×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street
     

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

4.6 120
Director: Tim Burton

Cast: Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Alan Rickman

 

See All Formats & Editions

Stephen Sondheim's award-winning musical thriller comes to the big screen in this adaptation directed by Tim Burton and starring Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Sacha Baron Cohen, Timothy Spall, and Alan

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 120 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this movie--seen it 7 times and counting. Perfectly cast and now I have a new dream role to play: Mrs. Lovett. Kudos to the great acting and singing--and remaining in character doing so. I did cut back on meat eating and going to restaurants after watching this movie, though...
Guest More than 1 year ago
burton and depp movies never dissapoint me, especially this one. at first when i saw it i was like &quot what was THAT???&quot then like 3 days later i was like, &quot whoa that was kinda good.&quot and now im OBSESSED with it. every time i went out and found this movie for sale and had it at my fingertips, i seemed to be broke. but recently i finally bought it and cant stop watching it. you wont regret seeing it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Best musical I've ever seen. Depp and Carter surprised me with how well they sang. Burton does a great job capturing grim london. Cohen does a great turn as signor pirelli. Get the 2 disc treatment. The extras are worth it.
mvaluri More than 1 year ago
The famous Broadway show transformed to the screen. It is well done. I wanted to own it for the duet between Johnny Depp and Alan Rickman alone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I Loved This Movie It Was Da Bomb You Must See
Guest More than 1 year ago
When it comes to a work of the musical stage it is difficult to imagine a finer one than Stephen Sondheim's SWEENEY TODD: THE DEMON BARBER OF FLEET STREET. For those who saw the original 1979 Hal Prince extravagant production starring Angela Lansbury and Len Cariou/George Hearn, and then the 2005 revival as condensed so creatively by John Doyle and re-orchestrated by Sarah Travis who placed the orchestral instruments in the hands of the 10 actors who tell the story of the strange Todd, the Tim Burton (screenplay reduction by Josh Logan) film will only enhance the pleasures of seeing SWEENEY TODD resurrected in yet another form. Each of these incarnations has its riches and together they establish Sondheim's work as a masterpiece. Johnny Depp makes a convincing Sweeney Todd, in looks and demeanor as well as in singing voice, and Helena Bonham Carter's Mrs. Lovett fits right into Tim Burton's vision of the dark, squalid and seedy London. Timothy Spall is perfect as the oily Beadle, Alan Rickman makes Judge Turpin an understandable villain, Jamie Campbell Bower and Jayne Wisener are suitably infatuated young lovers, and Sacha Baron Cohen and Ed Sanders give top flight cameos as Signor Pirelli and Toby. The one advantage of seeing this fine film on DVD is the option of turning on the subtitles so as not to miss a word of Sondheim's superb lyrics. For this viewer, however, the most successful version of this 'opera' is the John Doyle production currently on the boards in Los Angeles with Judy Kaye as the most satisfying Mrs. Lovett on record. This uniquely economical and endlessly creative production goes to the core of the work better than any other version, and if this traveling company comes anywhere near your home, go see it! It is the essential SWEENEY TODD and a fine adjunct to seeing the film version again and again. Grady Harp
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sweeney Todd is an immense landmark in movie cinema history. Never has a movie combined horror/thriller with musical. From the beginning to the end, with the stunning music and the phenomenal performances from all of the actors, this is by far Burtons best and most controversial film.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dare you watch this wonderful movie? This is a fantastic film. I never thought they'd make one. I knew this musical long before Tim Burton's verison came along. I was like about tweleve when I first heard about it. I had this strange feeling that Alan Rickman would be perfect for the role of Judge Turpin!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sweeney Todd is a musical. But it is not a light hearted feel good musical. There is blood, blood, and much more blood. To see it once was enough for me. I like Johnny Depp and this movie is right up his alley. I had always wanted to see Sweeney Todd, which is a Broadway musical. Little did I know it was gorey and bloody. I already warned a coworker not to see this musical. It is very dark. It is a period piece about old England. Don't watch this with young children. They would have nightmares for nights from this. Gruesome is another descriptive word for this movie. I'm sure if you like Nightmare on Elmstreet this is nothing. I do not enjoy Halloween type movies. I don't recommend this movie if blood and senseless death bother you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When i first went to see this movie i thought that it would be pretty bad because it is a musical and all but i was way wrong. It had a great cast, and the best part about it is all the gore. when he slits a throat blood sprays in all directions and hits the camera. The thing i was the most suprised about in this movie was that i didnt know that Johnny Depp was such a good singer. take my advice if you like blooddy movies and Depp like i do uu will love this movie and watch it over and over again. Go buy this movie today.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this movie is the best movie ive ever seen i dont even like musicals but i love this movie Johnny Depp is an awesome actor and i love all of his movies but this is my favorit he is an incredible singer and i love him in this movie if you r a Johnny Depp fan you have to add this to your colection you will love it.
LedgerFan1979 More than 1 year ago
I know half of the people that have seen this say it sucked and the other half enjoyed it.I am one of those people who absolutely enjoyed it.I loved it.I mean the first time I saw this I didn't know what to think but eventually it soaked in and I was amazed.I have to say this wasn't half bad considering that this was Mr.Depp's first musical.Tim Burton is my favorite director and Johnny is my second favorite actor.If it wasn't for Heath Ledger he would be my favorite actor.He surprised me with his singing.I thought it wasn't half bad.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wonderful movie. i am the last person on earth to get interested in a bloody and gory musical like this. but tim burton has filmed the story with so much dignity and class that i couldn't help but get absorbed in the story and its emotions. johnny depp once again proves that he is the most versitile actor of his generation. helena steals the show as mrs lovett, and makes this amoral character so lovable. the supporting actors &quot alan rickman, timothy spall, jamie bowers, jayne wisener, sacha baron cohen and edward sanders&quot all match up to johnny and helena and leave great impressions. all actors deliver amazing vocal performances and not once did i tire from any of the songs. dante ferretis art direction is superb! definitely this movie is once of the best films from 2007. must watch!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was absolutely first rate - Johnny Depp's acting is phenomenal and his singing voice was a wonderful surprise! He is so passionate and effective as the hurting and vengeful "anti-hero". If you are a true fan of JD, you will be captivated by his portrayal of this tortured soul. Helene Bonham-Carter is just perfectly adorable and so effective as Mrs. Lovitt - and the rest of the cast excel!! The sets are magnificent and draw you deeply into that dark time of old English history - Loved it!!! CV
GoldenEye2D More than 1 year ago
If you like Tim Burton, this movie is a good investment. I enjoy all of Tim Burton's films, I like his artistic style and his carisma. The setting is in old London, The Locale is dark, much like "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow." Some people seem to think it is overly gorey, but I didn't find myself disgusted. There is an excessive amount of blood drained, but the blood is a bright color on a dull setting, almost like paint. Very artistic! What the story evolves into is crazy, and almost humorous! The actors did a wonderful job, with their characters. I was surprised by their singing voices. The music tied the events together, and the story led to a traggic ending. Very Entertaining! I'm glad I purchased this movie, and I wish I had gotten it sooner.
fangirl166 More than 1 year ago
Johnny depp is amazing in this movie. not for the faint of heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
it is the best movie ever!it is my favorite movie. you feel a great leap of joy in your hart.it's captavating you want to see it over and over.