×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Suspiria
     

Suspiria

4.4 12
Director: Dario Argento,

Cast: Dario Argento, Jessica Harper, Joan Bennett, Alida Valli

 

See All Formats & Editions

A candy-colored nightmare from Italian terror maestro Dario Argento, Suspiria weaves a menacing tale of witchcraft as a fairy tale gone horribly awry. From the moment she arrives in Freiberg, Germany, to attend the prestigious Tans Academy, American ballet-dancer Suzy Banyon (Jessica Harper) senses that something horribly evil lurks within the walls of the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Suspiria 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sykil More than 1 year ago
Heaven knows that Suspiria isn't winning any awards for groundbreaking plot or script. As far as that goes, there are a whole host of other horror classics to watch. But Suspiria holds its own in the history of great horror flicks by virtue of its beautiful cinematography. Though a relatively obscure film, its influence is far-reaching and obvious to those that have experienced it.
ChandlerSwain More than 1 year ago
"Suspiria" is the grand-daddy of obtuse, psychodelic cinema of the fantastic; a great bold canvas of pseudo-formal colorful splashes of nightmarish imagery signifying nothing except the vacuous imagination of director Dario Argento (whose only significant contribution to cinema is daughter Asia) and the insatiable appetite of a continuously growing cult of sadistic sensation mongers that worship this film as if it were the Sermon on the Mount. The film concerns a young ingenue played by a mannered and unappealing Jessica Harper, who attends a mysterious dance school controlled by a coven of witches. This much is clear from the press materials, as nothing can be interpreted by this vomitous mixture of giallo and freak show hokum. Alida Valli, luminous star of Carol Reed's magnificent "The Third Man" is a participant in this fiasco and her presence is doubly depressing when it leads to the consideration of the tragic fall of standards in the cinema. DVD colors are strikingly vivid and the sound is excellent (despite the viewer being sledgehammered by the "score"/noise of Goblin), and there are plentiful extras celebrating the accomplishment of Argento, though curiously not one person can tell you what any of this is supposed to mean. (Perhaps it was simply the result of Mr. Dickens' "undigested bit of beef.") The film is simply a magnet for mindless thrill seekers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jessica Harper stars as Suzy Banyon, a young American ballet dancer who goes to a dance school in Germany. During the first 20 minutes of the film 2 people are killed in a gory sequence. Then sunddenly her friend is killed. Now Suzy must escape the evil and the wrath of Madam Blanke and Miss Tanner. Suspiria was made in 1977 and still going strong. "Dario Argentio's Horror Masterpiece!" This is the most scariest giallo horror film ever! "Once you've seen SUSPIRIA you'll never feel safe in the dark again!" I'm serious, you will not regret seeing SUSPIRIA!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This has the best use of color i've ever seen in a horror movie and the best use of red i've seen in cinema history. Dario Argento is a master of the craft, a visual genius.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Suspiria is in one word a masterpiece. Any cinephile should view this flm once, it excells in every aspect. Filmed on an out of print stock of kodak film the images seem to throb on the screen with a lurid pulse. The sound design is wonderful but the real star of the film is the soundtrack courtesy of the one and only Goblins. The film is violent in the extreme but every thing is so beautifully orchestrated you'll feel like you're watching the delirious nightmares of mad artistic genius. Suspiria is like a beautiful white silk handkerchief soaking up a pool of blood. Five stars is not enough.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film was partly inspired by Walt Disney's Snow White. The innocent child in deadly peril at the hands of a coven of witches. You will never forget the vivid colors of this movie, and the music will also leave a lasting impression. The first murder in the movie is shocking, and so vivid that you can almost feel the knife wounds yourself! A classic that all horror fans should see at least once.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My introduction to Dario Argento was Suspiria. This movie had some very disturbing scenes, all the better! I liken it to the weird brilliance of David Lynch. This movie was released in 77, perhaps Mr. Lynch got some inspiration from this movie too? The music perfomed by Goblin was a perfect addition to this dark and mysterious movie. Did I say dark? Well, that is my one complaint. I rented the VHS version, and it may well have been my TV, but the movie was so dark, I couldn't see everything I wanted to see. Other than that, all I can say is I can't wait to see the DVD version. Very recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you rent this movie expecting a complex plot full of twists and turns, you will absolutely loath this film. But if you watch it with an open mind and an eye for style, you should like it. Director Dario Argento creates wonderful atmosphere in the film by giving all of the sets a very strange and unusual feel, using a wonderfully chilling score by the band Goblin, and adding grotesque, odd colored lighting (blues, reds, and greens). The plot (if there really is one at all) involves a young American who enrolls in a German dance academy where black magic is performed. Needless to say, strange things start happening and people start dying. It is truly amazing how the director can take such a basic, plain plot and turn it into an extravagant horror thriller. This film is not only a wonderful example of style over substance, but also an example of how horror can truly be beautiful...