×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Island
     

The Island

4.0 15
Director: Michael Bay

Cast: Ewan McGregor, Scarlett Johansson, Sean Bean

 

See All Formats & Editions

Blockbuster action director Michael Bay delivers a striking look at a strange world of the future in this sci-fi action drama. Midway through the 21st century, Lincoln Six Echo (Ewan McGregor) lives in a confined indoor community after ongoing abuse of the Earth has rendered most of the planet uninhabitable. One of the only places in the outside world still capable of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Island 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Put simply: This is a stupid movie that cost a lot of money, brought to you by Microsoft and numerous other sponsors. The sci-fi concept is interesting the problem is that Bay forced it into a hyperactive action movie. But if it doesn't have at least ten car chases and a hundred explosions, it's not a Bay film. This is definitely a Bay film. My first problem I will forgive: he pushed the sci-fi idea just far enough to make a formula plot, falling short of any thoughtful social statement--but what did I expect, it's a Bay film. The second problem is unforgivable: Product placement. You mean to tell me that in fifty years, Microsoft is still using the same logos? The placement was so ridiculous that in one scene there's a close up of a fancy beverage that McGregor swigs. The bottle then takes the center of the shot and upstages McGregor and his clone (you gotta try real hard to do that). I was just waiting for him to say "refreshing, and tastes great too!" The movie was alright from an action packed, interesting-idea-that-doesn't-make-you-think-to-much point of view. As for plot and character...not so refreshing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I actually didn't see this movie in the theater because I listened to a friend who said it wasn't good. I caught it on cable, and now it's one of my favorite movies. It's story is unique and interesting; the kind of movie that keeps you looking at the details. The more you watch it, the more details you look for. I highly suggest this movie for men who are looking for an action movie to watch with their girls. Much like Equilibrium, Lincoln takes an emotional journey that I think many women wished their men who love action films would learn how to take. And, like some of the others who posted, this did remind me a little bit of Logan's Run. The classics never die.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie did not get the headlines it deserved! Imaginitive, amazing, spectacular. Often confusing, but that just adds to the overall picture! Amazing movie--Ewan McGreggor: fabulous as usual, same to Scarlett Johansson. AMAZING, WORHTH EVERY PENNY!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was sadly underrated and underpromoted. Is it high art? Of course not, but it does have more heart and brains than any other action movie released in the last decade. Scarlet Johannson was wonderful as Jordan Two Delta, but once again it is Ewan McGregor as Lincoln Six Echo/Tom Lincoln who steals the picture. The scenes where the sponsor and clone interact show just how good an actor McGregor is.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The international movie-goers got what the U.S. people did not. This was a really good movie and why it did not go over as well in the U.S. as it did elsewhere is beyond me. Ewan McGregor is wonderful as usual. The premise is interesting and makes one think. It's an action movie with an interesting story. If you didn't see the movie at the theaters, you WILL enjoy this at home. It is worth the price of admission.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had the opportunity to watch this film the other day and though it was okay. I’ve took it as another movie that has something desperately to say along with a long line of other frustrating Hollywood thrillers. There are a number of things that is good here but the bad brings down the entire experience. The underlying problem with this movie is Michael Bay. He has missed the mark yet again. The Island starts out as an engaging, entertaining Sci-Fi film. Then, about halfway through, it gets Bayified. Guns, explosions, chases, and actors yelling "run" over and over again. The movie starts out in a futuristic world where everybody dresses alike, lives in a contained environment, and believe that their only salvation is the prospect of getting to 'The Island', the only place in the world where life still flourishes. Well, as we all should know by now, "life finds a way". Lincoln, played by Ewan McGregor, starts to get curious about who he is and why he lives the way he does. Why can't he have bacon? Why is Tuesday always tofu night? Why does he always have to wear white, even after Labor Day. He has a "friendship" with Jordan, played by Scarlett Johannson. This could have been a movie in itself as these characters begin to understand who they are, or what they are, and why they live the way they do. Instead, about 30 minutes into the film, Lincoln discovers the big secret, grabs Jordan, yells "run!!", and the Michael Bay film begins. Don't get me wrong I love action, but it's like Orange Juice, it's much better smooth and pure, than processed and stagnant. So, what's good in this movie? First, McGregor is good as both Tom Lincolns and you can tell them apart base on blond highlights. Secondly, I liked the fact that they realized that 2019 isn't that far away, so L.A. looks different, but not that different. There are familiar buildings, cars, brand names, etc. Steve Buscemi, Michael Clarke Duncan and Djimon Honsou are all solid, not surprisingly. The movie has some funny moments, such as Lincoln getting worried when he's told his friend is "in the can". I know film-making technology has really come along way, but the scenes involving both Lincoln characters are so well done that you forget there's only one actor on the screen. What was bad to me in this film was Scarlett Johannson. I though she was completely wasted in this movie. It is by no means her fault. There is no character for her to play. The movie literally could have existed without the character of Jordan. She's bascilly there to look good in each scence. I liked Honsou as the tough, no nonsense operative out to retrieve the missing clones, but of course there ends up being more to his character. Otherwise, Honsou never would have been in this movie. And of course, there's the Bay factor. There are only so many times that characters can survive car wrecks, and falls from great heights, and bullets just missing them. It just gets old, and the box office reflects that.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Reminded me of sort of a combination of Logans Run and The Matrix. Clones for 'batteries' or 'organ donors' kept in a giant, secret, weird area, fed false memories. One doesn't tell them where they were, one doesn't tell them where they are going. Enjoyed it, but it was predictable given the other 2 movies. Didn't like Steve Buscemi in his role.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago