×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

House of the Spirits
     

The House of the Spirits

3.6 11

Cast: Bille August, Jeremy Irons, Meryl Streep, Glenn Close

 

See All Formats & Editions

Bille August directed this film version of the Isabel Allende novel, featuring a cast that includes Jeremy Irons, Meryl Streep, and Glenn Close. The story is a sweeping and brooding melodrama, spanning generations and filled with violence, revenge, and telekinesis. The tale begins in South America in 1926, when a young man, Esteban (Jeremy Irons), falls in love with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The House of the Spirits 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Bookish1KP More than 1 year ago
Awful movie with stars giving terrible performances. Skip!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
In addition to the sweeping history of the country, I loved the movie for its portrayal of Latin American domestic life and the warm family relationships. So many movies about Latin America have cantinas, poor villages, and/or revolutionary battle scenes for settings and downtrodden Latin women as stereotypes. In this one, it was great to see European-type women as well-developed characters, the family and domestic life of the period, and upper middle class homes portrayed. I recommend it highly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The rich performances, engaging story and thought provoking events make for a worthwile film experience
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is so good... I love it so much!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Isabel Allende is the niece of Chile's president Salvador Allende. The novel takes place in Chile and tells us about Esteban Trueba and his saga. Also shares with us a true version of what happened in Chile while the military coup that threw Salvador Allende away from democratic power. The movie is great!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this movie has gor everything. I love the story, the actors are wonderful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Isabel Allende was the daughter of Allende's cousin (Allende's daughter was also named Isabel). The movie is a little camp with all those different nationalities and the ''parlor trick'' use of Clara's gifts. But not unentertaining
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have a real problem with the audacity of the producers to change the setting of this film, Chile has a very important history that deserves to be properly recognized!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
In The House of the Spirits, the Tales takes place in Chile not Argentina. Remember that Isabel Allende is the Daugther of the Late precident of Chile, Salvador Allende.