×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lord of the Rings - The Fellowship of the Ring [Special Extended Edition]
  • Alternative view 1 of The Lord of the Rings - The Fellowship of the Ring [Special Extended Edition]
  • Alternative view 2 of The Lord of the Rings - The Fellowship of the Ring [Special Extended Edition]
     

The Lord of the Rings - The Fellowship of the Ring [Special Extended Edition]

4.8 120
 

See All Formats & Editions

Released three months after a two-disc set, this extended edition of Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring is without question the DVD of 2002. It's not easy to know where to begin. The picture on this disc, framed at 2.35:1 and anamorphic is brilliant, just as the original release was. Colors are vivid, blacks are solid, and detail is perfect. There

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

LOTR 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 120 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
From what I've seen of the extended edition's preview on the first edition set (and note Peter Jackson was bold enough to include it there), the upcoming release is intended for the true Tolkien fan. I suspect the theater version was held to under three hours by edict, and the expanded version will contain more of what the avid fans (and perhaps PJ himself) want (the Gift Giving at Lothlorien, Elves in the Shire ...). Tolkien was not into action; the movie is that way to cater to modern moviegoers. I'm counting the days until November 12th when I can see more of hobbits and elves.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I will admit that the first time I saw the movie I wasn't too interested only beacuse I had no prior knowledge of the book or film. It wasn't till I saw the third movie in the theatre that I really got it. I got it so much that I purchased all three parts of the book. The book and the movie are so much alike and yet so different. I really got into the filmwork as much as the story. I strongly suggest reading the books then watching the movies, you will understand alot more and pick op on some things that you might have missed the first time around. The main thing I enjoy most was the fact that all the actors weren't huge blockbuster actors. Each and every one of them were perfect for the role they played.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'll skip the rules, and simply say that even if I were not a LOTR fan, the ''teachings'' of how the movie was brought to the screen, was definitely worth the price my wife and daughter paid for my ... gollum ... ''Birthday Present''... On a side note, I also received a statue of ''Smaug'', and the sword ''Narsil'' (which I assume will be used in The Two Towers, or The Return of the King, since it was remade. How lucky can a fifty-two-year old get? I suppose the Road really does go on and on....
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS EXTENDED VERSION OF THE LOTR DVD WAS THE BEST GIFT I RECEIVED THIS CHRISTMAS. THE CHARACTER DEVELOPEMENT WAS WONDERFULL. YOU DON'T EVEN NEED TO READ THE BOOK TO UNDERSTAND WHAT IS FULLY GOING ON. THE DVD EXTRAS ARE A LITTLE WEAK BUT NOT ENOUGH TO DAMAGE IT. MY RECEMONDATION IS TO BUY IT EVEN IF YOU HAVE THE THEATRICAL REALESE.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was one of the BEST movies I've seen in a long time! The effects were awesome and the casting was great!!! It was just so awesome to experience it in the movie theater. It was really great!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I got the Special Extended Edition DVD for Christmas with the gift box. I have not found the time yet two watch the special features since there is so much to see. But I did watch the movie one night and it was so long, it almost felt like it took forever to watch the hole thing and it was incredible, I loved every single minate. They did an extrordinary job of putting all the new scenes back into the picture, it makes the movie even better. I know there are people who don't like really long movies, but trust me on this, this one is worth it and if you feel like you can't sit for the whole thing watch the first disk get up, walk around, eat something, do something else and than put the second disk in. I have yet to watch the fifth disk. My only complaint about the DVD is it dose not have the music video by Enya ''May It Be'' anyware on the four disks. I boroude the two disk from a friend and the video is on there and I don't know if they foregot to put it on the four disk but I don't think that's fare because I love that song, and if I had the option to give this 4 1/2 stars I would have and the Enya music video is the reason. But otherwise this is an amasing and worth while DVD.
Guest More than 1 year ago
wow this movie is an eye and heart jabbing movie!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Peter Jackson and crew voiced their desire to match Tolkien's vision in all the pre-release interviews, and they came darn close. Most of the movie follows the book very well. Some alterations are expected, yet some are inexplicable. The Shire was so perfect my eyes welled with tears at first sight of it, but I missed Bombadill, Goldenrod and Glorfindel. Also, Tolkien fans, don't expect to see those Hobbits stand up and show their toughness, shouting Elven names and phrases from the past. That was actually my biggest disappointment, especially Frodo, who should, you know, be resisting the Nazgul far more through his own fortitude than he is given credit for in the movie. Great, though. I've watched it at least a dozen times. The Two Towers diviates more from the original text, in even more unexplainable fashion, but those who like the war scenes should really love the action in it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Aragorn's sword is chipped when the hobbits (Merry, Pippin, Sam & Frodo) meet him for the first time. (In the inn at Bree where he is known as Strider). You folks are being too pedantic here. The movie is a beautiful and breathtaking portrayal of the book. No movie is 100% faithful to a book, at least none that I have seen.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must say I thoroughly enjoy the movie and have seen it more times than I'd like to admit. The film did an excellent job of portraying much of the book and choosing actors to suit the characters. However, there are a few disappointments. Aragorn is portrayed as fearing his future, which is opposite of how he is in the book. Lothlorien is dark and gloomy and who knows where they got the portrayal of Galadriel when Frodo offers her the ring. What about the gifts from Galadriel? And how come Gandalf's sword never glows in the movie. It does in the Hobbit. Speaking of swords, Aragorn is only supposed to have his broken sword until AFTER Lothlorien. But again, the movie is irresistable and fun. For clarification on The LOTR, see my related titles list.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is ten times better than the original theatrical release which is saying alot. This is done so well that that it seems as if peter jackson must have come up with a new awsome movie along with the two towers. If you are a fan of the books it is a must see and if you have only seen the movies and want to see the next one you must see this
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am so glad that the right people got to do these books into movies. I loved the books as a kid and now the movies have brought this story to life like noting I have ever seen before. Was the studio (New Line) really worried that they were not going to recoup their money on this project? All in all this DVD set is fantastic with the 30 extra minutes that should have been in the movie anyway.... so what if it was pushing four hours in length!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's a really great movie but it's too dark and it's confusing at some points .
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have one word that sums up this movie. Wow. Lord of the Rings is clearly the best fantasy film of the century. Everything came together so well that you actually feel as though you are in the movie, and the three hours go by like a few seconds. Peter Jackson, as well as the rest of the crew and the cast rose to the challege of taking this complex and detailed fantasy world and bringing it to the screen, and not only rose up to the challenge, but surpassed my wildest expectations. Everything; the scenery, the acting, the special effects, the soundtrack, all of it was phenomenal. This is a movie I can watch dozens of times, and still enjoy it thoughly. I definitely give Lord of the Rings an A+ rating.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is more complete than the standard versions of the movie. While it still lacked Tom Bombadil and several other points, it was very well done.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first read the Hobbit and the complete Lord of the Rings as a junior in high school in 1968. I have read all of them at least twice a year since then--now well over fifty times, and I still find something new each time. I found the movie enjoyable, though it is more in the style of the books than a real adaptation of the story. Jackson cannot take one of the central characters (Aragorn) and totally change him and say that he has adapted the book. This one change effects so much of the story that it cannot be ignored, and there are so many other fundamental changes in characters such as Arwen, Galadrial and Gandalf, that the story is totally altered from the oringinal. If you can view the movie as simply Jackson's vision of Middle Earth, and not as a desecration of a truely remarkable work of literature, then you can enjoy it for what it is.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The extended edition is a marvelous movie. The added scenes tremendously enhanced the narrative. Acting, cinematography, music, visual effects...all superb. This trilogy will far outshine Star Wars as the greatest trilogy of all time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am so happy they have made this movie. I read this book 25 years ago & the characters & the sets are everything I imagined. It was perfect, I couldn't haven't picked a better cast, they all fit the roles perfectly. The only thing I would have liked to see more of would be Gollum, he looked perfect, but I believe he will be in the second movie so I can't wait for that. I can't say enough about this movie, I really loved it & everything about it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Normally I review music, but I just had to add my voice, for what it’s worth, to the over-seventy reviewers who have weighed in on this 4-DVD-set so far. The movie itself, whether extended version or original, is a wonderful interpretation of a truly seminal work of literature. But everybody knows that already, and it’s not why I’m writing this review. What truly blew me away here was the incredible plethora of bonus features--I’d give them TEN stars if I could; it took me an evening to watch the film, but several months to watch the rest of the content! Not only do you get the extended version of the film, but five (count ‘em, FIVE) variations of it, four of which contain full-length commentary by key people from the production team and cast, giving a blow-by-blow account (sometimes literally!) of how each shot was achieved, how the special effects were accomplished, and what was actually going on behind the scenes. The result is utterly engrossing--like actually being there. Some of the revelations are sobering, some hilarious, and some just mind-boggling. As if that weren’t enough, also included are 2 extra CDs containing the following: 17 original documentaries covering all aspects of the filmmaking process, an interactive map, examples of the computer wizardry used for the special effects, and galleries of photos, storyboards and artwork. The talent, effort and professionalism that went into the making of this film are staggering, and I hope all of these fine people receive the recognition they deserve. Thank you, Peter Jackson and friends, for allowing the rest of us into your world of magic-making. Not only is this set of DVDs an excellent value for the money, but it’s an absolute must for anyone interested in the craft and art of film-making. I can hardly wait for the sequels!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Lord Of The Rings film, which includes all three installments, is and will always be the most magnificent, magical, and epic film of all generations. No other film will ever match it's magnitude of fantastical beauty. The cast, the crew, the sets, the dialogue, the scenic beauty and the director, producers and music were all of the best quality ever used in film. All three films being filmed at the same time is just an amazingly overwhelming feat but everything came out perfectly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
perfect character development, mixed with a crisp story, and wonderful screenplay and directing. I recommend this to anyone. You could also read the book, but the movies are put at a faster pace.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first saw the movie,I was impressed with it and made me want to read The Hobbit, The Fellowship,and The Two Towers,but not The Return of the King. (which I heard was the best of all J.R.R. Tokien's Lord of the Ring books)When I read The Fellowship,I read some details that Were not in the Theaters verson, but thanks to this new version will supply the way this full out action action film!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Forget The Fellowship of the Ring, get the Fellowship of the Ring: Special Extended Version. This is the ultimate Tolkien fan's desire. It includes almost everything you want to know about the making of the movie. Sure, Glorfindel, Bombadil and Goldberry are gone, but don't worry, Arwen becomes a major character. Get ready for a DVD with romance, adventure, action, and mystery.