×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hurt Locker
     

The Hurt Locker

3.9 75
Director: Kathryn Bigelow,

Cast: Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, Brian Geraghty

 

See All Formats & Editions

Based on the personal wartime experiences of journalist Mark Boal (who adapted his experiences with a bomb squad into a fact-based, yet fictional story), director Kathryn Bigelow's Iraq War-set action thriller The Hurt Locker presents the conflict in the Middle East from the perspective of those who

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Hurt Locker 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 75 reviews.
SheWhoShall More than 1 year ago
1st, let me point out that my husband is EOD. We went to theater to see the movie with half of his command. They all pretty much concurred that while this movie is a bit of a far cry as to how they really operate, it's still a really entertaining movie. There is no place for guys like "Will" in the movie, lest everyone in the vicinity get blown up. As most military guys know, you can't exactly go rogue (too many times) because the hammer of authority will come down upon you. That said, the constant threat of dying, the hot and heavy bomb suits, the robots, the tempermental personalities in conflict with one another, the strained lives back home, the silly officers who filter into a situation with the idea of taking charge yet have no idea what's going on...that is entirely true to life. They don't, however, typically take off willy-nilly chasing down bad guys in alleyways with guns blazing nor do they try to track down little friends in their 'hood. But it makes for a good story. The acting is really quite good and the directing is awesome. For anyone who likes military movies or just action movies, this one is a good bet. After all, my husband is planning on buying it as soon as it's released...
mahps More than 1 year ago
biased by attending land mine warfare school in Korea in 1954, 1st. Mar. Div.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You will have so much More respect for our troops after watching this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After viewing the Academy Awards and witnessing the first Oscar to a female director (Kathryn Bigelow), I hoped that it wasn't just hype or publicity. "The Hurt Locker" does not disappoint. The compelling story grips viewers from the early scenes depicting the immense danger of the missions and takes them on an emotional ride that clearly illustrates how war is addictive. Jeremy Renner certainly deserved the Oscar nomination and appearances by Guy Pearce and Ralph Fiennes added to the high quality of the film which proved that blockbuster budgets are not necessary to produce blockbuster films. I am happy with my purchase as I am sure I will view it again and again- particularly with groups of people with whom I can share a thought-provoking intellectual discussion.
Jon_B More than 1 year ago
Very well made, a compelling character study rather than a statement about Iraq or war in general, and Renner does an excellent job. Additionally the sound design for this film is top notch.
Esquire More than 1 year ago
This is an absolute astounding movie. You are on edge through the whole movie as the plot progress you grow and follow the characters very complex emotion. The ending left me breathless. Highly recommend it.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Heard of this but haven't seen it. Finally have and it was tense in some moments. Interesting though.
Donkey_Girl_08 More than 1 year ago
The movie has some awesome entertaining scenes, but the plot sucks. if its like >$10 buy it & watch itbut other wise its not worth paying full price
Cfnvster More than 1 year ago
Watched this movie on HBO when visiting family in October, I didn't want to watch it at first, as I have family in Iraq. Within the first five minutes I was HOOKED. When I got home I purchased it for my own collection. With regard to NEGATIVE REVIEWS... THIS is ENTERTAINMENT... NOT A DOCUMENTARY! This movie ENTERTAINS... is fast paced, keeps your attention and delivers... provided you like 'war' movies! You will NOT be disappointed. If you want reality... watch the NEWS... but, then again... you CAN'T BELIEVE their stories... all the time either! Boynton Beach, FL
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jmetigers More than 1 year ago
I picked this video up because of the awards it won, and had no real idea of what it was about. However, I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. You never know what is going to happen, and you certainly are emotionally attached to the characters. It was hard to watch at times due to the political foundation of the movie. However, I think the actors and the content of this movie is excellent.
FancyNancy1954 More than 1 year ago
We loved this movie. It was very real and also very moving. We would hope more people would watch this and come to see what our Men and Women do, to keep all of us safe. We would urge everyone to see this and talk to your "teens" about what it all means. God Bless us all and God Bless America
mishawaka-bookie More than 1 year ago
What this movie lacks on plot, it explodes in intensifying just how war time conflict reshapes soldiers psyches. I promise you, the last ten minutes will stick with your subconscious for days, maybe weeks after. This simply plotted, sometimes confusing movies is well worth it's ending.
MoonOwl More than 1 year ago
I don't understand why this film won best picture. It is not worth watching.
RSJC More than 1 year ago
Excellent, captivating portrayal of life at the front lines in war time. Gritty and realistic...The Oscar achievements of this film were well deserved. Even if some aspects are not typical, they help give the people far removed from the war front an eye opening experience of what our brave men face each day. The portrayal of how the Iraqis see the American troops is enlightening.
EKC More than 1 year ago
Now I know what it must be like in Iraq and Afghanistan. Incredible movie; very intense and gripping. You finally begin to appreciate what the troops must endure and handle while keeping their sanity. A great movie!
12654289 More than 1 year ago
How can you define such bravery of those that volunteer for this work.
Ron_H More than 1 year ago
And engrossing film from, and a well-deserved Oscar for, Kathryn Bigelow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a little disapointed since this won best picture this year. Some parts were great, but the overall message was depressing. The main character is so detached from his wife and baby. He lives for his work and is great at it. It was unclear if we are making any progress in the war. Maybe that was the point.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From start to finish it keeps you on the edge of your seat. The quote at the start of the movie,"War is a drug" , captures the main character.
Ozwell More than 1 year ago
Hurt Locker is destined to become an all-time classic movie, mostly because it pulled off the unbelievable coup of winning the 2010 Academy Award for best picture. The danger with this movie is coming to it with the inflated expectations that you can't help but bring to the 'best' movie of the year. Not wanting to take anything away from the film, but I'd rather have discovered it as a 'forgotten gem' rather than the 'giant killer' rep the media stuck it with. It did remind me of HBO mini series "Generation Kill" a lot. Getting over that hurdle, there's a lot to like here. Jeremy Renner's central performance is memorable and there are some surprising - and delightful - cameos from big name stars. There's a real sense of menace and reality in the documentary style of some sequences. The action scenes are thrilling and suspenseful - paying off on Kathryn Bigelow's long career as a master of the action movie and a student of male behaviour in extreme situations. Seek out other movies by Bigelow for a further treat. 'Near Dark' is my fave.
Tidalwave3 More than 1 year ago
A MIX OF HOLLYWOOD and WAR SCRIPTS! HIGHS and LOWS! GOOD and BAD! THIS VIDEO HAS ALL OF THESE!! I experienced the personalities of this movie in the Corps in 1970 thru 1973. My son's experiences in The Marines today tell me it has intensified. Not everyone nor every unit is like the others in the military. I believe that is why the different reviews, but that does not tell every story. This is but one of them. CHECK OUT THE MOVIE FOR YOURSELF!! One thing about this movie everyone seems to agree, IT IS DRAMA! The adrenalin rush when you have diffused an IED (Improvised Explosive Device) and then pull a chord and find six more connected, it helps if you are a little crazy. You have to let out steam (pressure) sometime or you will explode. This movie shows that as well. I thought they went alittle far in the sniper scene, as they acted like they had the training from Fort Benning. I do not think so. The almost daily pressure of trying to save a person with an Improvised Explosive Device chained to them. Like Medical Doctors you want to win them all but you have to learn that you will not win them all. The reality of coming home after the tour in Iraq and everything can go back to the way it was in a mondane life style is STUPID. Where is the "cool down" for a soldier coming from an intense setting? I can understand the conclusion of the movie "welcome to delta company"! View it for yourself!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic movie. Wonderful performances by some very talented actors. God bless the guys who do this on a daily basis.
Troubler More than 1 year ago
THIS MOVIE WAS A GREAT MOVIE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Because I don't like a lot of violence and gore and usually don't like ware movies, I really thought I didn't want to see this movie. My theory is that we should all just learn to accept each others differences and do our best to get along. War is senseless and I don't like to watch people killing other people. But my husband is a big war film fan. He loves to watch the old movies about the world wars and anything that contains any history about any of the wars the US has been involved in. His Dad was in the Navy during WWII and served on the USS South Dakota during some of the big battles, so he heard lots of stories growing up. That and his natural curiosity and love of history make these kinds of movies "must sees" for him. Being the good sport that I am, and because it won so many awards, I decided I'd at least give it a chance and ended up really impressed by the way it was presented. I still think war is senseless and I still don't like to watch people killing other people, but this movie really brings the war right into your front room. I was really able to understand what our service men and women are doing for us, and it gave me a much greater appreciation of the sacrifices they are making. I already had an appreciation for their sacrifices, but his changed my whole view and really made it real for me. It's a movie everyone should watch for that reason alone.