×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Great Gatsby
     

The Great Gatsby

3.8 11
Director: F. Scott Fitzgerald

Cast: F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

See All Formats & Editions

F. Scott Fitzgerald's masterpiece, often regarded as one of the greatest American novels of the 20th century, is brought to the screen in this made-for-TV feature, produced in collaboration with the A&E Cable Network in the United States, and Granada Entertainment in Great Britain. Nick Carraway (Paul Rudd) is a young bond salesman who rents a cottage near the mansion

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Great Gatsby 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As an added bonus, the A&E biography of F. Scott Fitzgerald is included on this DVD! And it is excellent. (Buy it for that if nothing else, and use bits of the film to supplement the book.) I felt the movie was a close addaptation of the book, and I liked the portrayals of Daisy, Nick and Gatsby better in this version. The Robert Redford version does have better parties, but I like the convenience of a DVD to show to classes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The 2000 version of The Great Gatsby is not worth seeing. Most of the acting is lame, the script is weak and and parts are a bit corny. However, the 1974 version with Robert Redford is much better and I suggest that one instead.
dj137 More than 1 year ago
Would highly recommend reading the book first
fleurfairy More than 1 year ago
The casting in this production is strange. I liked Toby Stephens' Gatsby even those he's not American. His American accent is almost flawless and he does look the part. I think Stephens appropriately conveyed Gatsby's phoniness and his desperation. I did not understand why they cast Mira Sorvino as Daisy. Her voice was not "full of money", she was not what I imagined Daisy to look like, she's Italian-American - not a WASP, and she had long hair instead of the bob. Her performance was dreadful acting-wise. I do not think she had a handle on who exactly Daisy Buchanan was. It's like she had never read the book. I liked the casting of Paul Rudd as Nick, but he could have developed the character further. I just felt that this production could have been so much better if the filmmakers had really studied the novel more and made better casting choices. I doubt there will ever be a film of The Great Gatsby that lives up to the novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best movie that I have seen portraying ''The Great Gatsby''. This novel is a masterpiece and the acting is just as the book describes. I recommend this movie to eveyone, but remember to read to read the book before hand:)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read the book and seen both movie versions and i have to say that I loved the 2000 edition of the movie. Me being a teenager it was an easier view. I loved the book but if I just saw the first version I would of thought it was really boring, which is a shame.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yeah....I read the novel awhile back and saw the older movie with Robert Redford/Mia Farrow. After seeing this one I just think it they should have been more careful when picking actors for the part of certain character. Over all it's still pretty accurate to the first movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking for a DVD of The Great Gatsby to show to my classes since we'd read the book. Unable to find the Robert Redford version in time, I bought this one. Overall, I thought this was a very good presentation. There were a few minor details that were different than I expected, but I thought the movie captured the book rather well, and brought in most of the major themes. Although the performances were not award-winning, they were definitely solid and conveyed the subtextual interplay between characters well. All in all, I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in watching The Great Gatsby.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago