×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Big Lebowski
     

The Big Lebowski

4.6 57
Director: Joel Coen

Cast: Jeff Bridges, John Goodman, Julianne Moore

 

See All Formats & Editions

The plot of this Raymond Chandler-esque comedy crime caper from the Coen Brothers (Joel Coen and Ethan Coen) pivots around a case of mistaken identity complicated by extortion, double-crosses, deception, embezzlement, sex, pot, and gallons of White Russians (made with fresh cream, please). In 1991, unemployed '60s refugee Jeff "The Dude" Lebowski (Jeff Bridges)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Big Lebowski 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
Rob More than 1 year ago
This has to be one of the most solidly constructed movies out there. Underrated when it originally hit theaters, it has since achieved cult status. The character development is excellent, the situational comedy - hilarious, and practically every line in the movie is quotable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
arguably one of the funniest and most quotable movies of all time. i cannot count the number of times i've watched this, or the number of people i've shown it to. it may not be unreasonable to say that anyone who doesn't get this movie isn't worth knowing. donny, please.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this movie is fantastic. Jeff Bridges as the dude is amazing. It's a breathtakingly wacky and unpredicatable variation on a noir theme. John Goodman is...uh...oh, I lost my train of thought.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heavy_Metal_Sushi More than 1 year ago
This is such a great cult classic! Words can't even describe how much I crack up at this movie! I upgraded to Blu-Ray a while back, and so of course when this limited edition Blu-Ray came out, I was all over it! There is an awesome collectable booklet within, and several cool features. Probably my favorite of them is the Mark It Dude feature, which tallies up all of the dudes, Lebowski-isms, and F-bombs throught the movie, (and there are quite a few F-bombs, but the use of most of them are pretty funny). All in all, a great film. If you have never seen this movie and can tollerate the language, I highly recommend checking this out if you haven't already seen it! "The Dude abides!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
this movie is great. possible up there with all time funniest!
Guest More than 1 year ago
On the surface, ''The Big Lebowski'' may appear to be pretty mundane: a bum who curses a lot gets mistaken for a rich guy and this causes him problems. However, the Coen Brother's ability to meld genres (everything from comedy, noir, 60 psychadlia, and performance art are represented in ''Lebowski'') coupled with one of the most language rich scripts used for a film in years, create a great movie and a wonderful way to spend an hour an a half. What's more, The brothers Coen are of the few auteurs who are still working in cinema. Their use of lighting, editing, and color (I dare you to find a scene in the entire movie that does not use the blue and green motif) make it a brilliant visual experience as well. Do yourself a favor: buy this movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Upon first viewing this movie, I walked away wondering what the big deal was. And then I saw it a second time, and a third, and a 4th...and on, and on, and on. I can't count how many times I've seen it and I still laugh every time I see it. The characters are truly amazing. Jeff Bridges as 'The Dude' is a genius performance. If you've only seen this movie once, you haven't seen it enough.
Guest More than 1 year ago
my favorite movie of all time...my friends and i quote the movie non stop. two thumbs up!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Never has a movie been so overlooked. Bridges and Goodman surpassed Oscar-worthy. Rent it, buy it, but please don't miss the point. The Big Lebowski is, in the words of Maude a ''zesty enterprise''
XmacAttack More than 1 year ago
This is a HILARIOUS movie. Jeff Bridges, John Goodman, and Steve Buscemi are truely great. Kidnapping, bowling, nihilism, and bad porn-can it get much better? While Bridges carries the movie, I think Goodman has some of the best lines and the most interesting character.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very funny flick. A lot of cussing but stands out. One of the best soundtracks ever. One of my favorites. See what happens Larry.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a superior movie and certainly overlooked by the so-called film critics. Maybe it was the use of the eFf word that turned so many people off, but regardless, this movie is hilarious. The characters and their diatribes are nothing short of brilliant. This slice of Americana blue-collar laugh a minute comedy is definitely worth your time. Sit down with a friend, grab some oat sodas or some White Russians, and take a drink every time you hear the eFf word or eDudef. Good times, good timesc
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's a league game Smokey....My favorite movie of all time enjoy while drinking a nice White Russian
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this movie for the simple fact that it was silly and fun and unexpected. I will never think of Jeff Bridges the same again--he will forever be 'the dude' to me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The 'DUDE' is what makes us all realize that WE, are all 'an accident.' He is the likeness of Duane Hubler, Kurt Vonnegut's anti hero from his novel, 'Breakfast of champions.' You need to see this movie, if not for the entertainment value, then for your own reality check.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to agree that this ranks in my top five comedies of all time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
WENT TO SEE THIS FILM BECAUSE MY SISTER AND BROTHERINLAW WERE EXTRAS IN MOVIE AT THE BOWLING ALLEY, BROTHERINLAW BERNIE WAS THE BARTENDER AND SISTER VICKI WAS A SIT IN CUSTOMER AT THE BAR, SHE DOES NOT DRINK, IT WAS 6AM AND MY BRO WAS POURING HER BEER AND KEPT FILLING IT AND VIC HAD TO SIP IT AND SHE GOT TIPSY FROM SO MANY TAKES, AND THEN THEIR SHOT WAS NOT EVEN IN THE MOVIE.. ANYWAY WAS FORCED TO GO SEE MOVIE TO SEE IF WE COULD SPOT THEM. AND FOUND MY SELF AND MY FAMILY LAUGHING INSPITE OF OURSELVES THERE ARE A LOT OF FUNNY SHOTS ESPECIALLY THE LAST SCENE ON THE CLIFF OVER THE OCEAN...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A film about love, friendship, money, power, and the loyalty of a bowling team.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Top five comedies of all time. an instant classic
JameJ More than 1 year ago
That's all I have to say