×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Man from Snowy River
     

The Man from Snowy River

4.8 26
Director: George Miller

Cast: Kirk Douglas, Jack Thompson, Tom Burlinson

 

See All Formats & Editions

Inspired by an epic poem by A.B. "Banjo" Patterson, The Man From Snowy River was a major step forward for the regenerated Australian film industry of the early '80s. This "down-under Western" spotlights Tom Burlinson as Jim Craig, a headstrong young man who goes to work for a powerful cattle baron. Burlinson falls in love with Jessica (Sigrid Thornton), his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Man from Snowy River 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
We adore both of the movies man from snowy river and return to snowy river, But we know there is a third one out there somewhere,Where they are stripping the land, for minerals on his land,,is this a forgotton video? i cannot find this anywhere?
Guest More than 1 year ago
Though a fine film it does not do justice to Banjo's great poem I respectfully say to you all, READ THE POEM . It does not give the man a name ,there is no feud. What the poem is showing is that there is a man out there that we would all like to be; its simple uncomplicated beauty is it's strenght and alas the film depicts nothing of the this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JJR More than 1 year ago
I bought this for my Mom for Mother's Day and it is one of her favorite movies and she seems to love it. What a classic.
iWrite16 More than 1 year ago
Without a doubt, the Man from Snowy River and its sequel, Return from Snowy River, are two of the best movies ever made! A perfect film for any age. Outstanding and inspirational. Beautifully written and made!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a stunning acheivement from George Miller. A classic tale of love and honor set in Australia. Great cinematography and action sequences that will take your breath away. Also check out the sequel. Both are a must have for your collection although the sequel isn't out on DVD yet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A film based on Australia's colonial past has now become a very much a part of America's film industry today. Banjo is indeed a profound poet and has captivated us with one too many poems of his and The Man from Snowy River, although a romantic film has the Australian touch to it at the end when the hero comes riding down the hill.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I believe that The Man From Snowy River is the best movie I have ever seen. I fell in love with the moment I saw it and have not stopped watching it. The music is great and so are the characters and horses. I have seen both films and have them on video and they are both great movies.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not only does Man From Snowy River provide excellent acting, esp. Kirk Douglas, the riding scenes are genuine and breathtaking. The scenery and music blend exquisitely as well. A great film to watch for years to come.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just found "The Man from Snowy River" and "Return to Snowy River". The best movies I have ever seen. Awesome acting. Charming Sigrid Thornton. Acting,casting, story, and photography perfect in my opinion. I am amazd! T
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bloody sensational flick about a legend - even in future generations the young country folk will still be inspired.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i think this is the best movie and have been waiting 3 years for the dvd to come out i am 11 and doing my year 6 project on banjo patterson and the man from snowy river
Guest More than 1 year ago
I used to watch this movie when I was little and loved it! About a year ago, I found it again and I fell in love with it again. NOt only is the movie amazing, so is the music. Jim Craig is an awesome character (also a very cute actor back then) and Jessica Harrison is such a strong caracter (I am also partial to her name as it is mine too). I haven't seen the second one yet but if it is anything like the first one, it should be awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago