×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Crossing
     

The Crossing

4.6 14
Director: Robert Harmon

Cast: Jeff Daniels, Roger Rees, Sebastian Roche

 
Jeff Daniels stars as George Washington in the historical drama The Crossing, which comes to DVD with a standard full-frame transfer that preserves the original broadcast aspect ratio of 1.33:1. The English soundtrack is rendered in Dolby Digital Stereo. There are neither subtitles nor closed captions on this release. Supplemental materials include a behind-the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Crossing 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is more than excellent. Jeff Daniels is perfectly cast as George Washington. He brought out the humanity of a man that has been deified by the country. The supporting roles are also excellently played. An absolute must see for any history buff.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story covered the conflicts and problems that Washington and his generals faced due to the lack of proper equipment, clothing, and rations in their attempt to overtake the Hessian troops located in Trenton, New Jersey. The settings of the different locations were very true to life and times that the conflict occurred. The actors made you feel like the events were happening right now, not more than 200 years ago. It made you wish you could thank George Washington and his army for taking such a tremendous chance; so that America could be a free nation.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is a must see for CEO's and Managers. Washington realizes the success of his army hinges on his staff. When you watch the film, pay particular attention to Washingtons interaction with his officers and men. You'll see he is tough when he needs to be (such as threatening to shoot a fellow General) as well as being a coach and motivator. First rate film on leadership.
Major_TomRR More than 1 year ago
Excellent depiction of Washington's defeat of the Hessians on Christmas Eve. Good acting and re-enactment sequences make this film worth viewing again.
Mrs-H More than 1 year ago
I purchased this movie sort of on a whim as a gift for my husband because he shares George Washington's birthday. I thought it would be fun to give him something that had to do with Washington and the reviews sounded positive. As it turns out this was an excellent film and we enjoyed it more than most of the movies we've watched lately. Jeff Daniels' performance helped me see Washington as a real person rather than a textbook figure. The story shows how fragile our nation was at the beginning and how our founder risked everything for the cause he believed in. The accurate and detailed depiction of that time period was very well done. I highly recommend this movie. It is such an inspiring story of courage and determination in the face of extremely grim odds. In my opinion everyone should see it especially those of us who are blessed to be Americans!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If it wasnt for General George Washington crossing the Delaware river and winning that battle we would not have won the revolutionary war and there would be no United States of America.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this movie and can't wait until it's released. I usually don't go for this kind of movie but it totally held my attention. It was the best ever.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This no-nonsense film captures the gloom and despair that was felt by General Washington and his officers just days before their historical crossing of the Delaware River and attack on the superior Hessian garrison in Trenton, New Jersey. If miracles do happen this unbelieveable event is a testimony to it. Whether you are a U.S History geek on not won't matter. This story will draw you into it's drama and force you to be witness to the most crucial event in American History. This is not a sweeping epic like ''Gettysburg'', but rather a small film that depicts the last days of a dying Colonial army and the miraculous revitalization of a dream. All the films characters are portrayed well by a solid cast. Jeff Daniels is especially convincing as the gloomy and irritable General George Washington. The photography by Rene Ohashi places you right in the unfolding events, and Gary Chang's musical score adds relevance and emotion without detracting from the simplicity of the film. Robert Harmon's direction is right on-the-mark, and the set designs and costumes are historically accurate. If you like ''Rocky'' type movies where the underdog eventually comes out ahead, then pull up a chair and get ready for an unexpected treat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago