×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Stephen King's The Mist
     

Stephen King's The Mist

3.5 25
Director: Frank Darabont

Cast: Thomas Jane, Marcia Gay Harden, Laurie Holden

 

See All Formats & Editions

Frequent Stephen King collaborator Frank Darabont (The Shawshank Redemption) teamed with the celebrated horror author once again for this tale of terror concerning a small town engulfed by a malevolent mist, based on a story originally published in King's 1985 horror anthology Skeleton

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Stephen King's The Mist 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow! Was this movie another one in the long list of jinxed Stephen King adaptions, or was it just a bad movie all upon its own sorryful merits? I was kind of "jazzed" to see this one. I really like Frank Darabont (The Director), a friend said it had a "really nice sci-fi rationale" to it, and I was just in the mood to get a good "jump" from a monster movie. Very Disappointing. The person I watched it with asked why I didn't "jump" just then? The scares were so predictable & telegraphed I responded "how could I." As to the ending - I sat hoping so very hard that it was not going to go in the foolish direction that it in fact went. This is a perfect example of leaving you wondering what these "experts" are really thinking. The effort & money squandered, to end on such a pitiful ending. I guess the one "highlight" comes through-out the middle in its depiction of the dangerous mob mentality that can take place from fear & ignorance. In this movie the Humans are 100 times more frightening than the monsters. Maybe that was the point, and if so "cheers" to Mr. darabont, but this still doesn't attone for this ending. I am still "stinging" from paying for the two disk version to get my "scare" from the a B & W version. Oh, and waisting two hours of my life in watching it. OUCH!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw this movie in the theatres and totally jumped almost every time a monster was their I saw this movie because tom jane was in it and I totally loved the Punisher and also you will definetly cry at the end I know I did.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie started off okay as most Stephen King movies do. But as usual there has to be a crazy person in it and this one was a supposed Christian. Talk about giving Christians a bad name! Anyway, I think the best part of the movie was the mist and not knowing when or if something was going to jump out at you. The creatures were frighening, but once again the ending was another dismal King failure. I'm still kicking myself for purchasing THE MIST and my family still insists it was the best comedy they've ever seen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please will something really hideous devour me where I type, because I am looking at this movie averaging 3.5 stars. People....thats 1.5 stars from it being a Godfather, a Saving Private Ryan, a Blade Runner, a Dark Knight, a Descent, a Titanic, an Alien, a Gladiator, a Shawshank Redemption....OK, I'll stop, but really this is astonishing. I will not even get into plot details, other than to say that the director Frank Darabont, whom I really admire from the aformentioned Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile, should be sanctioned by the Directors Guild over this movie, if for nothing else then the absolute horrendousness of the absurdity at the ending. I sat dumbfounded as I could "smell" it coming yet kept saying "nah, no way, he wouldn't possibly end it in such a bush-league way." But boy he sure did. And I also wasted the money to be this disappionted in a special black & white version too, not to mention that I lost 2 hours of my life watching it that I can never retrieve. In trying to decide where to dispose of this movie, I automatically started thinking of just burying it in the back yard, until the wife mentioned that no grass will probally grow there next summer. Definitely a sign of the apocolypse when this movie can accumulate 3.5 stars. .....PS - If my review seems too over-zealous to be taken seriously, well to those of you who may read this before watching, I am going to try as hard as the charachters in this movie who tried to save people from their fates.....this movie was a trully BAD flick capped by a abominable ending. Watch if you must, you have been warned!
DEMONTHE7TH More than 1 year ago
Oh, come come. This movie was actually pretty great. Not the best I've ever seen, but good nonetheless. I enjoyed the ending, because it wasn't cliche like most movies. It's atleast worth a watch.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this was a disgrace overall. so much time invested with catchy, intriguing parts... the story was interesting for a while. many of the characters were believable and the revelation of ignorance and desperation that turned into brainwashing and violence got me thinking. the monster pursuits were unique but sometimes repetitive, and the way the group finds out that the military was responsible/invoved was creative... that's all the positive feedback i can think to give. then, the most horrible, gut-wrenching, faith-zapping, disservicing ending possible. it leaves you with no hope or happiness. it is the worst psychological message that i could imagine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i've never heard of the book but when it said stephen king you automatically know its gonna be weird and scary. this is the story of a group of people, a creepy foggy mist, a WTH ending and of course the most annoying character you ever seen on screen that you can remember. the monsters looked cool especially the octopus. believe me this is better than cloverfield and yes it'll remind you of that. this is like a regular 90s movie type feeling. maybe a little overacting but it wasn't that bad.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While the overall plot line for the beginning, and middle were pretty much spot on, the character development was shoddy at best. But what got me worst and was the most disappointing was the "Shocking Ending", the producers totally flipped the very thesis of the written work from hope to despair. I was majorly disappointed with the movie and will be disposing of it immediately.
Chancie More than 1 year ago
The Mist? Hm...how to describe this one...? How about "infuriating?" But I'll get to that in just a second.

The plot of The Mist is quite basic. Happy city until a weird fog covers everything and when someone goes into it, the person is attacked and killed by something. It focuses on a group of people trapped in a grocery store, FYI.
Eh...the plot was alright at first. Kind of weird (pterodactyl-type creatures about the size of a dog? Really? o_O Along with giant spiders and dragonflies. Very nice...) but tolerable. Not all that original but something that's ok to see. Now, the brutality of these creatures is a tad sickening in some parts but not too big a deal.

You have your average cliche cast, as well. You've got the one (I think he was the store manager?) trying to keep everyone calm and level-headed. Then you have the father trying to protect his son. Then there's the psycho religious "this is God's punishment for our sins!" woman, which will definitely be on your "must die" list from the very beginning. Then there's the guy who's sure there's nothing out there and everyone's faking it to trick him. And then...well, you just have your generic stupid people.

It has its slow moments and its stupid moments and the moments that will make you laugh from their stupidity. Uh...yeah...that's a quick summary of it.

Then you get the "shocking" ending. Shocking, indeed. This was what made me pretty much hate the movie. I mean...seriously? That's your "solution?" Nice little slap in the face for you too.

You don't have to exactly avoid this one...but brace yourself to chuck the disc out a window after the ending. Had it not been for that, this movie just may have gotten 2 or 3 stars.
MasterGrey More than 1 year ago
Good characters, good acting, good effects and weird creatures and great foggy kinda spooky feel. Although not really scary its is exciting and the ending just kinda makes the movie.
Kasia_S More than 1 year ago
I thought that this movie was a lot of fun! There was the usual mayhem that arises very quickly when people are trapped in one place together, within a day or two in books and movies they start acting crazy and give aliens and monsters reasons to mock us, for trying to end our lives when things go wrong or there is no way out. Well this was no exception, when a small Maine town ( hey it's a King story, of course it's in Maine) gets enveloped in a thick, cloying mist, those fortunate enough who have escaped early can wave goodbye to their friends and family members because something strange is happening and the chances of any survivors are glum.

When David Drayton and his son make a quick trip to the supermarket for supplies after an electrical storm, they have no idea that the store will be their salvation and damnation at the same time. Once the store door closes and the fog closes in, screams in the distance tell everyone that this is no ordinary case of bad weather, not only is it mysterious but it houses creepy creatures that honestly scared and shocked me. The first time David encounters the blood hungry things in the mist is an unforgettable experience, paranoia adds another layer of terror as people who don't believe him need to see it for themselves and that is the beginning of the end. This horror flick was a lot of fun but also kept me in great suspense for almost the entire time, a little draining but worth it except I don't recommend getting too attached to any characters....some of them didn't last very long, and the ways their last moments ended were truly excruciating.

The movie was pretty fast paced; the acting realistic enough and the creatures were not all CG, so that was refreshing. Highly recommended for lovers of suspense and terror and of course banging endings, this one was shocking and quite honestly very raw, almost painful in a strange way when no amount of relief the ending brought could erase the events that perspired before the last minutes.

- Kasia S.
NicNac More than 1 year ago
COME ON!!!! If you see this movie, STOP IT when the truck runs out of gas! I am WARNING YOU! You will break the disk and HATE Stephen King. I love most of King's stories, but this was INSANE. Coming from a MOTHER of a SON... this is totally UN-NECESSARY. WHY? Really? WHO would really GIVE UP? I wish I would have never watched this movie. Sadly I was so excited to rent it, now I want to BURN it! I hear the book has a diffrent ending, too bad... not interested.. thx tho!
spacegirl77 More than 1 year ago
The movie fine.But the ending was bad.I mean bad.Turn it off when they run out of gas cuz the main character kills everyone to spare them,but then the milatery come.If you watch the ending,be prepared to burn it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a lover of Horror movies, especially Stephen King's movies and books. I think he still has what it takes to make a good movie. The Mist was just a little different, terribly scary, but its there. The best part I like about King's movies is how the events could relate in real life meaning, what if it could happen, and that, to me make these movies scary. He'll always be No.1 in my book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago