×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lovely Bones
     

The Lovely Bones

3.9 35
Director: Peter Jackson

Cast: Mark Wahlberg, Rachel Weisz, Susan Sarandon

 

See All Formats & Editions

Heavenly Creatures director Peter Jackson teams with longtime collaborators Fran Walsh and Philippa Boyens to adapt author Alice Sebold's best-selling novel concerning a murdered young girl who watches from heaven as her family attempts to cope with their devastating loss, and tracks her killer as he stealthily covers his tracks and prepares to claim his next

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Lovely Bones 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
MaryContrary More than 1 year ago
From the moment I picked up "The Lovely Bones" I was unable to stop reading it. While books that become movies seldom live up to what we perceive in our own imagination, this movie took so many twists and turns from the author's original message, that it was heartbreaking. Visual effects were the greatest strength, which I expected from the director as it is his forte but the script turned into a Lifetime Movie. Part "Ghost Whisperer" part "Criminal Minds" with a dash of "Medium" it fell so short, as the movie makers decided to avoid the touching spiritual messages of grief and letting go and focused on getting the bad guy. Please don't think I didn't notice that Stanley Tucci was outstanding as the monster or that Susan Sarandon was deliciously decadent as a 70's liberated grandma and even Mark Wahlberg touched me with his parental angst. But the book and all it's depth and beauty were traded for something more marketable at the box office for the masses. I suppose that's what happens to many but this book should have been left untouched and unspoiled. On the other hand, if you didn't read the book and are a fan of TV crime dramas - and I am, it may work for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've seen this movie, and let me tell you- it is pretty thrilling! Stanley Tucci does a fantastic job as the weird, murderous neighbor to the point where you almost think that he could be like that in real life. The movie begins with Susie Salmon's normal, everyday life as a 14 year old girl, which quickly takes a turn for the worse when she is murdered by her neighbor Mr. Harvey. After realizing that she's been murdered- she's whisked away to the in-between where she's being kept until she's ready to go onto heaven. Meanwhile, on Earth her family is having a hard time coping with her death, and they can't quite put their finger on who would do something to Susie. The whole movie has some parts that would be unsuitable for children under the age of at least 14. And this movie isn't for the weak of heart- many lives are taken by the hands of Harvey, the neighbor. There are parts that I found difficult to watch due to the powerful and believable performance by Stanley Tucci, who truly is the kind of creepy men we would normally keep our kids away from. Make sure to prepare yourself when you're planning on watching this- some parts are shocking, but it also has its tender moments that make the whole movie worthwhile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Imagine having to face the most devastating event of your life, but for a moment you are given a glimpse of the events that are unfolding in your life not through your eyes but the eyes of the person that you have loved and lost in this tragic event. While most people will delve into this, thinking it is a murder mystery, actually, it is a story of closure. A very powerful one. That's something everyone needs in their lives. If you need forgiveness and closure, in your life, I'd recommend a great book, "When God Stopped Keeping Score." Check it out.
VampiresRock924 More than 1 year ago
This is a great movie and it teaches a lesson too-if your gut instinct says run, do it. The actors did a great job, and the cgi effects were really cool. I enjoyed this movie very much. This movie will have you close to tears, full of anger, and on the edge of your seat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't get me wrong it is a good movie for teens and young adults but unfortunately not for older adults (epecially if you have read the book prior to viewing the movie). Half the book is missing and some parts are out of order or in a whole different setting than in the book. But this is a good movie for a younger generation but not quite for children.
wheeze More than 1 year ago
I read The Lovely Bones, but had a hard time getting into it. The movie puts everything ito prespective. It's a movie that makes you think. You cant just sit there and pretend to watch, you have to pay attention, and that what I love. To be honest, the visual effects are a bit much. You can tell they are done by a computer. They seem far fetched to me, especially the end and what happens to her killer. You can tell it was computer generated. All and all, an amazing story. I suggest it to everyone I met, although it is definitely not suited for younger children.
GinaLynn More than 1 year ago
Why does Hollywood do this? Why do they take the most amazing, provocative, well written books and butcher them until they're unrecognizable? I suppose that I should know better than to think that I'm going to like the movie AFTER I've read the book, but I never learn. I think I thought that since I love the cast, the story would be good as well. In fairness - Saiorse Ronan, Mark Walberg, Rachel Weisz, and Stanley Tucci did a very good job - it was the writers in charge of the adaptation that are to blame. Maybe keeping the details of the story - particularly of her kidnapping and the events leading up to her death were too much for a movie audience. But we also lost a lot of what happened between her parents, and the depth of the love that her father felt for her. Maybe the lesson is just the same as it always is - if you love the book, then SKIP THE MOVIE. (I'm also recomending "My Sister's Keeper" for the very same reason - that butchering was even worse!)
Blazer1 More than 1 year ago
Like most movies made from a book the book was so much better. I read the book first and then watched the movie. I really enjoyed the book, it is one of my favorites. The movie just did not compare.
DIXIEGIRL45 More than 1 year ago
I LOVED THIS FILM! It is so unique and beautifully directed by Peter Jackson. Completely different than his amazing LORD OF THE RINGS series. Visually stunning and the acting is off the charts. The young girl is astounding and Susan Sarandon steals the film in an amazing turn of comic relief. I don't know why the Academy didn't embrace this film more (although Stanley Tucci was nominated for best Supporting Actor for his dark portrayal of the creepy neighbor) I really love how the director chose NOT to show us the actual violence - it made it so much more accessible to a wider audience I think. This movie will surprise you - it certainly did me - and I am an AVID movie fan of many genres. The art direction and editing deserve nominations also. I have seen it twice and can't wait to watch it again. THIS IS A TERRIFIC FILM! BRAVO PETER JACKSON - AGAIN!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago