×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Break-Up
     

The Break-Up

3.1 25
Director: Peyton Reed

Cast: Vince Vaughn, Jennifer Aniston, Joey Lauren Adams

 

See All Formats & Editions

A once-loving couple whose happily-ever-after quickly turned into a never-again finds their crumbling romance complicated when both parties refuse to move out of the pair's recently purchased condo. The Break-Up is a romantic comedy that starts where all the others end. The future once looked promising for thirtysomething couple Brooke (Jennifer Aniston) and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Break-Up 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Where to start? I have a very nice Home Theater System, Sony's new 70", Klipsch speakers, and Denon Recvr. I LOVE movies! This was the FIRST movie I have ever fallen asleep watching. EVER! I woke up to the end where they "meet in passing" on a busy city sidewalk, gag me! Sorry if this is harsh but I love Vince and I can watch Jennifer but together in this movie? Just say NO!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an 'okay' movie to pass an evening, but it could've been so much funnier. Kinda bland, in fact.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although Vince Vaughn and Jon Favreau again team up for some of the comedic scenes, this movie is not a complete disappointment. If you like VV you may enjoy the first hour of this film after that it descends into predictability, strained comedy, and gay stereotypes from the 80's. Vaughn gets sole credit for adding any substance to this film. And I do mean ANY. Vincent D'Onofrio, a good actor, is wasted in an inscrutable part, a deranged older sibling who runs the tourism business in Chicago with Vaughn. There are some awful scenes- REALLY awful, at the dinner table where Ann-Margret is also present. Judy Davis is a welcome diversion from this mess, but her cameo as an eccentric art gallery owner is not long enough. Aniston plays her usual self which may be good or bad, depending on what you think of her personality. Joey Lauren Adams is also a one-dimensional character, trying to help her sister find Mr. Right. Apparently, the director did not want this to be construed as a "chick flick" so added Vaughn, and a few male characters, without developing the characters, or giving them any substance. There is a brief scene with the "Old 97's" in concert, Vaughn has a few dramatic moments, and the plot could have worked, but the screenwriter must have been under a time limit, or creatively challenged. Breaking the mold of an already faulty genre does not an instant classic make. It just means it's an unusual addition to the faulty genre, rather than an exception. And Reed should have paid closer attention to the romantic comedies that Linklater (Before Sunrise), Crowe (Jerry Maguire) and Smith (Chasing Amy) made following their teen flicks. The devil is in the dialogue, and more attention should have been paid attention to it. Oh, and casting the right people for the parts, rather than the flavours of the month. That really helps too. Overall, this film is a slight disappointment which could actually have worked, had there been any creative thought put into it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed after watching this movie. Don't rent it unless you want to listen to Vince Vaugn and Jennifer Anniston scream at each other through the entire movie.
alivalentine More than 1 year ago
Then please don't even bother with this movie.
Apollo_Faint-Of-Hearts More than 1 year ago
I tend to only leave reviews for movies if I want to warn others not to see it, or make sure everyone gives it a chance. With this, I was just amazed by how many people despise this film. It wasn't great by any stretch of the imagination, but it definitely wasn't nearly as bad as these guys are making it out to be. It is an average movie. I recommend giving this a chance if you are a fan of ... anyone in the movie. It's not quite up to par, but it's not bad.
Guest More than 1 year ago
All the movie stars in the world can't fix this mess. This movie was so hyped and turned out to be the biggest waste of time. Jennifer Aniston should stick to sitcoms because she is no Sally Field. She will NEVER be able to cross over successfully to the big screen and this movie, along with "Derailed" is proof. They had to put that gooey stuff under her eyes during her "emotional crying" scene, too. Nothing but arguing back and forth and nothing funny. PLEASE do not waste your time with this mess.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Some of you must have had some high expectations going into this movie. I thought this movie was pretty good other then the ending kind of left you scratching your head wondering why they just didn't give it a happier one, but overall funny. The whole idea is just a couple being childish to one another and playing games to annoy the other. I thought the two did fine and while I wouldn't suggest running out and buying this, it is definitely worth a watch for those who haven't seen it if you ask me. Vince Vaughn was fun to watch as always.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It certainly is the worst movie of the year, and Jennifer Aniston's worst film ever (even worse than Along Came Polly). A muddled mess of a "comedy". I never even smiled, let alone laughed out loud. The acting was juvenile, the writing inane. There was not one redeeming character in the entire film , although it was good to see Peter Billingley as Andrew.
Guest More than 1 year ago
the problem with highly advertised movies is that they make us build such high expectations and in the end the movie hardly ever meets up with what we expected. money wasted on the ticket, wish i got a book , or a meal or something that is actually good instead.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Finally got around to renting this movie after all the hoopla. What a disappointment! OMG! I don't care for VV but love JA. The problem is those 2 together just don't do it. The beginning of the movie you found it hard to feel any love or devotion between the 2 of them. Then it's like they blew up and decided to end it suddenly. Then the end was a complete disappointment...both versions-just stupid. Worst movie I've seen in a long time. So glad I didn't waste the $$ and see this in the theater...but not even happy about the 2.99 I spent to rent it! Made me even more sad hoping on a movie better than Mr and Mrs Smith. It would be nice to see JA have a movie that does better than any Angelina or Brad are in. A personal note, glad to hear that VV and JA have called it quits in real life. She can do so much better than him!! Can you say rebound??
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago