×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Duchess
     

The Duchess

4.1 56
Director: Saul Dibb,

Cast: Keira Knightley, Ralph Fiennes, Charlotte Rampling

 

See All Formats & Editions

Director Saul Dibb takes the helm for this period drama adapted from Amanda Foreman's best-selling novel Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire, documenting the romantic entanglements of Georgiana Cavendish (Keira Knightley), a beautiful and clever woman who becomes a celebrity of British high society when

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Duchess 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 56 reviews.
ReneeB28 More than 1 year ago
I was really very excited to watch this movie because I absolutely loved the book, written by Amanda Foreman called Georgiana; Duchess of Devonshire. I was disappointed in the movie, but I think that it was because I read the book first and was familiar with all of the minute facts that the movie glossed over or missed. However, the movie did an excellent job of showing what life looked like for Georgiana. The scenery was breathtaking and the coloring was exquisite. Most of the scenes were shot in the actual places Georgiana lived in or visited, and this really lent a realistic and relatable quality to the film. The costumes were also astoundingly beautiful. Although the movie did not stick to the book, and did leave out some details, which I thought were important, it is still a good movie. However, I do recommend that, at some point, the viewer should take time to read the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Based on the historical biography of a great, great, great, great aunt of Lady Diana. The book has two titles, Georgiana or re-named The Duchess for the film. Similar in popularity to Diana, Georgiana was a royal star and a fashion trend-setter. She was close in age to Marie Antoinette and had similar problems with partying and gambling. What the film fails to convey is that she was a politician 100 years before her time. The book is so interesting but the movie is a big disconnect. People walking out of the theater who hadn't read the book did not understand what was so great about the movie. Missed opportunity with such a great cast, costumes and set.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful vehicle for Keira Knightley to display her considerable talents. It is haunting how many parallels exist between the lives of Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire, and her great-great-great-great niece, Diana Spencer, Princess of Wales. A film worth watching and owning.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lilo02 More than 1 year ago
I havent read the book yet but I did see the movie. In fact thats how I was introduced to the book lol. Over all its one of my favorite classical type of movies done w/ Keira Knightley and Dominic Cooper. Usually Im not really the type to be watching stuff like that but I fell in love with this movie and I can't wait till I get started on reading the book.
magneeta More than 1 year ago
Gorgeous, gorgeous movie...to LOOK at. Ralph Fiennes is excellent and Keira Knightley does a fair job as well. The plot's a little weak and it seems we only touch certain aspects of her life and the film itself does very little "digging" - it's more of a spot capture of any prolific events in The Duchess's life. I felt a little "empty" after watching it...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating story. Keira Knightley's performance was great.
bbgirl More than 1 year ago
I was actually quite relieved to see this movie portray the husband's adulterous side and not just the wife's. So many other movies that are set in this same time period paint the woman out to be the unfaithful spouse but The Duchess actually shows the hardship that the wife goes through - having her husband take the one close friend she felt she had as his mistress ... dining with and even living with them! Only after this does the duchess have an affair of her own.
Diongu More than 1 year ago
Keira Knightly carries this sumptuous feast for the eye on her shoulders all the way. A lovely performance of a woman trapped, by circumstance, position and previlage. Throw in lovely settings, lavish costumes and grand sets, Duchess will enthral as it will seduce. Not for everyone, I am afraid. But if one is willing to put up with a longish narative, one will be well-rewarded in th end.
PookyStew More than 1 year ago
A beautifully filmed, wonderfully costumed, plotless film. This offers very little in the way of character developement. With this cast, I expected a lot more and was sadly dissapointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago