×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Graduate
     

The Graduate

4.2 17
Director: Mike Nichols

Cast: Dustin Hoffman, Anne Bancroft, Katharine Ross

 

See All Formats & Editions

"Just one word: plastic." "Are you here for an affair?" These lines and others became cultural touchstones, as 1960s youth rebellion seeped into the California upper middle-class in Mike Nichols' landmark hit. Mentally adrift the summer after graduating from college, suburbanite Benjamin Braddock (Dustin Hoffman) would rather float in his parents' pool than follow

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Graduate 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
For his second film, Mike Nichols ("Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?") directed a faithful and devastatingly funny adaptation of "The Graduate", Charles Webb's novel about a young man who loses his virginity to a family friend and his heart to her daughter. The film provides an unforgettable portrait of a boy caught in the full panic of self-discovery and dragged screaming into manhood. With a modest budget of three million dollars, "The Graduate" quickly became a huge box-office smash, grossing over $100 million worldwide and winning Mike Nichols an Academy Award as Best Director. But the film's success might well have had something to do with the way it blends its modern sheen with concealed traditional pleasures. Its pleasure and popularity were enhanced by the bitter-sweet songs of Simon and Garfunkel that accompany the narrative. The film, which might easily at any moment have degenerated into an enjoyable but forgettable bedroom farce, is continually turned into a deft work of social satire, establishing Nichols as a cultural humorist in the tradition of Preston Sturges and Billy Wilder. Numerous bits of Americana are effectively integrated into the story: when Ben (Dustin Hoffman) visits Mrs. Robinson (brilliantly portrayed by Anne Bancroft) at her home, "The Dating Game" is blaring from the television set, adding a comic undercurrent to their relationship when Ben tries to stop Elaine's forced marriage, he finds it taking place in one of those modern churches that look more like an experimental art museum than a place of worship. There are numerous scenes that have become classics, including Ben's nervous routine when checking into a hotel with Mrs. Robinson for the first time, encountering an unperturbed desk clerk (Buck Henry), and Ben's early attempt to escape the banal small talk of his parents by submerging in their swimming pool with diving equipment, where he stares, in exasperation, directly into the camera. Understandably, Hoffman emerged as the most significant youth cult star since James Dean. With a deadpan expression and an uncertain voice, he offered an entirely new concept of how a star should act and look, just as the artistic techniques employed in "The Graduate" presented audiences with an alternative to the earlier ideas of how a Hollywood movie ought to be made. [filmfactsman]
Guest More than 1 year ago
I got one word-"Plastics." It typified the whole confusion of that generation and so did Dennis Hoffman's performance, ambivalent, uncertain, and idealistic at all the same time. With a taboo romance and some of the greatest songs ever put on track a la Simon and Garfunkel, the Graduate will definitely help you score a date with an older, sexy women or at least get her daughter to dump her current fiancee for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Graduate with Dustin Hoffman from the 1960's is a very good classic its amazing how and older woman suduced a young man in the movie i like the scence where he's lying out by the pool and the end when he stops the wedding
Guest More than 1 year ago
this movie is so great in every level: cast, plot, mystery, drama, love, hate and so on. Both lead characters are simply crafted pefectly. This movie is an ultimate classic.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film came along at the perfect time, so much was going on ,we really needed a great movie that we could relate to and feel good about. I am looking forward to the 40th anniversary edition, it's gonna be a great collectors piece.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anyone who has graduated from college and just wanted to live can relate to this film, with the exception of course of the seduction or perhaps not. If you like brilliant cinema, fantastic characters and a classic storyline get this movie. The cinematography and scripting are actually studied by film and acting students all over the world. As it is said "two thumbs up"!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Everyone in the country needs to own this movie! It is sheer brilliance. Hoffman is amazing as Benjamin and Bancroft plays an excellent role as well. No movie tops it in my book. Great camera work. Fantastic music (Simon ang Garfunkel). Highly Highly recommended
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the movie that made Hoffman a superstar. But still some of my friends haven't heard of him. He has his share of oscars to prove that he is a great actor but i think more people should know who he is. He is underrated even after 30 years. Good movie, kept my interest from beginning to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The blu-ray I received from B&N in February 2011 was stripped of special features which is why it's cheaper here than other websites.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago