×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

League of Extraordinary Gentlemen
     

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen

3.8 39
Director: Steve Norrington

Cast: Sean Connery, Shane West, Stuart Townsend

 

See All Formats & Editions

The underwhelming League of Extraordinary Gentlemen makes its way to home theaters with 20th Century Fox's full-screen edition DVD. With a brilliant (yet cropped) 1.33:1 picture and 5.1 Dolby Surround Sound, the disc is nothing short of spectacular as it showcases the film's glorious production values and lush levels of sound design. Though technically splendid

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
GREAT ACTION AND SPECIAL EFFECTS,THIS IS WORTH BUYING!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If so, you may enjoy this film. However, I would not suggest it for anyone with a central nervous system. Here's a simple summary: literary heros, death death death death death death. Then, obvious plot twist. Followed by "character development" and more death. No nudity, sorry, for all you dorky teenage boys.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Unlike some i foudn this movie to be wonderful. A league of some of the msot unlikely characters from books, the invisible man, a vampire whsoe also a scientist, Tom Sawyer, a man who lives forever named Darien Gray, Hyde & Jackle, Captain Nemo, and Allen Quartermain the best hunter in the world. I found it rather well acted and intriguing. Although near the end when one important character dies it's presumed that they come back to life, won't say who you'll have to see the movie, because of the witch doctor yet we're left on a cliff hanger as to what all happens afterward which caused me to believe that they were going to make a sequal following it but alas they haven't. on my top 10 list.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed this for fun movie. I was very farmiliar with all of the characters in their own right. This movie is for anyone that would like to relax without the seriousness of it all. It had suprises for those that are not farmiliar with all of the characters and just enough action to keep your attention. If your a very serious person then this movie may not be for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tell you the truth I grew up with more modern heroes and villains made by Marvel and DC but the director did an excellent job at bringing victorian era heroes and villains to the big screen. It was an enjoyable movie and for someone who is a big book reader (especially those considered classics) it was really cool to see these characters brought to life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought the movie was cool. I liked Captain Nemo's ship and the car. To bad Allan Quartermain died at the end. I didn't understand the last part about the African guy with the sand and the fire. Was it the pat where 'Africa would never let him die' thing. Overall I really liked it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sean Conner is always a blast but as far as his role here...hmmmmm? The effects arent great and the climax is predictable. This movie is a waste of money. Better luck next time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a very cool and well thought of film. It brings together historical figures that are all unique in their own way. I like movies like these. Even as betrayal takes place in the League, the remainder still stood as one, their powers combined. As such, most characters in here are based on real historical figures from years ago. They are basically remembered in The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen.
Guest More than 1 year ago
....you don't take it seriously! Critics blasted it, and lovers of the graphic novel on which this movie is based were disappointed by it. But while the action is neither compelling nor coherent, the level of character development is surprisingly deep, considering the fact that the heroes in this movie are drawn from the well-turned pages of classic nineteenth-century literature. If you are searching for inspirational drama, watch "The Elephant Man," but if you are craving escapist adventure, then join "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen."
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was alright but not awful, you couldn't help but watch it again and is one of those movies where you know it didn't do so good bu still liked it anyway. It has a bunch of different literary characters coming together to stop a plot of destruction from happening.
Marissa777 More than 1 year ago
The most disappointing feature would have to be its lack of a sequel, ah well, leaves room for the imagination. Still... I LOVED the range of characters, in the beginning all I could do is point and say, "LOOK! It's the character from...!"
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is absolutley a great movie. plenty of action, plot twist and great charecters. this movie is an instant classic
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's an interesting set of characters, at least. Mr. Hyde was rather stunning and realistic in my opinion as far as effects go. The concept of Dorian Gray was new to me so I appreciated that character as well. There is so much potential there with these characters yet it fell a little short. Could have been an interesting franchise and it reminded me a bit of the Fantastic 4 in some ways.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this movie. I thought the gaphic novel was good, and the movie did it justice. Go see it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Having no exposure to the comic book from which this movie originated... and having had only some exposure to the literary heroes highlighted in this film (e.g. Jekyl/Hyde, Mina, and Captain Nemo among them), I was a bit surprised by how fantastic and utterly unreal this film was. One thing it did, though, was prompt me to do some exporing. Insodoing, I have since come to better appreciate not only the movie - but also the concept behind it. While definitely over-the-top in many ways, it makes more sense when one realizes the story is meant to be a 'comic book' with its own 'alternate reality'... and with its own rules. I think that once each of the characters is better known in its own right outside the story, the whole of the movie makes better sense. If nothing else, this is an excellent movie to stimulate viewers to dig into their English literature bins.... and do some reading about each of the main characters! Not on my Top 10 list.... but definitely Worth a watch. I'd encourage you to FIRST read the books about each of the characters BEFORE watching it as it will enhance the enjoyment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is just a great movie. That's about all there is here.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is another one of the few movies I got to see in theatre. This movie makes the characters look more than just superheroes. But, whats really cool about this movie is that it takes characters from other stories and puts them in here, for instance, Tom Sawyer, The Invisible Man, and Jonathan Harker's wife from Dracula. If you want more than just a superhero movie, get this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
To start my 72 year old mother said this was the best movie she has ever seen -- and I tend to agree. The characters were excellent and there was non-stop action. It was wonderful to see classical characters come to life. And the fact that Captain Nemo was presented as Indian means that at least someone has read Jules Verne. Great movie with a great cast -- cannot wait for part 2.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i had been wanting to see this movie for sometime and when i finally did i must say i was a little disapointed. i thought the plot and idea of the movie was awsome but the casting was off. Casting Sean Connery as Quatermain was a mistake to say the least and Shane West's acting was not as good as i was hoping. all in all i don't hate this movie but i thought it could have been better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago