes are known for being brave and selfless.)But Peter realizes his mistake in the nick of time and returns to his do-gooder ways(whew!).As I said before, the special effects are much better. Peter really looks like he's soaring over skyscrapers and Doc Ock's tenecales are truly menacing.The best thing about the movie though is its heart.In the original 'Spider-Man' we saw Spidy's fans throwing garbage at the Green Goblin and sticking up for their hero(even if they didn't know who he was). Here Spidy is unmasked before Mary Jane,Doc Ock,and the people he saves on a runaway train.These are very moving scenes because they show that even though Spider-Man is a superhuman,he's still a human.In short,great movie,great story.See it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
For me "both" Spiderman movies have hit the mark. I don't think either were perfect movies but still easily good enough to qualify as "outstanding" cinema. Fun comic bookish adventure abounds and director Sam Raimi should be commneded for his efforts in both installments of Spiderman. Good fun! Both films grade out as solid A- films for me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THE FIRST SPIDERMAN WAS AWESOME, THIS ONE IS 1,000,000 TIMES BETTER, NO JOKE, EVEN IF YOU HATED THE FIRST ONE THIS ONE IS SOOO MUCH BETTER A GREAT GREAT MOVIE, THE STORYLINE IS SOOOO SMOOTH AND COMPELLING, AND THE GRAPHICS ARE TOO GOOD!!! BUY! BUY!
Jay_Godzilla_fan More than 1 year ago
Loved it and was surprised to love it! Being as how I didn¿t think they can make such a good part one and make a part 2 just as good. BUT THEY DID!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really liked this movie! This movie makes an effort to try to 'stick to the first' plot and storyline like the firt one did! I really liked that. The characters are more matured and have moved on with their lives, this none other than Peter Parker (Spidey) who tries to show everyone, especially MJ that he's "really changed." Everyone has changed, a huge benefit to the new plot and storyline, which in the first one had tried to portray them like teenage high school students. I really liked this movie...GOOD WORK!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is what movies whould be like. They should be action packed, thrilling, exciting, and fun. Spiderman 2 is all that and more. It is one of the most well done movies I have ever encountered. It kept me on the edge of my seat. It's better than the original by far and definatly the best superhero movie I have ever seen. The acting is terrific and the action is non stop. I can not give this movie enough complements. The great thing about it is even if you are not a fan of super hero movies you will still love this one. I was not at all surprised when it became the best reviewed film of the year. Finally the movie critics know what there talking about. It is a ten out of ten.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw this in theatres with my friend and we both loved it. So much better than the first. Everyone did their parts very well and I'm looking foward to buying this on DVD.
WWWchicky More than 1 year ago
My honest opinion is that this movie is twenty times better than the first. It has action, romance, and a few little twists that make your heart stop--literally. Plus, there's the famous train scene where...well, I guess you'll just have to watch the movie, huh? So grab a buddy, stuff your face with popcorn, drink a liter of soda, and watch Spider-Man 2.1!
KYLE-relationshipmanager More than 1 year ago
When I fisrt saw Spiderman 1, i thought it would be boring, I've seen the trailer of the first flick and it didn't catch my attention. The computer graphics are not so ok, and besides, I already know the history of Spiderman since childhood. But I still gave the movie a chance. It was fun though, I must admit, I enjoyed the flick and couldn't hardly wait foe the sequel. And then Spiderman 2 came. The movie was great! More sophisticated than the first one, the graphics are good, and the story was a blast! I love the second sequel the most, specially the part when Mary Jane discovered the truth about Peter Parker. The fight scenes were incredible, the director and his crew really did a good job on this one. The love story between Peter and MJ, the silent war between harry and Peter, and the mad scientist Doc Oc and Spiderman, it was amazing. I hope Spiderman 4 is on it's way..:)